Skip to main content

Full text of "Historical sketch of the village of Gowanda, N.Y., in commemoration of the fiftieth anniversary of its incorporation, August 8, 1898"

See other formats


HISTORICAL SKETCH 



VILLAGE OF GOWANDA, N.Y. 



COMMEMORATION 



Fiftieth Anniversary of its Incorporation 
August 8, 1898. 



COMPILED BY I. R. LEONARD. 



Mi 




The Complete Art-Printing Works of The Matthews-Northrup Co. 
buffalo, n. y. 



V\ z.' 













W-jw V 



; ;,.-l¥- >-i "V? J^'l? 'fig 






■';- '■■:- 



-&j "J?!: -* .„*- ',*' 

aft.' 



« 






* -P:i 



-_ »*: 



INDEX. 



Page. 

Introductory, 5 

The Fiftieth Anniversary, 7 

Gowanda, N. Y. , 10 

Incorporation of the Village and its Officers, .... 15 

Journalism in Gowanda, 22 

Echoes of Long Ago, 26 

The Post-Office, 63 

The Gowanda Union School, 65 

Public Officials from Gowanda, .67 

Military History, Prior to the Rebellion, 69 

Gowanda and Vicinity in the War of the Rebellion, . 71 

The Presbyterian Church, 85 

The Methodist Episcopal Church, 88 

The Free Methodist Church, 91 

The Lutheran Church, 93 

St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, 95 

The Legal Fraternity, 96 

The Medical Profession, 97 

The Fire Department, 98 

Homeopathic State Hospital, 102 

Gowanda Chapter No. 136, Royal Arch Masons, . . .106 

Phcenix Lodge No. 262, F. & A. M., 108 

Relief Lodge No. 328, I. O. O. F., 110 

Banner Tent No. 8, K. O. T. M., and other Societies, . Ill 

The Thomas Asylum, 113 




C H 



INTRODUCTORY. 




ilROM time immemorial it has been the custom 
of nations and individuals to celebrate with 
appropriate ceremonies the anniversary of im- 
portant events in their political and personal 
^J history. 

Following this custom, the people of the village of Gowanda 
desire in like manner to observe the fiftieth anniversary of 
their municipal existence. 

As a part of the ceremonies commemorating this event, it 
has been deemed appropriate to combine, in a souvenir or his- 
toric volume, such information relating to this village and its 
earlier residents as can be readily obtained, and which will be 
of general interest. 

All history, not a matter of actual and immediate record, 
must of a necessity be more or less inaccurate. 

While not expecting it to be absolutely correct, it has been 
the intention to have the contents of this volume conform as 
nearly as possible to the actual facts. 

The information has been derived from the most reliable 
sources, so far as known, and as errors have been discovered 
from time to time, corrections have been made. 

Trusting the reader will take it, excusing such inaccuracies 
as exist, and in the spirit in which it was compiled, this book 
is submitted without further apology or comment. 

I. R. LEONARD. 
Gowanda, N. Y., June 1, 1898. 



THE FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY. 




N THE latter part of the year 1807 the citizens of 
Govvanda began to discuss the idea of celebrating, in 
August, 1898, the fiftieth anniversary of the incorpora- 
tion of the village. 
The Gowanda Board of Trade, of which J. E. VanDeusen is presi- 
dent and S. G. Keyes, secretary, had been instrumental in procuring 
several enterprises for the village, hence the first definite action 
towards the celebration was very appropriately taken by this board. 

Early in February, 1898, a committee, consisting of Dr. A. D. 
Lake, J. H. Schaack and I. R. Leonard, were appointed, at a meeting 
of the board, to outline a plan for the proposed celebration, and to 
suggest appropriate committees to carry the same into execution. 

The report was adopted, and the committees appointed as sug- 
gested, thus perfecting the anniversary organization. 

In addition to the above, the executive committee were authorized 
to create other committees as occasion might require, and to name 
persons to fill the same. 

The permanent organization as completed is composed of the 
following committees : 



Dr. A. D." Lake, 



Executive, 

E. C. Fisher, Chairman. 

W. N. Wallace, Edward Etsler, 

Frank W. Kammerer. 



F. E. Bard, 

F. J. Blackmon, 



finance. 

George B. Taylor, Chairman. 

R. C. Holmes, J. H. Schaack, 



E. A. Shaw, 



A. T. Johnson. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 



R. A. NTOBLETTj 

Peter Rink, 
Georoi W. Scott, 
E. C. Countryman, 

N. B. Allen. 



Decorations, 

B. L. Kimble, Chairman. 

C. S. Phelps, 
William Woodin, 
A. L. Anderson, 
Fred Arnold, 
John Schwartz, 



A. S. Carpenter, 
George Moll, 
Charles Sipple, 
Geo. C. McMillen. 



Xoan Exhibition. 

W. R. Smallwood, Chairman. 

S. (',. Keves, G. M. Congdon, O. K. Parker, 

R. M. Hussey, N. A. Chaffee, James Kavanal<;h, 

S. C. Hunger, J. A. Bestrup. 

©lo Settlers' IReunicn. 

Dr. C. C. Johnson, Chairman* 

E. T. McCutcheon, M. N. Allen, Capt.J. B. Maltbie, 

W. W. Welch, Col. T. J. Parker, M. T. Hill, 

Dr. J. G. Rugg. 

IReceptxon. 

J. E. VanDeusen, Chairman. 

Hon. J. M. Congdon, A. M. DeLong, M. M. McGuire, 

A. C. Stafford, F. L. Mattocks, W. W. Chaffee, 

B. G. Hill, J. H. Van Valkenburg, James Kavanaugh, 
Lee George, V. C. Armes, John R. Clark, 
Dr. J. D. Zwetsch, Dr. B. R. Johnson, W. H. Britton, Jr. 



C. B. Morgan, 
T. D. Keves, 
Geo. I. Lincoln, 
J. P. Brueck, 
John Dankert, 
H. S. Pierce, 
1 1 >eceased. 



fl>araoes. 

H. R. Gaensslen, Chairman. 

R. P. Johnson, H. W. Hooker, 

D. H. Foster, 
D. B. Forbush, 
Frank Davis, 
Frank Reynolds, 
And members of G. A. R. 



P. H. Horton, 
F. Brennenstuhl, 
M. Kennedy, 
John Wilson, 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, N. V. 

advertising. 

Franklin D. Locke, Buffalo ; Frank W. Kammerer, 

Ralph H. Plumb, Buffalo ; Henry C. Welch. 

Souvenirs. 

P. H. Horton, W. H. Brixton, Jr. 

/IDusic. 

J. H. Schaack, Chairman. 
S. H. Arnold, William Eaton. 

General Officers. 

N. A. Chaffee, Corresponding Secretary. 

W. H. Bard, Treasurer. 

Geo. H. Swift, Marshal. 

(He to choose his aides.) 
I. R. Leonard, Historian. 



It is but justice that the anniversary organization shall here express 
the thanks of its members and of the people of this village to the 
former residents of Gowanda, who have so generously contributed 
towards the expenses of this celebration. 

Their acts show that they still retain kindly recollections of this 
village and its people. 

Thanks are no less due to those of our citizens who, financially and 
otherwise, have aided so materially in making this celebration appro- 
priate to the occasion. 

Particular mention is due Messrs. Grattan & Jennings, the con- 
tractors in charge of the State Hospital buildings, who are among the 
most liberal contributors to the celebration fund. 

Although these gentlemen have never been residents of our village, 
still, in connection with their various enterprises in this vicinity, 
they and their representatives have been associated with our people 
so intimately that we have almost come to consider them residents 
of Gowanda. 



GOWANDA, N. Y. 




jOWANDA is an incorporated village of about 2,000 inhab- 
itants, lying on both sides of the Cattaraugus Creek, 
which at this point is the dividing line between the 
counties of Erie and Cattaraugus. 

The village lies about equally in the town of Collins, in Erie 
County, and in the town of Persia, in Cattaraugus County. 

It is situate on the Buffalo and Southwestern Division of the Erie 
Railroad, about thirty-three miles from Buffalo and thirty-seven miles 
from Jamestown. 

Eight passenger trains stop at the station here each week day and 
four on Sundays. 

The village is supplied with an abundance of pure spring water 
from springs on the hills just out of the village, in Collins, by a gravity 
system, the property of the Gowanda Water Works Co., which has 
been in operation about ten years. 

In 1896, the village constructed a sewer system, with lines in the 
principal streets, at an expense of about $19,000, which furnishes the 
proper sanitary method of disposing of all refuse liquid matter. 

Communication by long distance telephone can be had here over 
two lines; and W. R. Smallwood's local telephone furnishes an easy 
method of communication in the village and to some of the surround- 
ing towns. 

When incorporated, in 1848, the village covered a territory of 740 
acres. By the re-incorporation, in 187<S, more territory was added, 
so that now it comprises ar proximately 800 acres. 

During the past fifty years, this village, like all localities, has 'had 
its periods of prosperity and adversity ; but without question never 
during its existence has it been so prosperous as at the present time. 

From the recent county history, it appears that Gowanda had the 
honor of furnishing the first cadet from Cattaraugus County to the 
U. S. Military Academy, at West Point, in the person of Oscar F. 
Winship, who entered the academy in 1836. 

He graduated and entered the service as 2d Lieutenant of Dragoons 
on the 1st of July, 1840, and commenced his military career among 




Residence of Mrs. Charles Rollinson, Main Street. 




Residence of the late Judge William Woodbury, Main Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 11 

the pine barrens of Florida. He served with great credit to himself 
and usefulness to the country during the latter part of the Indian war 
in Florida. During the Mexican war he was brevetted captain for 
gallant and meritorious conduct at the battles of Palo Alto and Resaca 
de la Palma, and was afterwards promoted to the rank of Major. He 
was for a period Chief of Staff of Brigadier-General Pierce, later 
President of the United States. 

He filled other important positions, and was for a time after the 
Mexican war stationed at Troy, N. Y., and in 1851 was married to 
Mary B. Pierson, a daughter of Job Pierson, a prominent member 
at that time of the Rensselaer County bar. Mrs. Winship is now 
living, together with one son, Samuel C. Winship, in the city of 
New York. 

Gowanda has also the honor of furnishing a participant in the first 
battle in the war with Spain, in the person of Frank H. Bailey, who 
was chief engineer of the "Raleigh," one of the vessels composing 
the Asiatic squadron, which captured the Spanish fleet at Manila, in 
the Philippine Islands, May 1, 1898. 

Mr. Bailey is a graduate of the naval academy at Annapolis, Md., 
and has been in the navy for about twenty years. 

What is now Gowanda was once known as Aldrich's Mills. In 
1823 the village and post-office became Lodi, but, as there was a 
Lodi in Seneca County, much confusion arose in the mails, hence the 
post-office was changed to Persia, but the name of the village, Lodi, 
was retained. 

It became evident that it was bad policy to have different names for 
the village and post-office, and it was proposed to select a new name 
for both the village and post-office. Judge Chester Howe and Hon. 
J. H. Plumb conceived the idea of selecting an Indian name, and 
referred the matter to Rev. Asher Wright, the Presbyterian mission- 
ary on the Cattaraugus Reservation, and asked him to suggest a name 
of Indian origin. 

He informed them that the Indians at an early day had applied the 
name " Juc-Gowanda " to this valley, the signification being "A 
valley among the hills." He suggested that they might drop the 
'•' Juc " and select Gowanda as the name of the village. 

This met the approval of the citizens and the change was accord- 
ingly made. 

No other post-office by the name of Gowanda appears in the U. S. 
Post-office directorv. 



12 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, X. Y. 

Ralph Plumb was the pioneer merchant of the then village of Lodi, 
he having established the first store in the place. At the time of his 
death he had been a resident of Erie County for fifty years. 

In 1829 he was Postmaster here, and in 1835 was elected to the 
Legislature, and in 1843 was elected sheriff of Erie County. In an 
early day he made extensive purchases of pine lands in this vicinity, 
and built saw mills and grist mills on the Cattaraugus Creek at this 
place. 

He was supervisor from the town of Collins for fourteen or fifteen 
years, during nearly all of which time he was the chairman of that 
body. He died on the 28th of February, 1865. 

Turner Stewart, now about seventy years of age, is the oldest per- 
son born in the village who now lives here, and Amasa W. W. 
Chaffee is the next oldest. Mr. Chaffee is the only survivor of the 
officers elected at the first village election in 1848. Turner Stewart 
is a grandson of Turner Aldrich, who about the year 1818 bought 
from the Holland Land Company all, or nearly all, the land compos- 
ing the present village of Gowanda. 

Mrs. S. C. Springer and Mrs. Delia Burke are the two oldest 
residents now living here. 

The pioneers of this vicinity undoubtedly recognized the value of 
the water power furnished by the Cattaraugus Creek at this place, 
and to that fact was probably due the location of the village at this 
point. 

While the water power has been of great value to this vicinity, at 
the same time the stream has been a source of much expense from 
time to time, especially in the matter of bridges. 

The Legislature of 1826 passed an act authorizing a few of the 
towns of Erie and Cattaraugus counties to erect a bridge across the 
Cattaraugus Creek at Lodi, the expense to be charged upon the tax- 
able property of those towns, and appointing Phineas Spencer, Ralph 
Plumb and Benjamin Waterman commissioners to carry the same into 
effect. In July of that year these commissioners entered into a con- 
tract with Ahaz Allen and Edwin Farnsworth to build a bridge and 
have it completed by the first of January, 1827, at an expense of 
SI, 200. The bridge was a covered wooden structure, and was burned 
b) the fire in April, 1856. 

Soon after a similar bridge was erected on the same site, which 
stood until September, 1861, when the same was washed away and 
landed down the stream near the school house. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, N. V. 13 

So much of the bank was washed away that it became necessary to 
have a bridge of greater span. The span of the old bridges between 
the abutments had been 128 feet, and it was decided to lengthen the 
new bridge nineteen feet, making the span between the abutments 
147 feet. 

January 31, 1862, James Locke, commissioner on behalf of Catta- 
raugus County, and John E. Moss, commissioner on the part of Erie 
County, entered into a contract with Edwin P. and George Dailey to 
build this new bridge, of a style similar to the old one of the length 
above stated. 

They were permitted to use so much of the old bridge as was suit- 
able for the purpose. The lower cords were to extend several feet 
over the abutments, and for that reason were to be 163 feet in their 
entire length. For doing the work and furnishing the materials the 
Messrs. Dailey were to receive SI, 800. The bridge was accepted as 
satisfactory by the commissioners October 1, 1862. 

During the interval between the washing away of the old bridge 
and the completion of the new bridge, temporary bridges, resting on 
trestles were erected, seven of which were washed away and as often 
rebuilt. The bridge, built in 1862, stood until 1889, when it was 
declared unsafe, and was replaced by the present iron bridge. 

On May 16, 1889, a contract was entered into by James H. 
Green and Frederick Weigand, commissioners of highways of the 
town of Persia, and John A. Schoos, commissioner of the town of 
Collins, with the Groton Bridge & Manufacturing Co., to erect the 
present bridge for $7,796.00. The extreme length is 153 feet. The 
entire cost of removing old bridge, erecting new abutments and build- 
ing new bridge was about $13,000. The present piers were built by 
Silas Vinton, contractor. 

The village for many years had two cemeteries, one adjoining the 
town line of Perrysburgh and one on Buffalo Street. 

In the sixties the need of a larger cemetery became apparent, and 
in 1867 the Gowanda Pine Hill Cemetery Association was formed. 
The site of the present Pine Hill Cemetery, on the hill east of the 
village, in the town of Collins, consisting of twenty acres, was 
donated by Hon. J. H. Plumb, the cemetery authorities to see 
that it was properly arranged and kept in condition. 

The first trustees were John E. Moss, Charles Rollinson, Joseph 
H. Plumb, Cyrenius C. Torrance, Porter Welch and James H. 
McMillen. 



14 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOIVANDA, N. V. 

In 1S!)7, the association purchased two and one third acres more of 
land adjoining the grounds, for the purpose of procuring water for the 
cemetery grounds, and a system of water works is now in process of 
construction. 

A gift of SI, 000 from Hon. J. H. Plumb, and of $200 from Mrs. 
Jeanette I. Kirby, and a bequest of $1,000 from the late C. C. Tor- 
rance, forms a fund in the hands of the trustees, the income from 
which is used in beautifying the grounds. 

The present board of Trustees are as follows : 

William W. Welch, president ; Byron L. Kimble, vice-president : 
William R. Smallwood, secretary and treasurer; George H. Swift, 
Wallace E. Farnsworth, Theodore F. Welch. George H. Swift, 
superintendent. 

While there are older incorporated villages than Gowanda in Erie 
County, with the exception of Ellicottville, Gowanda was the first 
incorporated village in Cattaraugus County, and so far as appears from 
the recent Cattaraugus County history, will be the first in Cattaraugus 
County to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of its incorporation. 

This village will compare favorably with other villages of its size in 
point of manufacturing, mercantile establishments, and other lines of 
business, some of which are represented in the advertising portion of 
this book. 

About the year 1896 the tannery firm of Gaensslen, Fisher & Co. 
(successors to Gaensslen Brothers) expressed a wish to locate their 
enlarged plant at Hidi in this village, provided they could be fur- 
nished with switch accommodations connecting their plant with the 
railroad. The Board of Trade and the citizens at once took hold of 
the matter, and soon enough was raised by contribution to purchase 
and grade the right of way from the railroad to the tannery plant, a 
distance of about one mile. 

About S3, 000 was raised by the citizens, and the Erie Railroad 
Company very promptly assisted the enterprise by furnishing the ties 
and rails and laying the same. 

The wisdom of securing this enterprise is apparent from the fact 
that employment is furnished to about 1(50 men. 



INCORPORATION OF THE VILLAGE 

AND ITS OFFICERS. 



' I "HE original incorporation was under Chapter 426 of the Laws 
* of 1847. 

The following comments and notices are copied from the Western 
Democrat, published here at that time, relative to the incorporation, 
the change of name from Lodi to Gowanda, the elections, etc., under 
the dates given : 

JULY 19, 1848. 

It will be seen by the notice that our Gowanda corporation elec- 
tion will take place on the 1st day of August. The question stands : 
Gowanda or no corporation. 

AUGUST 9, 1848. 

On the 1st day of August the voters within the proposed territory 
of incorporation met pursuant to public notice for the purpose of 
changing the name of Lodi with the corporation bill. 

The vote was a decided one, only about one-fourth voting against 
the name Gowanda and the corporation. 

Henceforth we will be addressed at the " plain beyond the hills," 
instead of the justly called place of Low-die. 

SEPTEMBER 13, 1848. 

There will be a caucus of the voters of the village of Gowanda, on 
Saturday evening, at seven o'clock, at the Mansion House, kept by 
H. Pinney, for the purpose of nominating corporation officers. 

Our friends and exchanges will discover that we have changed the 
name of our paper to the new one chosen for our village. 

We will receive our address, as we have heretofore, as we have not 
yet changed the name of the post-office, but shall in a few days from 
Persia to that of Gowanda. We shall next week give our readers the 
Indian meaning of the word chosen to designate the village of Lodi. 



16 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 



SEPTEMBER 20, 1848. 

We have no room for the Gowanda signification as promised last 
week. 

NOTICE ! 

Notice is hereby given that a meeting of the electors of the village 
of Gowanda will be held at the Mansion House, kept by H. Pinney, 
in said village, on Saturday, the 23d day of September, A. D. l)S4<s, 
for the purpose of electing officers for said village. 

At such meeting the polls will be opened at ten o'clock in the fore- 
noon and will be kept open until four o'clock in the afternoon, when 
they will be closed. The officers to be elected at said meeting are - 
five trustees, three assessors, one collector, one treasurer, one clerk, 
three street commissioners and one poundmaster, together with such 
other officers as shall be deemed necessary. 

A. CAMP, 

A. BUGBEE, 

W. VAN VECHTEN, 

Inspectors of Election. 
Gowanda, September G, LSI*. 



SKPTEMBER 27, 1848. 
( It (Wanda Corporation Election. 

Trustees. — Seth Field, James Locke, Daniel C. Amsden, Harlow 
Crandall and Francis Peacock. 

Assessors. — Amasa L. Chaffee, Hiram Palmer and Samuel Aikin. 

Street Commissioners. — James H. McMillen, Joseph J. Benton 
and George S. Hickox. 

Collector. — William H. Murphy. 

Treasurer. — Elisha W. Henry. 

Clerk. — Samuel C. Springer. 

Poundmaster. — Ralph Griswold. 

Hog Constables. — Felix McGready, Serono Humphrey, A. W. 
W. Chaffee. 

Constable. — Brazil Coon. 




Residence of Chief Engineer F. H. Bailey, U. S. N., Main Street. 




Residence of I. R. Leonard and Law Office of Thrasher & Leonard, 
Jamestown Street. 



HISTORICAL SKI-ITCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 17 

The following, relating to the incorporation, are taken from the 
records in the County Clerk's office of Cattaraugus County, where 
they are recorded in Liber two of Miscellaneous Records, at pages 
297, 298. 

INCORPORATION OF GOWANDA. 

We, Asahel Camp, Alvin Bugbee and William Van Vechten, inspec- 
tors of election of the town of Persia, do hereby certify that a meet- 
ing of electors was held at the time and place specified in and in all 
respects pursuant to the annexed " Notice." 

That immediately after the polls were closed we canvassed the bal- 
lots given thereat. That the whole number of such ballots was ninety- 
six. That the number having thereon the word " Yes " was seventy- 
five, and the number having thereon the word " No " was twenty-one. 

ASAHEL CAMP, 

W. VAN VECHTEN, 

ALVIN BUGBEE. 
Dated August 1, A. D. 1848. 



NOTICE. 

The Court of Sessions of the County of Cattaraugus having made 
an order declaring that the territory hereinafter described shall be an 
incorporated village by the name of Gowanda, if the electors thereof 
shall consent thereto, according to the provisions of an act to provide 
for the incorporation of villages, passed December 7, 1847 ; 

Notice is therefore given that a meeting of the electors of the said 
territory will be held at the Lodi House, kept by M. H. Barker, in 
such territory, on the 1st day of August, A. D. 1848, for the purpose 
of determining whether such territory shall be an incorporated village. 
At such meeting the polls will be opened at ten o'clock in the fore- 
noon and will be kept open until four o'clock in the afternoon, when 
they will be closed. 

The said territory is situated in the town of Persia, in the County 
of Cattaraugus, and town of Collins, in the County of Erie, and is 
bounded as follows, viz : 

Beginning on the east line of the Cattaraugus Indian Reservation, 
at the northwest corner of the farm occupied by John F. Allen ; run- 
ning thence south two degrees and twelve minutes west on the west 



18 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 

line of the sixth township, in the eighth range, one hundred and 
twenty-three chains and three links, to the southwest corner of lot 
number twenty-eight in said township ; thence south eighty -seven 
and three-fourths degrees east on the south line of said lot number 
twenty-eight and of lot number twenty-seven and on said line pro- 
duced, sixty chains twenty-eight links, to the east line of lot number 
twenty-six, in said township ; thence north two and one-fourth 
degrees east, on the east line of said lot number twenty-six and of lot 
number thirty-six, in said township, one hundred and twenty-four 
chains and twenty-one links, to the northeast corner of said farm 
occupied by John F. Allen aforesaid ; thence north eighty-eight 
degrees and fifty-three minutes west on the north line of said farm, 
and the south line of land owned by Hosea Stewart, sixty chains and^ 
forty-five links, to the place of beginning, containing seven hundred 

and forty-six acres. 

ASAHEL CAMP, 
W. VAN VECHTEN, 
A. BUGBEE, 
Inspectors of Election of the Town of Persia. 

Dated July 8, 1848. 

Cattaraugus County, ss. 

William VanVechten, being duly sworn, deposes and says, that he is proprietor 
and editor of a newspaper known as the Western Democrat, which is printed and 
published in the territory described in the notice annexed above. That such notice 
was published in said newspaper once in each week for three successive weeks, pre- 
vious to the meeting mentioned in said notice, and which was held on the first day 

of August, instant. 

W. VAN VECHTEN. 
Sworn this 3d day of August) 
A D., 1848, before me. ) 

W. W. Woodbury, J. P. 

»'\i i \k\ugus County, ss. 

I hereby certify that I have examined the within notice, certificate and affidavit, 
and from such examination am satisfied that the notifying and holding the meeting 
in the within notice and certificate mentioned, the canvassing the votes at such 
meeting and the certificate thereof, are all legal. 

In testimony whereof, I have hereunto set my hand this 7th day of August, 

1848. 

RENSSELAER LAMB, County Judge. 

Recorded 8th August, 1848, at 12 M. and exd. 

H. C. Gaylord, Dep. Clerk. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWAXDA, N. V. 19 

That the Board of Trustees of the village, after those given above, 
down to the present, so far as the names can be obtained, were made 
up as follows : 

1849.— 

1850.— 

1851. — James Locke, A. L. Chaffee, Zimri Warner, Joseph H. 
Plumb, Titus Roberts. 

1852. — J. H. McMillen, Leander N. Gardner, Lyman Knowlton, 
Joseph J. Benton. 

1853.— L. W. Strope, J. B. Knoll, W. R. Webster, E. Taylor, 
W. F. Vosburgh. 

1854.— W. R. Webster, 1). N. Brown, B. Davis, C. W. Grannis, 
C. S. Kimble. 

1855.— 

1856.— 

1857. — 

1858. — 

1859. — C. C. Torrance, Orlando Allen, Wm. W. Welch, Wm. 
Peacock, G. W. Hanford. 

I860.— W. H. Terwilliger, A. W. Popple, H. B. Hickox, Ira 
Ansley. 

1861. — Harmon Kelley, S. C. Warner, John Woodward, Charles 
W. Chaffee. 

1862. — Harmon Kelley, Alanson Barlow, Sumner C. Warner, 
Charles W. Barr, Edwin H. Hitchcock. 

1863. — Andrew J. Stiles, Alex. W. Popple, Charles S. Kimble, Ira 
W. Ansley, Ulysses S. Webb. 

1864. — William Peacock, Jacob Van Ostrand, Orlando Allen, 
Hudson Ansley, W. D. Beach. 

1865.— 

1866.— 

1867.— 

1868.— 

1869.— 

1870.— 

187L — 

1872.— 

1873. — Lemuel S. Jenks, John Kammerer, Jacob G. Van Ostrand, 
George L. Vosburgh, Byron L. Kimble. 



20 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y 



1874.— 

1875. — Ansel F. Conger, Charles Trunk, George L. Vosburgh, 
Byron L. Kimble, Thomas Jackson, Jr. 
1876.— 
1877. — 

On the 14th day of August, 1878, it was decided, by a vote of 137 
to 15, to re-incorporate the village of Gowanda under Chapter 291 of 
the Laws of 1870, including all the territory in the old corporation, 
and in addition thereto the remainder of Lot No. 26 in the town of 
Persia, and all that portion of lot No. 16 in Persia, bounded north- 
erly and easterly by the Cattaraugus Creek ; westerly by lot No. 26, 
and southerly by a line commencing at the southeast corner of lot 
No. 26, running east to Cattaraugus Creek. 

Under the Law of 1870 the village board was to be composed of 
a president and three trustees. 

At the election held September 2, 1<S78, the following were 
elected : 

Silas Vinton, president ; trustees, H. J. Brown, John Kammerer 
and B. L. Kimble. 

Succeeding village boards were as follows : 



1879. 
1880. 
1881. 
1882. 
1883. 
1884. 
1885. 
1886. 
1887. 
1888. 
1889. 
1890. 
1891. 
1892. 
1893. 
1894. 
L895. 
1896. 
1897. 
1898. 



PRESIDENT. 
Frank W. Taylor, 
J. E. VanDeuserf, 
F. C. Vinton, 
B. L. Kimble, 
I. K. Leonard, 
I. R. Leonard, 
S. H. Arnold, 
J. E. VanDeusen. 
J. E. VanDeusen, 
J. E. VanDeusen, 
I. R. Leonard, . 
J. E. VanDeusen, 
L. J. Stafford, . 
L. J. Stafford, . 
Silas Vinton, . 
B. L. Kimble, 
1 [enry R. ( raensslen, 
I [enry R. < raensslen, 
Henry R. ( raensslen, 
1 [enry R. ( raensslen, 



[•'red !■'.. Place, clerk 



TRUSTEES. 

Amand Fischer, F. C. Vinton, John Kammerer. 
John Kammerer, Amand Fischer, F. C. Vinton. 
John P. Romer, A. C. Stafford, M. T. Hill. 
John P. Romer, A. C. Stafford, M. T. Hill. 
Harmon Hurd, M. T. Hill, L. P. Dean. 
M. T. Hill, L. P. Dean, J. W. Dauber. 
J. W. Dauber, Peter Rink, Nicholas Romer. 
Nicholas Romer, Peter Rink, J. H. Schaack. 
J. H. Schaack, N. Romer, Peter Rink. 
N. A. Chaffee, Edward Etsler, J. H. Schaack. 
J. H. Schaack, Edward Etsler, O. D. Sprague. 
H. R. Gaensslen, O. D. Sprague, Edward Etsler. 
Edward Etsler, O. D. Sprague, H. R. Gaensslen. 
Edward Etsler, F. L. Mattocks, H. R. Gaensslen. 
Henry R. Gaensslen, M. T. Hill, M. McGuire. 
H. R. Gaensslen, Chas. J. Howard, M. McGuire. 
M. McGuire, Chas. J. Howard, F. W. Kammerer. 
F. W. Kammerer, Edward Etsler, B. L. Kimble. 
J. H. Schaack, Edward Etsler, Samuel Inskip. 
Samuel Inskip, E. A. Shaw, Chas. J. Straub, 

Prank M. Davis. 

R. A. Noblett, street commissioner. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, X. V. 



21 



By Chapter 414 of the Laws of 1897 provision was made for four 
trustees instead of three as heretofore, and the present board is 
organized under that law. 

The following persons have served as clerk of the village : 

Thomas J. Parker, Samuel C. Springer, William W. Henry, James 
M. Joy, George S. Hickox, Byron L. Kimble, C. S. Blackney, L. 
VanOstrand, Millard N. Allen, Fred J. Blackmon, J. V. Crouch, 
Frank F. Bard, Newton A, Chaffee and Fred E. Place. 




JOURNALISM IN GOWANDA. 



' I ' HE first paper published in Gowanda, or what was then known 
as Lodi, was The Lodi Pioneer, the publication of which was 
commenced about November, 1827. The price was $2.50 per year. 
It was anti-masonic in politics, and was published by G. N. Starr, 
who announces that most of the productions of the country will be 
received in payment if delivered when wanted. As a matter of fact, 
Horace Greeley, founder of the New York Tribune, at one time 
worked in this village as a printer, and undoubtedly was an employee 
in the office of The Lodi Pioneer. 

The Cattaraugus Freeman and Lodi Messenger was the next paper 
in the village, and its publication was commenced about June, 1880. 

The issue of March 10, 1832, contains the anti-masonic nomina- 
tions of William Wirt for president and Amos Ellmaker for vice- 
president. Mr. Starr must have continued the publication of the 
paper down to about the close of the year 1838, as on January 8, 

1839, Edwin Hough issued No. 1, vol. 1, of the Freeman and Mes- 
senger, in which he announces that he "shall support the leading 
measures of the Whig party." At the end of the year he states that 
his subscription list amounts to 340, and that in order to continue the 
paper on a paying basis, he should have at least 400 paying sub- 
scribers. 

During the year 1840 the paper headed its columns with the 
"Democratic-Whig nominations" of William H. Harrison for presi- 
dent, John Tyler for vice-president, and William H. Seward for 
governor. 

Edwin Hough continued as editor and proprietor to November 1!), 

1840, when Eliakim Hough became proprietor, Edwin Hough still 
being editor. 

The Freeman and Messenger continued to about January, 1844, 
when the name was changed, and on January 17, 1844, vol. 1, No. 1 
of the People' s Advocate and Lodi Banner was issued, with Eliakim 
Hough as proprietor and Edwin Hough as editor. 

About March 1, 1844, the name was changed to The Lodi Banner. 

Saturday, April 18, 1844, the Messrs. Hough issued the last num- 
ber of The Banner, in which they announce their intention of mov- 




w thhippi 



John Kammerer's Hardware Store, Jamestown Street. 




S "n n "". 



■\t ##» <*«* '<** 



■n-"! 



v •#** 



H iVi n "iVfJULS 



jy 




Van Valkenburg Block, Main Street. 

John L. Schwartz, 
Clothing Store. 



Post-office. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, K. V. 23 

ing to Springville, and that on May 13th they would issue the first 
number of The Springville Express. 

About March, 1847, The Western Democrat was established, with 
A. A. LaDue as publisher. As its name indicates, the paper was 
Democratic, and was especially favorable to Gen. Lewis Cass. 

April 26, 1848, Mr. LaDue retired from the management, and was 
succeeded by William VanVechten, who conducted the paper but a 
short time, and was succeeded, on May 17, 1848, by John W. Mason 
and Charles Aldrich, who announced their allegiance to the Demo- 
cratic party, and published the paper under the firm-name of Mason 
& Aldrich. 

But frequent changes seemed to be the order of the day, and in 
June, 1848, we again find Mr. VanVechten in charge of the paper, 
with the presidential ticket of Lewis Cass and William O. Butler at 
the head of his columns. 

In August of that year the name of the village was changed from 
that of Lodi to Gowanda, and Gowanda became an incorporated vil- 
lage, and on September 6th following was issued the last number of 
The Western Democrat, and the last paper published in this village 
with the Lodi heading ; and on September 13th was issued the first 
number of The Gowanda Democrat, being the first paper to be dated 
at Gowanda, and in which the editor announces that he has changed 
the name of his paper to conform to the new name chosen for the 
village. 

Apparently the Democrat closed its career during the latter part of 
1848, as on November 22, 1848, J. C. VanDuzer issued the first 
number of The Gowanda Persian, which seemed to be not much of a 
political, but rather an independent paper, and evidently was pub- 
lished but a short time. 

In November, 1850, James T. Henry established The Gowanda 
Wiig, and about the same time H. M. Morgan established The Catta- 
raugus Chronicle, the first number of which was issued October 31, 
1850. 

The Chronicle was a Democratic paper, and the first issue contains 
the Democratic nominations, headed with the name of Horatio 
Seymour for governor. 

The Chronicle of May 15, 1851, contained the announcement that 
the editor had just returned from Dayton Summit, where he had wit- 
nessed the opening of The New York & Erie Railroad, and the passing 
of the train with President Fillmore and Daniel Webster. 



•24 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. )'. 

It also contained the sad tidings of the serious injury to Franklin 
Peacock and Ebenezer Henry, two of the young men of this village, 
by the premature discharge of a cannon. 

June 26, 1852, the name of the paper was changed to that of The 
Independent Chronicle, with L. S. Morgan as editor, H. M. Morgan 
still continuing as publisher. About July, 1854, we find the name 
again changed to The Gowanda Chronicle, with Morgan & Henry as 
publishers ; and again, in 1855, H. M. Morgan is the editor and pro- 
prietor with the name unchanged. 

On account of the poor health of Mr. Morgan, the Chronicle was 
suspended in the winter of 1855 and 1856, and the following spring 
the business was purchased by John P. Greisen, a brother-in-law of 
Mr. Morgan, who started a Republican paper as the continuation of 
the Chronicle ; but one number of which was issued when the office was 
destroyed by the fire of April, 1856. 

From the ashes of the Chronicle arose The Gowanda Phcenix, with 
Rev. L. S. Morgan as editor. 

In November, 1857, we find The New Yorker, published every 
fourth Tuesday, with Sam C. Crane as editor, who announces his 
paper is "neutral in nothing." The price was 35 cents per annum, 
and evidently was continued but a short time. 

In August, 1858, Win. W. Henry and Frank G. Stebbins, under 
the firm name of Henry &: Stebbins, commenced the publication of 
The Gowanda Reporter, a Democratic paper. The issue of Friday, 
October 21, 1859, contained a full report of the famous John Brown 
raid at Harper's Ferry, Va. 

With the issue of November 4, 1859, Frank G. Stebbins withdrew, 
and at the same time W. W. Henry became sole editor and proprietor 
of The Gotvanda Reporter. 

The carriers' address in the first number of January, 1860, con- 
tained this verse : 

" That brave old murderer, Brown, has met his doom, 
lie would have drenched the soil in brothers' blood, 
Shrouded the land in mystery and gloom, 
All to attain a wildly fancied good. 
That good to end in murdering the whites 
To elevate the black man's fancied rights." 

About the first of May, 1860, David F. Moody became the partner 
of Mr. Henry, and thenceforth for a time the Reporter was published 
by the firm of Henry <S: Moody, and in August of the same year the 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 25 

firm name became W. W. Henry & Co., and so continued till Janu- 
ary, 1861, when Mr. Henry again became sole proprietor. 

But evidently Mr. Henry preferred not to be alone, for in March, 
1861, Mr. F. J. Fuller became interested in the paper with him. 

In September, 1861, Mr. Henry disposed of his interest in the 
paper to C. E. Benton, and the firm became Fuller & Benton, and 
they, or one of them, probably continued in charge of the paper as 
long as it was published. 

In April, 1865, John H. Melvin established The Gowanda Weekly 
Bulletin in the brick office on Main Street. 

This was succeeded by The Gowanda Gazette, with John S. Fidler 
as publisher, the first number of which was issued June 1, 1867, and 
was, as announced by Mr. Fidler, "temperately Republican," and 
which continued for about ten years, when it was succeeded by The 
Gowanda Enterprise, an independent paper, of which John J. Horton 
and E. C. Deming, under the firm name of Horton & Deming, issued 
the first number March 30, 1877. In the latter part of the year 
1880 Mr. Deming retired and Mr. Horton continued to publish the 
Enterprise alone until January 28, 1887, when it was sold to S. Clay 
Torrance and M. D. Colby, composing the firm of Torrance & Colby, 
who changed the name to Our Public Interests, in which form it was 
published as a prohibition paper until April 5, 1888, when it was 
bought by the Herald Publishing Co. and the name changed to The 
Gowanda Herald, and as such was published as a Republican paper 
until February 6, 1891, when the paper was sold to George I. 
Lincoln, who published it till April 10th of that year, when the 
paper was sold to Charles J. Shults, who continued it for about six 
years, when its publication was discontinued. 

October 21, 1887, C. D. Straight, then publishing the Cattaraugus 
Times at Cattaraugus, established a branch department in this village, 
changing the name of the paper to the Cattaraugus County Times, 
with James Kavanaugh as editor of the Gowanda department. Mr. 
Kavanaugh remained with the Times less than a year, having become 
the editor of The Gowanda Herald. 

The Gowanda department of the Times was discontinued after two 
or three years. 

June 15, 1893, Clarence VanAlstyne commenced the publication 
of The Gowanda Leader, and continued its publication till the year 
1897, when the same was purchased by E. C. Countryman, who has 
published it since that time. 



ECHOES OF LONG AGO. 



GLEANINGS FROM FORMER NEWSPAPERS PUBLISHED 
IN THIS VILLAGE. 



Lodi Pioneer, January 24, 1829, G. N. Starr, Publisher. 

An anti-Masonick convention is called, to be holden in Albany, 
February 29th, to deliberate on measures for the overthrow of 
Masonry. 

Announcement is made of "A respectable meeting of the Repub- 
licans of the town of Perrysburgh, opposed to Secret Societies, held 
at the inn of Capt. John G. McKee, on the 8th day of January last," 
of which Hiram Austin was chairman and Simeon Waterman, secretary. 

A committee, composed of Col. B. Waterman, Zimri Howe and 
the chairman, was appointed to draft resolutions. The resolutions fill 
about a column, and it was resolved that at least fifty copies be pro- 
cured for circulation through the several towns of the county. 

R. Plumb, postmaster at Collins (Lodi), N. Y. , advertises a long 
list of uncalled-for letters. E. Ward, postmaster at Perrysburgh, has 
a similar list, among which are letters for John Derby, Guile Johnson, 
Jonathan G. Rugg, Phineas Spencer and Col. B. Waterman. 

Died, at Perrysburgh, last week, Mr. John Farnsworth, aged 
about 30. 

From the Cattaraugus Freeman and Lodi Messenger, A/arch 10, 
1832. 

Anti-Masonick nominations : For president, William Wirt of Mary- 
land ; for vice-president, Amos Ellmaker of Pennsylvania. 

April 14, 1832. — The editor says an article is going the rounds of 
the papers to the effect that Wm. Morgan has been found again, this 
time in Mexico, where he is following the trade of painter. 

Died, in this village, on the 18th inst., Lucy Helen, youngest 
daughter of Amasa L. Chaffee, Esq., aged 9 months. 

March 18, 1834. — An "Agrarian Convention" convened in 
Buffalo on February 19th, composed of delegates from the various 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 27 

counties of the "Holland Purchase," to take action as to the deal- 
ings of the Holland Company with the people. 

Wm. R. Smith advertises that John Voluntaire, an indentured 
apprentice to the farming business, has run away, and one cent 
reward is offered for his return. 

February 12, 1835. — A meeting was held at the Mansion House, 
in this village, Monday evening last, to adopt measures for the con- 
struction of a railroad from this place to Buffalo. 

Married, in Perrysburgh, on the 8th inst., Mr. Charles Near of 
Hanover, to Miss Maranda Nash of the former place, by A. L. 
Chaffee, Esq. 

" Some eight or ten miles he did go, 
Through stormy winds and drifts of snow, 
For nothing else that doth appear, 
Than to declare that Nash is Near." 

January 3, 1839. — Married, by Zimri Howe, Esq., on December 
30, 1838, Mr. Silas H. Wheeler to Mrs. Lydia Phillips. 

January 31, 1839. — Married, by Zimri Howe, Esq., on the 27th 
inst., at the residence of Gen. Jehial Hill, in Collins, Mr. Benj. 
Degrushe and Miss Narcissa Clothier. 

Died, at Fredonia, of consumption, on the 14th inst., Mrs. Mary 
Ann Hart, wife of Mr. Salmon Hart, and sister of the former pub- 
lisher of this paper, in the 32d year of her age. 

February 7th. — Ralph Plumb has been elected Supervisor of 
Collins. 

February 7th. — Married, in Collins, on January 24th, by James 
Parkinson, Esq., Jesse Parkins and Miss Emma L. Annis. 

February 28th. — Married, in Otto, January 21st, by Z. Howe, 
Esq., Lemuel Griffith and Miss Freelove Jennett Cook, both of Otto. 

Died, in this village, on Sunday last, at the residence of Simeon 
J. Porter, Jane Shepard, in the 13th year of her age. 

In Sheridan, on the 24th inst., Deacon Nathaniel Thompson, a 
soldier of the Revolution, aged 75. 

March 7th. — Esek B. Nash has been elected Supervisor of the 
town of Persia, and William Cooper of Perrysburgh. 

April 11th. — Married, last evening, by Rev. J. B. Preston, Mr. 
John Swain of Boston and Miss Ruth Adams of this village. 



28 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

June 20th. — Married, in this village, June 6th, Lyman Rolfe and 
Miss Sally Gardner, all of this village. 

July 18th. — Married, in this village, on Monday last, by Rev. H. 
N. Seaver, Mr. James Tooley and Miss Charlotte Whitney, all of 
Lodi. 

Died, in Dayton, on Wednesday, the 10th inst., Phila S., wife of 
C i i le Johnson, aged 26 years. 

September 12th. — Married, in Collins, on the 4th inst., Mr. 
Abram Foster and Miss Amanda Sisson, all of Collins. 

October 31st. — Amasa L. Chaffee has been appointed postmaster 
to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Hon. P. Spencer. 

November 28th. — Sealed proposals will be received by the build- 
ing committee of the Lodi Academy for the following bill of lumber 
and building materials, until the 3d of December next. (Here fol- 
lows a detailed bill of the lumber. ) 

December 5th. — Married, in this village, on Sunday evening last, 
by A. H. Hurd, Esq., Leander ()rr and Miss Alvira Beach, all of 
Lodi. Also, in this town, on the 28th ult., by the same, Mr. John 
Benson and Miss Clarissa Allen, all of Persia. 

January 2, 1840. — Democratic Whig nominations : For president, 
William H. Harrison ; for vice-president, John Tyler. 

February 27th. — Supervisors elected ; Anson C. Merrill of Dayton 
and John Thatcher of Persia. 

April 30th. — Married, in this village, on Tuesday evening last, by 
A. H. Hurd, Esq., Mr. Alonzo Palmer and Miss Harsha Terwilliger, 
all of Lodi. 

In Perrysburgh, on the 22d inst., by Abial Titus, Esq., Azariah 
Darby of the town of Dayton, aged 82, to Mrs. Elizabeth Rugg of 
Perrysburgh, aged 62. 

May 14th. — Married, in Perrysburgh, yesterday morning, by Rev. 
A. Wright, Mr. Daniel Wheeler and Miss Minerva Hooker, daughter 
of Jacob Hooker. 

At the same time and place, by the same, Mr. Daniel Hooker and 
Miss Fannie Hooker, daughter of Mr. John Hooker, all of Perrys- 
burgh. 

Died, in this village, on Saturday morning last, Cynthia, daughter 
of John Thatcher, aged 13. 




Residence of E. C. Fisher, Chaiel Street. 




Residence of II. R. Oaensslen, Main Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 29 

May 28th. — Married, in this village, on Sunday last, by Rev. Mr. 
Wright, Jeremiah Love of Forestville and Miss Julia Higbee of this 
village. 

On the same day, by the same minister, Mr. James Waterman and 
Miss Ann M. Campbell, both of Perrysburgh. 

April 9th. — A large meeting of those friendly to the election of 
W 7 illiam Henry Harrison was held at the Mansion House, in this 
place, on the evening of the 4th, at which time a Tippecanoe club 
was formed and the following officers appointed : Dr. Seth Field, 
president ; L. H. Pitcher, John L. Henry, James H. McMillen, John 
Pierce, Alanson Dewey, Edward Van Dake, Wilber Wilcox, Leander 
Orr and Willard Slocum, vice-presidents; Chester Howe and S. C. 
Springer, secretaries ; D. C. Amsden, treasurer. 

July 2d. — Married, at Hidi, last evening, by Rev. Mr. Bliss, 
Chester Howe, Esq., of this village and Miss Matilda Torrance of 
Hidi. 

LOG CABIN. — Notice is hereby given that a log cabin will be 
raised at Lodi, in the town of Persia, on Saturday, the 11th day of 
July, commencing at 10 o'clock A. M., by order of the Tippecanoe 
Club. " Boys, do you hear that? " A general invitation is given. 
Logs should be eighteen and twenty-four feet in length. 

July 30th. — Died, in this town, yesterday morning, Mr. Alexander 
Nash, aged 72. 

August 13th. — The Tippecanoe Club of this village meets in the 
Log Cabin every Saturday evening. 

August 20th. — Died, in this village, on Tuesday evening last, 
Almira, daughter of John and Martha Albro, in the 20th year of her 
age. 

September 17th. — Married, in Perrysburgh, on the 10th inst., by 
Rev. Mr. Cowles, Mr. John Springer and Miss Emma Campbell, all 
of Perrysburgh. 

Died, in Collins, on the 3d inst., James Parkinson, aged 42. 

November 4th. — (Evidently the last issue before election, as we 
find these headings in large type ): " Great Loco Foco Conspiracy." 
"Unparalleled Villainy," etc. 

November 12th. — The Freeman and Messenger thinks Harrison has 
been elected, but says in a week or more there will be returns enough 
to be certain about it. 



30 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 

November 19th. — (Nine days after election. ) The returns are 
not all in, but Harrison seems to be elected. 

May 6, 1841. — Married, in Lodi, on the 2d inst., by Z. Howe, 
Esq., Stephen D. Foster and Miss Miranda Dailey. 

May 20th. — Died, in this village, on Sunday last, Alvira Emily, 
daughter of E. and M. A. Alverson, aged 6 years. 

Wilhelm Willink, the friend of Washington, died in Amsterdam on 
the 13th of February last, at the advanced age of 91. His name was 
intimately connected with the Holland Purchase, and it is believed 
that he is the last survivor of the owners of that tract of land. 

September 20th. — Married, in Perrysburgh, by Rev. Mr. Emory 
of Forestville, on the 15th inst., Mr. Carver J. Goss, merchant of 
this village, and Miss Betsey Shepard of the former place. 

December 20th. — Died, in this village, on Monday evening last, 
Rinaldo, son of Simeon and Sally Leonard, aged 10 years and 8 
months. 

April 25, 1842. — Died, in this village, last evening, Lucinda, wife 
of Salmon Wood, aged 34. 

May 9th. — Died, in Dayton, on Monday last, Amarilla, wife of 
John Watenpaugh, aged 50 years. 

October 3d. — Births. In this village, on Friday evening, a 
daughter to Mrs. P. H. Perry, and on last evening, a daughter to 
Mrs. Cephas McCullough, and in Otto, on Wednesday morning last, 
a daughter to Mrs. Harvey Little. 

Married, in this village, last evening, Lemuel Stewart and Miss 
Aurilla McCullough, both of this village. 

June 10, 1843. — Mr. A. L. Chaffee has returned from New 
York, and made the entire distance in the unprecedented short space 
of forty-five hours. 

July 1st. — Married, in this village, by Rev. S. Cowles, on Sunday, 
July 2d, Mr. William Kingsley of Buffalo and Miss Janet Raymond of 
this village. 

July 15. — Born, in this village, yesterday, to Mrs. L. N. Gardner, 
a son. 

Married, at Hidi, on the 13th inst., Mr. Walter Strickland of Otto 
with Miss Statira, daughter of Dan Allen, Esq. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 31 

August 5. — Eliakim Hough, publisher, and Edwin Hough, editor, 
announce that this will be the last issue of the Freeman and Messenger, 
which is suspended for want of patronage. (On Wednesday, January 
17, 1844, Eliakim Hough, publisher, and Edwin Hough, editor, 
issued vol. 1, No. 1, of the People 1 s Advocate and Lodi Banner.) 

People' s Advocate and Lodi Banner, January 17, 1844, contains a 
report of a portion of the proceedings of the Board of Supervisors of 
Cattaraugus County, of which George A. S. Crooker was chairman. 
Among other things, wolf bounties to the amount of $85 were ordered 
paid. The tax for the town of Persia for that year is given at 
$911.04. 

March 2, 1844. — Esek B. Nash has been elected supervisor of the 
town of Persia, Amasa L. Chaffee, town clerk, and D. C. McMillen, 
justice. 

April 13th. — Announcement is made that this is the last issue of 
the Banner, and that the Messrs. Hough will, on the 13th of May 
next, commence the publication of the Springville Express, the resi- 
dents of that village having already procured 300 subscribers. 

Springville Express, September 14, 1844- 

Married, in Lodi, on the 10th inst. , by Rev. Mr. Skinner, Mr. 
Martin Potter to Mrs. Mary Starr, all of Lodi. 

At the same time, by the same, Mr. David Brown to Miss Caroline 
Roberts, daughter of Titus Roberts. 

July 6th. — Married, in Lodi, on Sunday afternoon last, by Z. 
Howe, Esq., Return P. Spencer to Miss Laura Camp, daughter of 
Asahel Camp, all of Lodi. 

August 3d. — Married, in Perrysburgh, August 1st, by Rev. C. D. 
Burlingham, Rev. William A. Cobb of the Oneida Annual Conference 
and Miss Harriet E. Goss of the former place. 

In Lodi, on Tuesday last, by Rev. J. P. Kent, Rev. Mr. Jones of 
Collins and Mrs. Charry Casson of Lodi. 

Western Democrat, January 26, 1848. 

Married, in this village, on the 23d inst., by Rev. Mr. Goodman, 
Mr. P. Leonard and Miss Clarinda Scribner, all of this place. In 



32 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 

Collins, by same minister, Ebenezer Goodman and Miss Margaret 
Henry of Collins. 

In Dayton, on the 20th inst., by Rev. Mr. Bowman, Mr. Josiah 
Benton of this village and Miss Harriet Near of the former place. 

March 1, 1848. — Announcement is made of the death of John Q. 
Adams. 

May 10th. — Howe & Torrance have formed a law co-partnership. 

The street which has been thrown open by Mr. Alfred Johnson is 
of great benefit to the village. There will be a number of buildings 
erected on Johnson Street this season. 

May 17th. — On Friday last Darwin Allen drowned in the Catta- 
raugus Creek, while crossing the same. 

Died, in this village, on the 8th inst., Hugh C. Hull, aged 22 
years. 

September 6th. — The last paper printed with the heading of Lodi. 
The Rev. Mr. John Bowman preached his farewell sermon at the 
Methodist Chapel on Sunday last. 

Gowanda Democrat, September 13, 1848, the first paper printed 
with the Gowanda heading, and in which the editor announces that 
he has changed the name of the paper to correspond with the new one 
chosen by the village. 

September 20th. — Died, in this village, on the 14th inst., Clara 
A., daughter of Thomas J. and Lavina Parker, aged 10 months. 

October 4th. — The Democrat carries at the head of its columns the 
names of Cass and Butler for president and vice-president, and 
announces that the paper will be sent until Cass is elected, for 12 
cents. 

(As Cass wasn't elected, how did the editor get out of his agree- 
ment ? ) 

October 18th. — Married, in this village, October 8th, Mr. Leroy 
Thompson and Miss Hannah Roller, both of Gowanda. 

October 25th. — We learn that the post-office in this village has 
been changed from "Persia," and that of "Gowanda" substituted. 
(J. B. Wilbor was postmaster at that time.) 

At the Congressional convention held at Randolph, on the 19th 
inst., Amasa L. Chaffee, Esq., of this village, was nominated for 
Congress. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 33 

The Gowanda Persian, December 6, 18J/.S. 

The editor acknowledges the receipt of the Pine Grove Banner 
and the Magnolia, papers in manuscript by the young gentlemen and 
ladies, respectively, of the Gowanda Union School. 

The Gowanda Whig, November 26, 1850. 

The office of this paper is over the store of E. W. Henry, east end 
of the bridge. 

Married, at Eden Valley, on the 21st inst., Azel Allen of Gowanda 
to Miss Laura Lord of the former place. 

December 11, 1850. — Married, in Collins, on Tuesday evening, 
by the Rev. Mr. Fuller, Mr. Lawrence Manzer and Miss Sarah W. 
Henry, daughter of William Henry. 

December 26th. — Our old friend Carl Averill has transferred his 
interest in the Mansion House to Mr. P. Pemberton, formerly of the 
Lodi House. 

Cattaraugus Chronicle, October 31, 1850, H. M. Morgan, publisher, 
vol. I., No. 1, contains the salutatory of the editor and the name of 
Horatio Seymour for governor. 

November 7th. — Married, in Collins, on the 6th inst., by Rev. 
Mr. McLellen, William H. Press of Persia and Miss Harriet A. 
Parsons of the former place. 

December 20th. — Married, in Otto, on the 18th inst., by S. C. 
Springer, Esq., Mr. George McMillen of Gowanda to Miss Eliza 
McMaster of Otto. 

December 27th. — Mr. P. Penderton is the new landlord at the 
Lodi Mansion House. 

January 3, 1851. — Married, at Collins, on the 1st inst., Mr. 
Leonard Bartlett and Miss Sally Lumbard. 

Died, in this village, December 31st, Abram Wright, aged 75. 

February 28th. — Hiram Palmer has been elected supervisor of the 
town of Persia. 

March 7th. — The newly elected trustees of the village are James 
Locke, Amasa L. Chaffee, Zimri Warner, Joseph H. Plumb and 
Titus Roberts. 

March 28th. — Mr. P. Harder succeeds P. Pemberton as landlord 
of the Mansion House. 



34 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 

April 4th. — Announcement is made of the death of Judge Ashbel 
H. Hurd, at the age of 35. 

April 18th. — The N. Y. & E. R. has been completed to Dunkirk. 
William Woodbury is the postmaster at Gowanda. 
Married, in Collins, on the 10th inst., John S. Bartlett and Mary 
B. Kelly. 

April 25th. — The first train on the Erie Road went through on 
Tuesday last, with the officers of the company. 

May 15th. — The opening of the Erie Road and the celebration at 
Dayton is announced ; also, the injury of Franklin Peacock and 
Ebenezer Henry. 

Died, in this village, at the residence of R. Plumb, on the 11th 
inst., Hon. Daniel G. Garnsey, aged 71. 

May 22d. — The death of Franklin Peacock, from injuries received 
at Dayton, is announced. 

May 29th. — Ebenezer Henry, one of the young men injured at 
Dayton, on the 15th inst., bids fair to recover. We understand a 
purse of some $300 was raised for his benefit and that of the deceased 
young Peacock, which was paid over by Mr. Marsh, treasurer of the 
N. Y. & E. R. R. Co. 

June 12th. — The editor says that Mr. Welch informs him that he 
will have the road to the Summit (Dayton) in a condition to be used 
in two or three weeks. 

June 26th. — The site of the Dayton post-office has been changed 
to the depot, and James Rice appointed postmaster. 

Wm. R. Smith, formerly of this place, has been appointed depot 
agent at Dayton. 

September 25th. — Died, in this village, last night, Joseph Davis, 
aged 24 years. 

October 9th. — The directors of the N. Y. cSc E. R. R. have pre- 
sented Ebenezer Atwater (given as Henry heretofore) with $250, out 
of sympathy for his injuries at the celebration at the Summit on the 
opening of the road. 

Died, in this village, on October 5th, Caroline R. H., wife of 
Joseph Plumb, in the 56th year of her age. 

Married, in Gowanda, October 4th, by Rev. Dr. Morgan, Julius 
A. Parsons and Louisa Wheeler of Villenovia. 




Residence of S. Clay Torrance, Chestnut Street. 





■^-^ -v - 






Union Block, Main Street. 

A. T. Johnson, Grocer. Miss M. E. Kellev, Millinery. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 35 

October 16th. — Married, in Collins, October 11th, John J. Gurn- 
sey of Leon and Eunice N., daughter of Joshua Palmerton of Collins. 

In addition to the railroad accommodations at Dayton and Perrys- 
burgh, it is announced that there are daily stage routes between 
Gowanda and Buffalo and Gowanda and Jamestown, and tri-weekly 
between Gowanda and the following places : Springville, Sardinia, 
Yorkshire, Arcade, Eagle, Pike, Nashville, Forestville and Fredonia. 

October 23d. — Ebenezer Atwater (Henry), who was so severely 
injured at Dayton, last summer, has recovered, but with the loss of 
both arms about four inches below the shoulder, and of one eye. 

Married, in this village, on the 21st inst., by Rev. Dr. Morgan, 
C. C. Torrance and Miss Mary Curtiss, all of this place. 

November 6th. — Married, in Villenovia, October 22d, Jason W. 
Storm of Pavilion, Genesee Co., N. Y. , and Miss Cynthia A. Cooley 
of the former place. 

November 20th. — Chester Howe of this village has been elected 
County Judge of Cattaraugus County. 

Married, in Boston, on the 11th inst., Chauncey M. Grannis of 
this village and Miss Mary J. Neal of Portland, Maine. 

January 22, 1852. — Mr. Harder has removed from the Mansion 
House, the same having been rented to the Hovey Brothers. 

March 11th. — Supervisors elected: Hiram Palmer, Persia, John 
B. Read, Dayton, and Mr. Kirkland, Perrysburgh. 

April 1st. — Died, in this village, on the 25th ult., Col. Benjamin 
Waterman, aged 70 years. 

Cattaraugus Chronicle, April 22, 1852. 

C. C. Torrance has been appointed attorney for the Seneca Nation 
of Indians in place of Chester Howe, resigned. 

June 5th. — Mention is made that the new block on the corner of 
East Main and Buffalo streets is nearly completed. R. Plumb & Son 
are the owners and J. G. VanOstrand, architect and builder. 

Seely Blackney has purchased and assumed the management of the 
Mansion House. 

June 12th. — Married, at Water Valley, on the 10th inst., Richard 
Clarke of this village and Miss Elizabeth Thomas of the former place. 



36 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF CO WAX PA, X. Y. 

June 19th. — Died, in Perrysburgh, on the 18th inst., Franklin 
Hammond, aged 49 years. 

June 26th. — Rev. L. S. Morgan assumes charge of the editorial 
department of the Chronicle. 

July 31st. — Died, in this village, on the 22d inst., Marshall Bun- 
day, aged 39 years His death was caused by injuries received while 
raising some buildings on the bank of the creek. 

August 21st. — Died, in Collins, on the 7th inst., Eunice N. , wife 
of John J. Guernsey of Leon, and daughter of Joshua Palmerton. 

In Buffalo, on the 14th inst., Daniel C. McMillen, aged 51 years, 
formerly of this village. 

September 4th. — Married, in Gowanda, on August 31st, by Thomas 
J. Parker, Esq., Niles Markham of Little Valley and Christiana Nash 
of Dayton. 

In Holly, N. Y., on August 19th, Mr. C. M. Plumb, formerly of 
this place, and Zilpha A. Robinson of Holly. 

Died, in this village, August 24th, Mrs. Lois Allen, relict of the 
late Luther Allen, aged 49 years. 

September 25th. — Married, in this village, on the 23d inst., by 
T. J. Parker, Esq., Elijah S. Pinney and Miss Mary Himes, all of 
this village. 

October 9th. — Married, in this village, on Thursday evening, 
James H. Armstrong, counselor-at-law, of Nashville, Tenn., and 
Esther, daughter of Hon. Dan Allen of this village. 

October 23d. — Announcement is made that the Chronicle will be 
suspended for possibly two weeks, while the publisher is moving into 
A. R. Sellevv's new block on Jamestown Street. 

At a recent school meeting Mr. E. W. Henry made a motion that 
the school house be opened for all moral lectures, and " also to allow 
a certain class of men called abolitionists, who are sometimes shut 
out of other places, the privilege of being heard within those classic 
walls." The editor rather sarcastically remarks that the people voted 
down the resolution, "and saved the school house from sacrilege! " 

Independent Chronicle, January 13, 1853. 

Thomas J. Parker of this village has been appointed colonel of a 
regiment of the N. Y. State Militia. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 37 

June 23d. — Died, in Gowanda, June 5th, Mrs. Electa Adams, 
mother of A. and H. Adams. 

August 18th. — Died, in this village, August 14th, Miss Chloe 
Daggett, aged 58 years. 

September 1st. — The depot at Dayton was burned last Monday 
evening, together with about 1,600 cords of wood. Total loss about 
$6,000. 

September 29th. — Died, in this town, on the 15th inst., Hon. 
Dan Allen, aged 73 years. 

November 10th. — Married, in North Collins, on October 20th, 
Joseph Conger of North Collins and Amanda M. Foster of Collins. 

February 9, 1854. — Married, in Collins, January 5th, L. B. 
Wickham and Miss H. M. Rice, both of Collins. 

March 9th. — James H. McMillen is the newly elected supervisor 
of Collins. 

The vote on supervisor in Persia was a tie. 

The newly elected village trustees are W. R. Webster, D. N. 
Brown, B. Davis, C. W. Grannis and C. S. Kimble. 

March 23d. — Died, at Dayton Summit, on Sabbath morning last, 
Mrs. Lois Howe, mother of Hon. C. Howe and Zimri Howe, aged 
79 years. 

May 11th. — P. T. Barnum's museum and menagerie is advertised 
to be at Gowanda, May 20th. 

June 1st. — Married, May 19th, by John R. Babcock, Esq., Mr. 
Thomas W. Jolls to Miss Harmony Allen, all of Persia. 

Gowanda Chronicle, June SO, 1855. 

L. N. Gardner, Esq., has furnished the editor some statistics of the 
census, from which it appears that the population of Gowanda is 858. 

Gowanda Phoenix, July SO, 1857. 

Contains a long account of the serious flood and the overflow of 
the Thatcher brook, which occurred on Thursday before. 

The New Yorker, November 2If, 1857 . 

V. A. Lord is the master-elect of Phoenix Lodge, No. 262, F. & 
A. M. 



38 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF COWANDA, N. V. 

Gowanda Reporter, December 17, 18-~>8. 

Married, in this village, on the L5th inst., by H. Palmer, Esq., 
Mr. Joseph Bump of Dayton and Miss Betsey Cole of Collins. 

January 7, 1859. — Harmon Kelly is the master elect of Phoenix 
Lodge, F. & A. M. 

January 21st. — J. P. Hubbard, Esq., of Dayton has been ap- 
pointed a keeper in the state prison at Auburn. 

Died, in this village, January 15th, Jerome B. Leonard, aged 24 
years. His death was caused by driving a sliver under the nail of 
one of his fingers to the second joint of the finger. 

February 14th. — Norman M. Allen was elected president of the 
Cattaraugus County Teachers' Association at Hinsdale, December 
30, 1858. 

March 18th. — Mr. Barker has become thoroughly installed in the 
Barker House. 

Married, in Dunkirk, February 23d, by Rev. Mr. Warren, Hosea 
S. Heath and Miss Pauline S. Wheeler, both of Collins. 

Married, on Wednesday morning last, by Rev. A. Cooper, Mr. 
Edward J. Foster and Miss Sophronia H., daughter of Daniel Steb- 
bins of Collins. 

April 1st. — Orlando Allen, E. S. Griswold and the Messrs. Black - 
ney are erecting new buildings on the site of the old Mansion House. 
The frontage will be 45 feet on Main Street and 93 feet on James- 
town Street. 

April 8th. — Married, in Perrysburgh, on Tuesday evening, April 
5th, by Rev. C. D. Brooks, George L. Vosburgh and Miss Eliza A. 
Campbell, both of Perrysburgh. 

May 20th. — Married, in this village, yesterday morning, the 19th 
inst., by Rev. A. Cooper, Wm. W. Henry of the Gowanda Reporter 
and Miss Amy A. Aldrich ; also, Mr. Minard Davis and Miss Ellen 
E. Hurd, all of Gowanda. 

June 10th. — Married, in Buffalo, on May 6th, Col. George S. 
Hickox of Gowanda and Mrs. S. A. Griffis of New York City. 

September 30th. — Married, September 25th, John Pratt and 
Celestia Darby, both of Persia. 

October 21st. — At Dayton, October 8th, by Esquire Shaw, Urbin 
Yaw and Miss Ellen Loonier, both of Dayton. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 39 

October 28th. — Married, in Olean, October lllth, John H. White 
and Miss Martha J. McMillen, both of Collins. 

November 18th. — In this village, Wednesday morning last, George 
W. Hanford and Miss Emily A. Kerr, all of this village. 

December 2d. — In Hanover, November 19th, Noel Hawkins of 
Persia and Miss Henrietta R. Brown of Hanover. 

December 9th. — Mention is made of the execution of John Brown 
at Harper's Ferry, Va. 

Henry S. Stebbins is the master elect of the Masonic lodge. 

Henry F. Allen of this village was admitted to the bar in Buffalo 
last week. 

December 16th. — Contains a long letter from Rev. B. T. Roberts, 
as to the differences which had arisen in the M. E. Church. 

December 23d. — Died, in this village, on Wednesday morning 
last, Elizabeth C, wife of Alanson Barlow, aged 44 years. 

January 6, 1860. — Mentions the formation of a law partnership 
between Hon. Wm. Woodbury, county judge elect, and Henry F. 
Allen. 

February 17th. — Contains a notice from the Cattaraugus Freeman 
of Ellicottville, complimenting the Hon. Wm. Woodbury, the new 
county judge. 

Married, in this village, on the 14th inst., George Slotzer and 
Emma M. Staats, all of this village. 

February 24th. — Died, in Buffalo, the 15th inst., Clarissa Cornelia 
Morgan, wife of Rev. Dr. L. S. Morgan, aged 50 years. 

March 23d. — Married, on the 19th inst., A. Albert Jolls of Go- 
wanda and Miss Anna Louise Carpenter of Collins. 

April 20th. — Died, in this village, on the 16th inst., John Pierce, 
aged 68. 

May 18th. — Married, in this village, on the 13th inst., Isaac C. 
Banton and Louisa A. Hitchcock, both of Gowanda. 

June 29th. — Married, in Perrysburgh, on June 20th, Frank Camp- 
bell and Carrie M. Vosburgh, both of Perrysburgh. 

July 6th. — Married, in this village, on Thursday afternoon last, by 
Rev. Mr. Lord, William W. Welch and Miss Fannie Swift, all of 
Gowanda. 



40 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

August 3d. — Mentions the burning of the tannery of Weiser & 
Gaensslen, on the Wednesday night before. Loss, about 60,000. 

November 23d. — Married, in Perrysburgh, on the 11th inst., 
Harmon Hurd and Mary J. Whitcomb, both of Perrysburgh. 

February 16, 1861. — The wife and child of Frederick Miller of 
Hidi were swept away by the high water in the Cattaraugus, last 
Monday night, and both drowned ; their bodies were recovered some 
distance below. 

March 1, 1861. — Married, April 29th, at the Barker House in this 
village, Chas. W. Woodruff of New York and Miss Lorenza Bement 
of Gowanda. 

April 5th. — Charles Henry has been appointed postmaster at' 
Gowanda. 

April 19th. — Seven columns of war news appear. Sumter has 
been fired on and the whole North is on fire. 

Married, April 14th, Henry F. Allen and Miss Lucy E. Woodbury. 

April 26th. — Capt. Rugg, of Co. A, Gowanda, calls for volunteers. 

Col. Parker has telegraphed Maj.-Gen. Randall at Buffalo he can 
furnish 400 men on two days' notice. (The editor is a war Demo- 
crat of the most pronounced and enthusiastic type. ) 

May 12th. — The corner stone of the Free Methodist Church was 
laid May 7th, Rev. Benj. T. Roberts presiding. 

The Scott life guards are being formed of men between 45 and 70. 

August 23d. — Col. Parker's regiment has been accepted by the 
war department. 

Surgeon G. W. Barr has opened a recruiting office in Barker's 
Block. 

August 30th. — Married, Albert C. Taft of Gowanda and Miss 
Maria I. Brown of Conewango ; Frank G. Stebbins of Gowanda and 
Miss Mary M. Holmes of Bradford, Pa. 

September 13th. — E. L. Harris, E. A. Nash and Frank Campbell 
are enlisting men for the Ellsworth Regiment. 

September 20th. — Contains the valedictory of Wm. W. Henry, one 
of the editors of The Reporter, who has enlisted in the army. 

Also contains an account of the presentation of a flag by Miss 
Hattie Davis (now Mrs. S. H. Arnold), on behalf of the ladies of 




Residence of A. C. Stafford, Jamestown Street. 



»*l 


«M^^ : - •'• 


'&SS[ 




JffJTTT. .!;. 


^tP^S3 


&%F3»S*3 


v 


'**■ v 




v" J 


EjSaR: .,gL| 


fire? 


'■"'■: •'. 


— j^i^ 1 ?* „- ■ 


>^s?l\^B^:-- ~~ — ^i£«'«ii 


f 


* • s»< " -v 






'^^sl 




"•*," • ,.* 


^.^v^S^ 


SP' >A±?* 




-'•'\ . 


yrv'.. 




.-.;' £ 






" -.%| 






• i 


!?'• ■ w 


•i; 


1! 






4 - ij 




n£.*- - ' 


' ' '-,-' "■ ■ 




fe4i 






»<£.-■ ' "■••" **■■ 




:. > 




& 




:' 


f "t 


?€- 


ft ■ 






.,4 


.^M 


^0^^^Wm 








**^fe,- 


* \ m 


^"•' , » \ -jj 


^§ 




By up ■■ ' ^H 




;".'-* **. 










■* 




^-r^^^^-fejajE: 


| 






■ V«p^l-J 




ill 


-. *. — . 


T 
i 


jyfcU' -.ji-SSS 




^ 1 




j - 


•/i 1 


J. g 


r 


' .' JCS 


p 1 j 


J 


j - 1 


9*2 


i 


a £*£ 


Cii--- 


■at -■■jag < 

i 


9 


B& 


















^S 



Residence ani< Office of Dr. A. D. Lake, Jamestown Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, X. Y. 41 

Gowanda, to Co. A, 64th Regiment, on the eve of its departure for 
the seat of war. 

A more complete account of this interesting occasion appears in 
the war article in this book. 

September 27th. — Died, September 14th, Barbara Allen Stuart, 
wife of Wm. H. Stuart, aged 39 years. 

October 11th. — Rain has carried off the temporary bridge and 
ferry boats are again in use. 

The following recruits have gone to Elmira : Hiram F. Henry, 
Warren Briggs, Oscar Mclntyre, Frank G. Palmer, W. W. Henry, 
J. Mattoon, J. B. Albro, E. E. Eno, Jerome Tolls, John Wells, 
Oscar Grantier, R. R. Flower, Hudson Ansley, Surgeon Barr, Chas. 
Roffey, Refine Wood, Hamilton Stacy and Foster Ross. 

November 13th. — For the third time within a few weeks the 
bridge has been swept away. Monroe Whitcomb, John Woodward 
and two Indians, while crossing the creek in a boat, were capsized, 
the boat shattered, and Woodward killed by striking his head against 
a pile. 

November 20th. — Married, Joseph Savage of Gowanda and Miss 
M. E. Wadsworth of Madison, O.; Wm. F. Munger and Rachael 
Sisson of Collins. 

December 18th. — Col. Parker has been promoted to brigadier- 
general. 

December 25th. — Married, E. S. Griswold of Gowanda and Miss 
Rebecca Rollinson of Bloomfield, N. J. 

January 1, 1862.— Married, December 26, 1861, by Rev. W. D. 
Buck, Silas H. Arnold of Aurora and Miss Hattie Davis of this village. 

Married, December 31st, by Rev. D. Buck, Mr. George Dailey of 
Gowanda and Miss Rachael Bastedo of Collins. 

January 7th. — William H. Stuart of this village has been appointed 
one of the deputy collectors by Collector Smith. 

Married, on Christmas Day, by Rev. H. M. Rice, Harvey Foster 
of Otto and Emily Newcomb of Dayton. 

William Cooper, Jr., of Perrysburgh has been re-appointed deputy 
sheriff by Sheriff McLane. 



42 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

January 28th. — Smith Stocker advertises the Gowanda Express be- 
tween here and Evans Center on the B. & S. L. R. R. Fare, 75 
cents each way. 

J. M. Whitcomb advertises that the Gowanda and Dayton express 
will leave the Barker House for Dayton. Fare, 25 cents each way. 

Simon Pelton runs the Perrysburgh and Gowanda express, and will 
furnish conveyances for Versailles, Nashville, Slab City and other 
points desired. 

February 5th. — A war meeting will be held in the M. E. Church, 
Thursday evening, February 6th. D. P. Russell, recruiting officer, 
and others will address the meeting ; any one wishing to enlist will 
have an opportunity. 

Resolutions of respect are published on the death of Waldron 1).' 
Cooper. 

February 26th. — Sergeant W. W. Roller, recruiting officer, adver- 
tises for a few able-bodied men for Col. T. J. Parker's 64th Regi- 
ment. Pay from $13 to $21 per month and a bounty of $100 in gold. 

Announcement of the dedication of the Free Methodist Church, in 
the village of (iowanda, on Thursday, March 13, 1862. Rev. B. I. 
Ives of Auburn will preach the dedication sermon. 

In the Gowanda market kerosene oil is quoted at 50 cents per gal. 

March 12th. — The newly elected trustees of the village are Har- 
mon Kelly, Alanson Barlow, S. C. Warner, Chas. W. Barr and Ed- 
win H. Hitchcock. 

April 16th. — Died, in the hospital, at Fairfax Court House, on the 
loth inst., Alfred Shippey of Gowanda, a sergeant in Company A, 
(>4th Regiment, aged 32. 

May 14th. — Announces the report from a creditable source that 
Richmond is taken, with 30,000 prisoners, without any fighting. 
(Evidently premature. ) 

Charley Barker will give a dance at the Barker House, July 4th, to 
celebrate the end of the war. 

Thanks are extended to Postmaster Henry for his courtesy in fur- 
nishing a Buffalo evening paper for some one to read to the crowd 
while the mails are being distributed. 

May 14th. — Died, in Forestville, May 2d, Mrs. Hannah Barnard 
(mother of Mrs. William Woodbury), aged 72 years. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 43 

May 21st. — Died, in Perrysburgh, on the 16th, Maryette, daughter 
of Nathaniel W. and Huldah Hurd, aged 24. 

Frank Sisson was killed at the battle of Williamsburgh, on the 6th, 
by being shot through the heart and left arm. 

The funeral of Alfred Shippey is announced ; also the death of 
James E. Henry, son of Postmaster Henry, of fever, on May 4th, his 
being the eighth death in the Gowanda Co. 

May 28th. — The post-office has been moved to No. 2 Water Street, 
Welch's Block. 

Announcement of the death of Capt. Fancher of Leon, of Co. K, 
and of Merrit Tripp of Co. A. 

Died, of consumption, on the 23d, Jane Achres, wife of Abner 
Slocum, aged 39. 

June 11th. — Report of the battle of Fair Oaks says Col. Parker's 
horse was shot twice ; Harrison Clark and G. Palmer of Collins were 
killed. 

Wounded : W. W. Roller, Albert and Henry Darby, Daniel 
Allen, Eben Burke of Gowanda ; Ira Stewart and D. W. Lafferty of 
Dayton; G. T. Tyrer of Collins; Chas. Matoon and Wellington 
Hugaboon of Perrysburgh. 

The abutments for the new bridge are in process of construction and 
the timber work well advanced. 

July 16th. — A little son of David Doty was drowned at Versailles 
last week. 

Married, on the 10th inst., William Hardenburg of Smith's Mills 
and Mary White of Gowanda. 

July 23d. — D. D. Parker of Versailles is sending ripe tomatoes to 
Buffalo, which he sells at $5 per bushel. 

Miss Carrie A. Bassett has graduated from the State Normal School. 

Married, at Mansfield, Stephen A. Sisson of Collins and Miss 
Irene G. Wilson. 

August 13th. — Report of a war meeting held in this village, at which 
$630 was subscribed for those who enlisted. While the subscriptions 
were coming in, Dr. C. C. Rugg came forward and signed the enlist- 
ment roll ; he was followed by A. D. Parke of Dayton, and Chas. 
Blackney and Orlando White, lads of this village. 

Yesterday afternoon the Perrysburgh, Dayton and Persia boys 
of this company district left Perrysburgh depot for Jamestown, 



44 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, X. Y. 

to the number of thirty ; a table was spread in their honor at the 
depot. 

The names of the volunteers from Dayton were : Giles Johnson, 
Emory Vosburgh, George E. Real, A. Park, C. W. Hall, A. C. 
Merrill, Philo Markham, David Matteson and L. W. Metzker ; from 
Perrysburgh, J. B. Brown, L. L. Hunt, Henry Randall, Jonas Staf- 
ford, John Grow, I. Kelley, B. R. Harvey, James Dallas, T. R. 
Aldrich, Silas W. Bunce and D. W. Hines. 

Lieut. -Col. D. G. Bingham has been promoted to colonel in place 
of T. J. Parker, resigned. 

Died, in Patterson Park Hospital, Baltimore, August 5th, William 
H., son of H. and R. S. Hathaway of Collins, aged 21 years and 10 
months. He was a member of Co. B, 10th N. Y. V. C. Hjs 
remains were brought home by his brother, not without difficulty. 

August 27th. — A war meeting in Gowanda Friday evening. Hurrah 
for a rouser, and let " Little Persia " show her teeth. 

The Gowanda Union School will open a week from next Monday. 
The trustees have engaged Prof. Powers for principal. 

The militia of the towns of Persia, Perrysburgh, Dayton, Leon and 
New Albion are ordered to meet at Cattaraugus next Monday armed 
and equipped. 

Mention is made of the circus and menagerie here next Saturday, 
and that Charley Emory, a connoisseur, declares that the exhibition 
will be worth double the cost. 

Speaks of a rumor that Cattaraugus County is to have a regiment 
of its own. 

A war meeting was held at Snyder school house Friday evening, 
and was well attended. Col. Hickox, W. H. Stuart and F. D. 
Locke spoke. 

Similar meetings are arranged for Rugg Settlement, Markham's 
Corners and Versailles. "What is done must be done qurckly. 
One more week and at 9 o'clock in the morning the hammer falls 
and ghosts will appear." 

September 3d. — The quotas for the last two calls for troops are as 
follows : Persia, 40 ; Perrysburgh, 55 ; Dayton, 40 ; Otto, 35 ; and 
Leon, 44. Dayton has sent her forty men, and three or four more ; 
the whole town is awake, and money pours forth freely. One man, 
who leaves a large family, receives $43 per month while he is gone, 
in addition to the bounty. Thomas Newcomb alone becomes liable, 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO IV. I .YD. I, X. Y. 45 

if the men are required in the service the three years, to pay $1,332, 
having promised two men he induced to volunteer $12 per month 
and a third $14. 

A war meeting was held at Welch's Hall Friday evening last, Hon. 
Frank Philbrick, chairman. Speeches made by Col. Hickox, Rev. 
C. B. Lord, Judge Woodbury, and others. Another meeting held 
Thursday evening, Stiles A. Torrance in the chair. 

Died, August 28th, Laura J., daughter of Porter and Eveline 
Welch, aged 24. 

September 17th. — An item is taken from the Chicago Tribune an- 
nouncing the death of Marcus Webster, killed by falling between the 
cars. 

September 24th. — Dr. C. C. Rugg, in a card, announces his call to 
the army, and recommends Dr. Johnson, his former student and 
partner. 

October 1st. — The ReporterXzdxxvo from the Jamestown Journal that 
the 154th Regiment is officered and ready to start. A. G. Rice of 
Ellicottville is colonel, Dr. C. C. Rugg of Gowanda, assistant sur- 
geon ; N. A. Chaffee of Gowanda, quartermaster-sergeant ; Orville 
Bishop of Gowanda, drum major, and Henry Hugaboon of Perrys- 
burgh, captain of Co. K. 

The bridge which takes the place of the one washed away a year ago 
is completed ; the temporary bridge has been washed away seven times. 
The new bridge was put up by E. P. and G. W. Dailey, contractors. 

Died, in Persia, Mrs. Lucy Press, aged 69 years. 

October 8th. — The funeral of Henry T. VanVlack of Versailles, 
killed in the battle of Sharpsburg, took place yesterday. 

The Union block is nearly completed ; it is covered with tin ; cost 
$12 per square of ten feet. 

C. C. Torrance of this village has been nominated for district 
attorney of Erie County. 

October 22d. — A draft has been ordered for November 10th. 
Wm. Woodbury is the commissioner to superintend the same in 
Cattaraugus County. 

Judge Woodbury gives notice that he will hear claims for exemp- 
tions from the towns of Perrysburgh, Dayton, Leon, New Albion, 
Otto and Persia at the Barker House, November 3d and 4th. 

Died, at Craney Island Hospital, Va. , on the 6th inst., Henry C. 
Young of this village, and corporal of Co. A, 64th Regiment, aged 26. 



4<"> HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 

October 29th. — The draft has again been postponed. Commis- 
sioner Woodbury examined 460 applicants at Gowanda in two days. 

December 17th. — The editor learns that W. W. Henry, late pub- 
lisher of the Reporter, has been promoted to a second lieutenancy. 

January 6, 1863. — Win. Wood in of Otto, son of Homer Woodin 
of Perrysburgh, died suddenly of heart disease, January 2d, aged 34 
years. 

Married, December 20th, by Rev. W. H. Rice, S. M. Stuart, Jr., 
and Miss Amanda A. Popple, both of this village. 

January 13th. — Wm. H. Stuart has been appointed librarian to the 
Senate. 

January 21st. — The editor is informed that W. W. Henry has been 
promoted to a captaincy and that Albert Darby is acting colonel of 
the 64th. 

January 27th. — Died, in this village, on the 27th inst., Deacon 
Warren Webster, aged 68 years. 

March 4th. — Lieut. Darbey has been promoted to captain, and 
Sergeants Chace and Roller are lieutenants. 

Town officers who give bonds are required to put a 50-cent stamp 
on their oaths of office. 

The electors of the village vote a tax of $175 to put crosswalks on 
the bridge, and elect the following trustees: A. J. Stiles, A. W. 
Popple, Chas. S. Kimble, Ira W. Ansley and U. S. Webb. 

April 1st. — The editor announces that Odd Fellows' Block has 
been sold to W. F. Vosburgh, and that the Reporter will be moved to 
the brick building and ball alley on Main Street. 

April 22d. — The body of Frank Sisson, who was killed at 'Wil- 
liamsburg, arrived here last week, and was buried in West Hill 
Cemetery. 

Died, in this village, on the 22d inst., David Hill, aged 7(5. 

April 29th. — Dr. Oeorge Salmon, surgeon dentist, has located 
here. 

May 0th. — In raising J. Seitz's store last Friday it fell, injuring 
several persons. 




Methodist Episcopal Church, Chapel Street. 




Presbyterian Church, Ham Main Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, N. Y. 47 

May 13th. — Hudson Ansley of this village and M. M. Burnham of 
Jamestown have been admitted to the bar. 

Died, in Baton Rouge, La., on the 4th inst., of typhoid fever, 
Marshall Bickford, of Co. F, 116th Regiment, aged 19. 

June 10th. — Died, at Baton Rouge, La., of typhoid fever, May 10th, 
Frank B. Stuart of this village, of Co. F, 116th Regiment, N. Y. S. V. 

July 15, 1863. — Contains a report of some of the casualties of the 
Battle of Gettysburg to men from this vicinity. The report says : 
Of the 154th but forty remain ; the majority of the rest are supposed 
to be prisoners. 

Dr. C. C. Rugg is among the missing, Ralph Howe and J. K. 
Palmer were taken prisoners, but Howe escaped. The 64th went 
into the battle with over 200 men and afterwards could account for 
only eighty-five. Capt. Fuller, Lieuts. Babcock and Lewis were 
killed, also Clayton A. Gardner. 

E. T. McCutcheon, J. A. Darby, G. W. VanVlack, Benj. H. 
Smith, Peter Boardway and Andrew Reggies were wounded ; 
Corporals Henry H. Darby and Emmet W. Prosser were reported 
missing. 

July 22d. — Capt. Darby went to Washington last week and is soon 
expected back with the body of Clayton Gardner. 

William Padget, while at Lancaster, Pa., recently, was arrested as 
a spy ; it was a case of mistaken identity and William was soon 
released. 

Frank G. Stebbins, of The Cuba Patriot, invested in the " U. S. 
C." Lottery and drew the " prize." But here is his story : " Hav- 
ing received a polite invitation from the Provost Marshal of this 
district to attend a little select party which is to come off somewhere 
down South, we this week take leave of the "True Patriot" for a 
longer or shorter period, as God wills it. In other words, we have 
been drafted into the United States service and ' we are coming, 
Father Abraham,' ninety-seven pounds strong. We have only time 
to state that we do not grumble because we have been struck ; not a 
bit of it ! The draft is a bully thing ! Let it go on ! " 

Married, on Wednesday, June 24th, at the Nolton House, DeWitt, 
la., Emmet C. Hill, Hospital Steward, 117th Regiment, Illinois 
Volunteers, and Clara J., daughter of Dr. G. C. DeLamater of 
( yowanda. 

Wm. H. Stuart has also " been and gone and done it." He has 



48 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAX/). I, X. V. 

just returned from a fortnight's trip to the West, " the picture of peace 
and perfect bliss. ' ' 

July 29th. — Sergt. Frank. Campbell of the 44th is one of the de- 
tailed officers to take charge of conscripts at Elmira. 

The funeral of Clayton Gardner was held here last Sunday. 

August 5th. — Capt. Albert Darby has resigned. He still carries in 
his leg the rebel ball received at Chancellorsville. 

We see by the Cuba Patriot that Editor Stebbins could not pass, 
notwithstanding his "ninety-seven pounds strong." 

Died, in Perrysburgh, July 31, of consumption, Frank Heman 
Chadwick, aged 25. He was buried under the Masonic ritual. 

August 12th. — The draft in Erie County closed Saturday ; con- 
tains a list of those drafted from Collins. From the second district 
are the following : John Wing, Henry Hitchcock, Perry Wilcox, 
Daniel F. Lindsey, Reuben Remington, A. J. Holcomb, W. H. 
Hanson, Peter Rink, Hiram Lindsley, S. C. Warner, A. Croup, 
I. H. Russell, R. Killinger, Chas. Haines, John C. Robbins, Syl- 
vanus B. Lindsley, Albert P. Southwick, Joseph A. Etsler, Andrew 
Snyder, Joseph Taylor, Win. Willicks, Isaac A. Wells, Charles 
Trunk, Wellington Jolls, John Haines, Smith Bartlett, Jared Farn- 
han, Geo. F. Smith, Henry Kerr, Charles Robinson, Frank S. Smith. 
Among those drafted in Buffalo were William Gurney and Chas. 
Woodruff. 

Married, on the 5th inst., Abner Slocum of this village to Mrs. 
Eliza Olin of Boston, Erie Co., N. Y. 

August 19th. — The draft is in progress at Dunkirk and resulted in 
this vicinity as follows : 

Persia, 44 drawn : Henry Miller, Christ Halswort, James P. 
Welch, Seneca Brown, Frank E. Blackney, A. E. Hall, Arnold 
Burdick, Wm. Rice, Lyman R. Floyd, Harvey Brooks, Peter Hustan, 
E. O. Press, L. D. Langmade, J. S. Herdeg, Lyman F. Stevens, 
Peter Comstock, Porter Milholland, Minard Davis, Franklin Burdick, 
Thos. Dermont, Richard Brown, Roswel R. Pierce, John L. Butzer, 
Hubert H. Merrill, James A. Griswold, Stephen Bennett, G. W. 
Howard, John O' Conner, Wm. Boyden, Willard Slocum, James 
Like, Victor A. Howe, Daniel Broderick, Wm. W. Welch, Alfred 
H. Averill, M. F. Crandall, John Maudly, J. M. Whitcomb, Luther 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 49 

Wells, Mathias Giering, James Rich, Francis Smith, Wm. Rich and 
Christ Johnson. 

Perrysburgh, 42 drawn : David Dye, F. M. Taylor, Walter 
Palmer, Nicholas Hutchinson, Ezra Cooper, Lewis Blasdell, Martin 
Toucey, Wm. Ticknor, Myron Cook, James Marvin, Michael Crane, 
Zenas Willis, Henry Farnsworth, R. M. Gould, Fletcher Hurd, 
John Ticknor, Edward H. Parker, R. B. Dawley, James B. Knowl- 
ton, Frank Wells, Jas. Grander, John Leepoet, Lester Hurd, Leander 
Hurd, Peter Waltozler, Frederick Johnson, Weston Wright, Wm. 
Ells, Oscar Whipple, Geo. Newton, Jos. Eaton, A. H. Clark, Geo. 
Ticknor, Orlando Ostrander, Frank H. Chadwick, Chas. Howard, 
S. L. Titus, Geo. Allen, J. M. Southworth, Henry Beverly and 
Stephen Joeffrey. 

Dayton, 29 drawn : Wm. B. Smith, Peter Speier, James E. Bar- 
ker, Peter Bartley, Wm. Perry, Samuel B. Covey, L. Ranlett, E. C. 
Bartlett, Benj. Shears, Wm. W. Newcomb, John Locke, John Press, 
John Speier, Jos. Kramer, Jerome Jolls, Gerrit Remington, Oscar 
English, Mordicai Matteson, Refine Wood, Oliver Stafford, Chas. 
Wellman, Norman M. Allen, Washington Milks, Michael Frank, 
Wm. Near, Aaron Hulett, Chas. Dressel, Henry T. Rice and Ripley 
Bentley. 

David F. Moody of Fredonia, a former editor of the Reporter, was 
also among the list of drafted. 

August 26th. — The Gowanda and Dayton stage route has passed 
from the hands of J. M. Whitcomb to Richard Blasdell. 

September 9th. — Last Saturday afternoon, Plumb & Son's team 
was returning from Perrysburgh with a heavy load of grain, and 
while on the gulf bridge, \]{ miles west of this village, it gave way, 
throwing team, wagon and contents 40 feet into the gulf below. 
Mr. Beverly, the driver, was behind the team and escaped. 

September 23d. — Died, in this village, September 18th, of con- 
sumption, Mrs. Mary Cass, aged 18. 

In Persia, on the 11th inst., Samuel R. Redfield, aged 81. 

October 7th. — Died, in Collins, October 1st, of typhoid fever, 
Wm. Munger, son of S. T. Munger, aged 25. 

In this village, on the 7th inst., Leander Badger, aged 54. 

December 9th. — A cheese factory, the first in this section, is being 
built a few miles northeast of this village. The enterprise is in the 



50 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 

hands of Geo. Sisson, James Wilber, Enoch Taylor 2d, and Ansel 
Conger. 

December 30th. — Charley Barker has purchased the Dayton stage 
route and the Blasdell House. 

Married, in this village, on the 24th inst., by Rev. N. H. Rice, 
Charles W. Blackney and Miss Alice E. Stuart, all of Gowanda. 

March 2, 1864. — Married, at the residence of the bride's father, 
in Perrysburgh, on February 17th, Frank Dygert of Springville and 
Miss Rachael VVoodin. 

March 9th. — The newly elected village trustees are Wm. Peacock, 
J. Van Ostrand, O. Allen, Hudson Ansley and W. D. Beach. 

Died, on the 8th inst., Mrs. Sophia A., wife of Jeremiah Jolls, 
aged 45. 

March 16th. — We learn that Henry Morgan, formerly of this place, 
and for several years the publisher of the Cattaraugus Chronicle, died 
last week in Chicago. His office and dwelling were both burned in 
the great fire of 1856. 

March 23d. — Died, in this village, on the 21st, Wm. P. Webster, 
aged 29. 

April 6th. — In the New York market butter is 48c. and 50c, and 
cheese 16c. and 19c. 

Died, near Brownsville, Miss., March 1st, George Pierson of Co. 
K, 32d Iowa Vols., only son of Wm. R. Pierson of Collins, aged 31. 

April 13th. — Hudson Ansley has removed to Salamanca to prac- 
tice law. 

Died, in Buffalo, April 8th, Flora Lillian, daughter of Charles and 
Lorenza Woodruff, aged 5 months. 

June 1st. — Died, in Persia, May 29th, Ahaz Allen, one of the 
pioneers of this locality, aged 82. 

June 15th. — Married, in North Collins, June 8th, Heman M. 
Blasdell and Miss Lusannah Sherman. 

A circus is advertised in Gowanda under the management of Mrs. 
Dan Rice. 

Died, in this village, the 10th inst., Nehemiah Rice, aged 82. 

Died, in this village, the 12th inst., Hosea Stuart, aged 52. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, X. Y. 51 

July 13th. — Fuller & Benton, the publishers of the Reporter, 
announce that with the issue of July 20th, they will close their office 
and collect their dues. 

July 20th. — C. E. Benton retires from the Reporter and F. J. Ful- 
ler, the remaining partner, announces that, "How soon the paper 
will appear again, depends on settlement of past accounts." 

The festival for the Gowanda Ladies' Aid Society netted $204.95. 

August 17th. — After an interval of three weeks, the Reporter again 
appears, with F. J. Fuller as editor and proprietor. 

The Union House has been sold to Henry Pinney of Dayton, and 
C. B. Barker expects to go back into the Barker House next month. 

September 21st. — The Gowanda McClellan Club has been formed, 
with F. A. Newell, president, Geo. S. Hickox, vice-president, and 
F. J. Fuller, secretary. 

Married, in Dayton, on the 10th inst., C. E. Benton of Gowanda 
and Misia M. Wells of Dayton. 

Gowanda Weekly Bulletin, August 5, 1865, J. H. Melvin, Editor. 

Mr. Rink is building a fine three-story building on Buffalo Street, 
near the foundry. 

The Cattaraugus county seat has been located by commissioners at 
Little Valley. 

October 7, 1865. — Died, in this village, on the 1st inst., William 
Morris, aged 37. On the 3d inst., Mrs. John Jolls, aged 41. 

October 14th. — The post-office has been removed to the building 
formerly occupied by J. Stamm's clothing store, on Jamestown Street. 

Died, in this village, on the 10th inst., Sumner C. Warner, aged 31. 

On the 12th inst., Helen Morris, aged 12. On the 13th, Mrs. 
W. W. Southwick, aged 68. On the 7th, Idela, daughter of Henry 
and Mary Pinney, aged 1 Y / 2 years. 

November 11th. — Died, in this village, on the 7th inst., Cynthia, 
wife of Aaron Benson, aged 76. 

December 2d. — Died, at the residence of her father, November 
19th, Rachael, wife of Frank Daggett, and daughter of Homer 
Woodin, aged 25. Died, November 18th, Maro Blackney, aged 14. 

January 20, 1866. — Died, in Dayton, January 2d, Col. Ralph 
Johnson, aged 68. 



52 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 

Gowanda Gazette, June 1, 1867, contains the prospectus of John 
S. Fidler, the publisher. 

June 8th. — The boiler in the cheese factory of Porter Welch, at 
Dayton, exploded on Thursday, severely injuring Mr. Lemuel Hall. 

March 3, 1872. — Supervisors elected: A. F. Bennett, Persia; 
F. E. DeWolf, Perrysburgh ; and N. M. Allen, Dayton. 

Died, in Perrysburgh, on February 28th, John Vosburgh, aged 73 
years. 

March 9th. — Married, on the 4th inst., at Gowanda, by Rev. 
W. D. Buck, Mr. C. B. Grannis and Miss Amanda Blinn, all of 
Gowanda. 

On the 7th inst., by Rev. S. Cowles, at the residence of David 
Brown, Orlando L. Ballou of Tarr Farm, Pa., and Miss Louisa M. 
Feigel of Gowanda. 

At the home of the bride, in Goncord, March 4th, by Rev. H. 
Butlin, Julius Perrin of Gowanda to Miss Helen Newcomb. 

March 16th. — Married, on March 4th, by Rev. C. Strong, G. 
Frank Sisson to Miss Clara S. Healy, both of Collins. 

Died, in Gowanda, March 10th, Joseph Seitz, aged 48 years. 

March 30th. — Died, in this village, March 24th, Mrs. Anna Mary 
Fisk, aged 66 years, widow of Rev. Henry Fisk, and sister of the late 
Joseph and Ralph Plumb. 

April 6th. — Died, on the Cattaraugus Reservation, March 30th, 
Peter Wilson, M. D., aged 57. 

The agitation for the railroad is getting quite marked. 

April 13th. — Henry A. Dow of Little Valley has bought the Bar- 
ker House for $13,500, and is to take possession on the first day of 
May next. 

Died, in Gowanda, on April 4th, Smith Stocker, aged 41). 

May 11, 1872. — A subscription paper for bonding the town in aid 
of the railroad is in circulation. 

May 18th.— Died, in Illinois Grove, la., May 5th, E. M. Burke, 
formerly of this village, aged 66 years. 

June 15th. — W. S. Thrasher of Dayton was admitted to the bar at 
Buffalo last week. 

Died, in Perrysburgh, on June 7th, George Ferris, aged 39 years. 




Residence of B. L. Kimble, Chapel Street. 




Residence of George B. Taylor, Jamestown Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 53 

July 6th. — Died, in this village, on June 28th, Ann, wife of Benj. 
Spillman, aged 29 years. 

July 20th. — Mr. Frank Winnie is to be the new principal of the 
Gowanda Union School. 

Died, in Persia, July 16th, Noel Hawkins, aged 79 years. 

August 10th. — Mention is made of the fact that the contract for 
building the Buffalo & Jamestown Railroad has been let to Russell & 
Moulton of Grand Rapids, Mich., as is claimed, for $33,000 per mile. 

August 31st. — Married, in the M. E. Church of Gowanda, on the 
26th inst., by Rev. W. D. Buck, Charles A. Fleming of Dunkirk 
and Miss Laura A. Springer of Gowanda ; also, at the same time and 
place, Norman B. Allen of Persia to Miss Ella A. Springer of 
Gowanda. 

Died, in this village, August 27th, James Locke, aged 70 years. 

September 21st. — Died, in this village, on September 15th, Wil- 
liam R. Pierson, aged 78 years. 

September 28th. — Married, at the M. E. parsonage, on September 
11th, by Rev. W. D. Buck, George Lanxon to Miss Luzette Blackney. 

October 12th. — Died, in this village, October 6th, Mrs. Sarah 
Jane Barker, aged 56. 

November 23, 1872. — Died, at his home in Dayton, on Tuesday 
of this week, Henry Brand. 

Died, in this village, on November 15th, Elisha W. Henry, aged 63. 

Nearly a column is devoted to the burning of the woolen mill of 
A. F. Conger. 

November 30th. — On Sunday, November 24th, the M. E. Church 
at Slab City was dedicated by Dr. I. C. Pershing ; Dr. D. H. Snow- 
den is the pastor. 

December 7th. — G. M. Rider of Ellicottville has formed a law 
partnership with C. C. Torrance of this village. 

December 14th. — Married, at the residence of Fred B. Moore, by 
Rev. T. Roberts, on December 11th, George H. Brown and Miss 
Kate L. Brown. 

December 21st. — Contains a notice of the death of Gile Johnson 
of Dayton ; also, the obituary of George W. Hanford, who died in 
California, on December 14th, at the age of 38 years. 



54 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. )'. 

December 28th. — Died, at Point Peter, December 20th, Styles A. 
Torrance, aged 04 years. 

January 25, 1873. — Married, at Eden, N. Y., January 3, 1873, 
Asher Stafford to Miss Matilda Federspiel, both of this village. 

February loth. — Contains the obituaries of Samuel C. Springer 
and of Mrs. Caroline Little. 

March 1st. — C. W. Blackney is the newly elected supervisor of 
Persia. 

March 29th. — Mention is made of the fact that Mr. and Mrs. 
Silas Vinton celebrated their silver wedding, at Cherry Creek, on the 

7th. 

April 5th. — Died, in this village, on March 29th, Frances W.7 
wife of Rev. S. Cowles, aged 63 years. 

April 26th. — Died, at Tideoute, Pa., April 19th, Simeon Leonard, 
aged 87. 

June 28th. — Died, in this village, June 25th, Hosea Stuart, aged 
78 years. 

Married, in Otto, at the residence of the bride's father, June 29th, 
S. B. Cross and Alice, daughter of James C. Green. 

September Oth. — Married, in Collins, September 2d, Edward 
Etsler to Miss Ellen E. Bartlett. 

September 13th. — Died, in Gowanda, September 7th, Margaret 
Beverley, aged 42 years, and on the 10th, Eliza S. Palmer, aged 04 
years. 

September 20th. — Married, in Gowanda, on the 5th inst. , Wm. 
Rice of Cleveland, O., and Miss Emma A. Buck of Gowanda. 

December 27th. — Died, at Milwaukee, Wis., December 17th, Mrs. 
Mary A. Hooker, daughter of Mrs. Elizabeth Peacock of this-village, 
aged 40 years. 

Married, December 15th, at the residence of the bride's father, by 
Rev. W. D. Buck, Charley Stacey of Erie, Pa., and Miss Ella G. 
Crandall of this village. 

January 3, 1874. — Died, in Gowanda, December 28, 1873, 
Caroline N. Congdon, aged 07 years. 

Died, at Geneva, 111., December 22, 1873, Phebe, wife of Josiah 
Cass, aged 78 years. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. V. 55 

January 10th. — Married, in Cattaraugus, on the 21st of December, 
1873, Mr. H. W. Ribble of Gowanda and Miss C. B. Ford of 
Cattaraugus. 

Married, at the residence of John Hoyt, January 1st, by Rev. S. 
Cowles, George Grant, late of Scotland and Miss Emma Hoyt of 
Gowanda. 

January 17th. — Married, in Gowanda, at the residence of the 
bride's parents, January 12th, Adin J. Gibbs of Cattaraugus to Miss 
Ida Styles of Gowanda. 

February 14th. — Died, in Collins, February 7th, Deborah, wife of 
Edwin Gurney, aged 32 years. 

February 21st. — Died, in Gowanda, February 12th, Abner Slocum, 
aged 55 years. 

February 28th. — Died, in Gowanda, February 22d, Allen Sisson, 
aged 47 years. 

April 18th. — Married, April 18th, at Collins Center, Edgar A. 
Shaw to Miss Bertha Kimble of Brant. 

May 2d. — Died, in Gowanda, April 26th, Julius Perrin, aged 35 
years. 

May 9th. — Died, at Hidi, May 1st, Morgan Derby, aged 79 years. 

May 23d. — Speaks of the injury to Miss Carrie Basset from falling 
through a hole in the school house floor. 

Died, in Gowanda, May 17th, Ann Katherine, wife of Conrad 
Groff, aged 43 years. 

May 30th. — The marriage of Nellie Grant, at Washington, 
daughter of President Grant, took place at the White House on 
May 21st. 

June 6th. — Died, in Perrysburgh, May 31st, William Atwell, 
aged 68. 

In Collins, June 1st, Sophronia H. Foster, aged 46. 

In Gowanda, June 4th, Phebe Derby, aged 66. 

In Collins, May 12th, Mary, wife of Chalkley Aldrich, aged 74. 

June 13th. — Married, June 10th, at the residence of the bride's 
parents, Montgomery Hussey to Miss Delia Maltbie, both of 
Gowanda. 

Died, in Gowanda, June 9th, George H. Russell, one of the firm 



56 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

of contractors in charge of the B. & J. R. R., Russell & Moulton, 
aged 42 years. 

June 20th. — Died, in Gowanda, June 14th, Porter Welch, aged 70 
years. 

June 27th. — Drowned, on Thursday afternoon, Arthur, the 11- 
vear-old son of Truman Allen. 

July 4th. — Rev. S. Cowles has retired from the pastorate of the 
Presbyterian Church. 

August 15th. — The Gowanda school house was completely destroyed 
by fire last Sunday morning. 

August 22d. — B. L. Kimble and George B. Taylor have formed a 
partnership. 

The railroad through Gowanda is now an assured fact. 

August 29th. — Wm. Peacock of this village is mail agent on the 
B. & J. R. R. 

September 19th. — The railroad men have had a pay day, and as a 
result got drunk and had a riot, and the editor is disgusted thereat. 
Died, in Dayton, September 11th, John I. Grantier, aged 47 years. 

September 20th. — Married, at the residence of the bride's mother, 
September loth, Mr. George Stowe of Bay City, Mich., and Miss 
Helen Locke of Gowanda. 

At the residence of Capt. Maltbie, September 8th, James C. Brooks, 
civil engineer on the B. & J. R. R., to Miss Delora Maltbie of 
Gowanda. 

October 10th. — Died, in Gowanda, October 8th, H. P. Slocum, 
aged 37 years. 

October 17th. — The railroad bridge over the Cattaraugus was com- 
pleted last week. 

Work is being pushed on the new Gowanda depot. 

4"he spile-driver used on the railroad between here and Dayton 
tipped over last Wednesday and one man killed and several, among 
which was M. N. Johnson of Dayton, injured. 

Charles W. Blackney of this village has received the democratic 
nomination for district attorney of Cattaraugus County. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. V. 57 

October 24th. — The first train crossed the bridge Saturday, the 
17th inst., drawn by the engine "Susquehanna." 

The formal opening of the railroad to Gowanda is announced for 
October 24th. 

October 31st. — 4'he railroad was formally opened to Gowanda on 
the 24th, according to programme. 

The train from Buffalo consisted of seven passenger cars and one 
baggage car, all filled to overflowing ; on the train were the railroad 
officials, the mayor of Buffalo, L. P. Dayton, and several of the city 
officials. The train was drawn by the locomotive "Eden," with 
George Moore, engineer, and George M. Howard, conductor. 

An elegant dinner, under the charge of the ladies of the village, 
was spread in the depot. 

The artist, Joseph Josephs of Buffalo, otherwise known as "Ele- 
phant Joe," was present. To one end of the station he affixed a 
large banner ; in the center were the words " Excursion, October 24, 
1874." To the right, representing "The Past," was the "Big 
Injun," a life-size illustration of a noble red man. On the left was 
inscribed "The Present," the "Big Engine" coming across the 
bridge, with a view of the village in the background. 

A vote of thanks was tendered to Mr. Josephs for his elegant present. 

An excursion was extended to the young ladies, who acted as wait- 
resses, to Buffalo, as the guests of the railroad company ; it was 
accepted, and they went to Buffalo the following Monday, and, of 
course, had a very pleasant trip. 

Married, in Hamburg, on September 30th, William G. Van Ostrand 
of Gowanda and Julia Rathbone of Hamburg. 

At Dansville, N. Y., October 18th, Truman P. Allen of Gowanda 
to Jennie L. Wheeler of Richmond, N. H. 

Died, in Gowanda, October 26th, John H. Lemon, aged 52. 

In Gowanda, October 25th, George Urban, aged 72. 

November 14th. — Died, in Persia, November 12th, Elihu Russell, 
aged 70 years. 

December 19th. — Rev. J. C. V. Nellis is the new pastor at the 
Presbyterian Church. 

January 2, 1875. — Married, in Forestville, December 22, 1874, 
Myron L. Gardner of Gowanda to Miss Emma M. Barber of Forest- 
ville. 



58 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOIVAXDA, N. )'. 

January 9th. — Married, in Gowanda, by Rev. E. A. Rice, W. E. 
Kenyon to Mary E. Springer. 

January 16th. — Died, in Collins, January 14th, Stephen A. Sisson, 
aged 53 years. 

January 23d. — Died, in Gowanda, January 19th, Dan G. Bassett, 
aged 74 years. 

In Gowanda, January 21st, Mrs. Ellen Dawson, aged 30 years. 

April 17th. — Died, at his residence near this village, April 14th, 
Samuel T. Munger, aged 70 years. 

On the 15th, Rev. Asher P. Wright, missionary on the Cattaraugus 
Reservation. 

In Dayton, on the 15th, Daniel D. English, aged 67 years. 

April 24th. — Married, in Collins, on March 14th, Mr. Mark Stock 
and Miss Jennie Cherry. 

May 8th. — Died, in Gowanda, May 4th, Timothy Smith, aged 81 
years. 

May 29th. — Died, at Gowanda, May 21st, Gottfried Brennenstuhl, 
aged 55 years. 

June 19th. — H. H. Parks has been admitted to the bar as at- 
torney. 

June 26th. — Died, in Gowanda, June 20th, Jeremiah Jolls, aged 
70 years. 

August 14th. — Married, in Gowanda, August 9th, Mr. J. H. 
Selden to Miss Lora Blackney, all of Gowanda. 

September 11th. — Contains a column and half article on the mur- 
der of Charles W. Blackney. 

October 2d. — Mr. J. M. Congdon has purchased the office and 
books of the late C. W. Blackney, and will succeed him in the prac- 
tice of law. 

October 16th. — Contains a long account of the $35,000 fire which 
destroyed the Barker House and block, H. N. Hooker's store and 
house, the Hanford drug store, and much other property. 

October 23d. — Married, in this village, on Wednesday the 20th 
inst., by Rev. J. V. C. Nellis, Mr. J. E. VanDeusen and Miss Ella 
M. Hooker, all of this place. 

Died, at his residence in Perrysburgh, October 17th, Charles 
Green, aged 78 years. 




Residence of W. H. Britton, }k.. Chapel Street. 




Residence of Mrs. Albert Gaensslen, Center Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO IVAN DA, X. Y. 59 

October 30th. — The editor heads his local column with a rooster, 
on account of the voting of a new $15,000 school house for Gowanda. 

November 13th. — Judge Woodbury and Hudson H. Parke have 
formed a legal co-partnership. 

November 27th. — Died, in Dayton, November 16th, Hiram Austin, 
aged 80 years. 

December 18th. — Homer Woodin died at his home in Perrys- 
burgh last Sunday. He was born July 6, 1806. 

January 8, 1876. — New Year's day was extremely mild, and was 
ushered in with a fantastic parade by the young people. 

January 15th. — Married, in Otto, December 28, 1875, at the resi- 
dence of D. N. Brown, Dwight J. Norton, Jr., of Washington, la., 
to Miss Ellen F. Brown of Otto. 



Gowanda Enterprise, Vol. I., No. 1, March 30, 1877. 

Died, in Gowanda, March 17th, Halsey Stearns, aged 69 years. 
Mr. A. W. Popple of Dunkirk, formerly of this village, died last 
Friday evening. 

April 6th. — Mrs. A. W. Popple has been appointed postmistress at 
Dunkirk to fill the unexpired term of her husband, lately deceased. 

April 27th. — Married, in Gowanda, the 27th inst., Jacob F. Gur- 
ney and Miss Emma L. Farnham, both of Gowanda. 

May 4th. — A column, headed with a rooster, announces that the 
Diamond Petroleum Go., composed mostly of Gowanda men, has 
struck oil. 

Died, in Gowanda, April 29th, L. W. Toepp, aged 40 years. 

May 11th. — The Murphy temperance movement has struck Go- 
wanda and the editor is rejoiced thereat. 

May 18th. — Died, in Ruggtown, May 12th, Jonathan G. Rugg, 
aged 82. 

August 10th. — Married, in Gowanda, August 4th, by Rev. Titus 
Roberts, Benjamin J. Allen of Persia and Miss Ellen E. Doley of 
Stockton, N. Y. 



60 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 

August 17th. — Died, in Gowanda, August 15th, Mrs. Florilla R. 
Smalhvood, widow of the late Wm. T. Smallwood, and daughter of 
Titus Roberts, aged 52. 

In Gowanda, August 14th, Mrs. Julia Sanborn, aged 22, wife of 
Rev. J. W. Sanborn. 

August 31st. — Died, in Gowanda, August 28th, Elizabeth, wife of 
William A. Fish, aged 42 years. 

In this village, August 26th, Aimira Cole, aged 66 years. 

September 7th. — Married in Cattaraugus, September 4th, Miss 
Mary M. Johnson of Cattaraugus and Wells H. Fuller of Gowanda. 

Died, in Dayton, September 2d, Cora, daughter of Jonathan Allen, 
aged 17 years. 

September 14th. — Harmon Gaensslen was severely injured on 
Thursday afternoon, by explosion of powder while blasting rocks. 

October 19th. — Died, in Little Valley, October 12th, Edward 
Van Dake, aged 84 years. 

October 26th. — Henry F. Allen of this village has been nomi- 
nated for member of assembly in the Fifth Erie District. 
I. R. Leonard of Dayton has been admitted to the bar. 

November 2d. — Married, in Dunkirk, at the residence of the 
bride's father, A. R. Sellew, Benson H. Roberts of North Chili and 
Miss Emma J. Sellew of Dunkirk. 

November 9th. — Died, in Dayton, November 2d, Eliza M. Brand, 
aged 27 years, and in Dayton, November 8th, Avery Parke, aged 77 
years. 

November 16th. — Married, in Gowanda, November 3d, Lawrence 
Schrott of Perrysburgh and Miss Susie Benton of Dayton. 

November 23d. — Married, in Persia, N. Y., November 19th, by 

Rev. J. W. Sanborn, Edward M. Bartlett and Miss Harmony R. Allen. 

Died, in Gowanda, November 14th, Serusia Herrick, aged 92 years. 

December 14th. — Rev. J. V. C. Nellis has resigned as pastor of 
the Presbyterian Church. 

Married, in Perrysburgh, November 28th, Eva M. Titus of Dayton 
to Frank Hall of Gowanda. 

December 21st. — Died, in Gowanda, December 14th, Dorothy 
Dawson, aged 74. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 61 

January 18, 1878. — Sarah Rice has been appointed postmistress. 

February 15th. — The funeral of Charles Trunk was held in the 
Presbyterian Church last Sunday and was largely attended. 

Married, in Versailles, February 3d, Miss Emma Weigand and 
Hiram Pierce, both of Gowanda. 

At the same time and place, Miss Eva Bowers and Killian Storms, 
both of Gowanda. 

In this village, on the 13th inst., by Rev. J. W. Sanborn, Gen. 
David S. Forbes of Fredonia to Miss Sarah J. Starr, formerly of 
Gowanda. 

In this village, February 3d, Mr. A. L. Peaslee and Miss Mary C. 
Miller of Gowanda. 

March 8th. — Died, in Gowanda, March 8th, Caroline M., wife of 
G. C. Carpenter, aged 35 years. 

March 15th.— Died, in Little Valley, March 14th, Mrs. Esther 
Howe, relict of Zimri Howe, aged 72 years. 

April 5th. — Died, in Perrysburgh, April 4th, Eri B. Woodin, aged 
34 years. 

May 2d. — The Erie Railway has become the New York, Lake Erie 
& Western. 

May 17th. — Died, in Dayton, May 9th, Joshua Markham, aged 
89 years. 

May 24th. — Died, in San Francisco, April 13th, Mrs. Ann L. 
Waterman, formerly of this place, aged 55 years. 

June 14th. — Married, in Gowanda, June 11th, by Rev. J. W. 
Sanborn, Dr. W. C. Proctor and Louisa C. Beach, all of Gowanda. 

(This issue contains a long account of the explosion of the boiler 
in Henry Wolf's saw mill at Dayton on the 11th, at which four men 
lost their lives. ) 

July 26th. — Died, at Valisca, la., July 23d, Vincent Torrance, 
aged 3 months, child of Geo. S. and Fanny Torrance, formerly of 
Gowanda. 

Died, in Gowanda, June 18th, Mrs. Abigail S. Bassett, aged 70 
years. 

August 30th. — The Vosburgh House has been sold to Fischer & 
Gerber of Buffalo. 



62 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

September 12th. — Married, in Elmira, September 5th, Rev. J. W. 
Sanborn of Gowanda and Miss Minnie S. Decker of Elmira. 

September 26th. — Married, in Gowanda, at this date, by Rev. J. 
W. Sanborn, Henry R. Gaensslen and Miss Frances Storm, both of 
Gowanda. 

October 10th. — Henry F. Allen of this village has received the 
Democratic nomination for county judge of Erie County. 

Contains an account of the re-union of the 64th Regiment, N. Y. 
Volunteers, at Gowanda. 

October 17th. — Married, in Gowanda, October 16th, by Rev. W. 
W. Nason, John Ritz and Miss Ida Irish, both of this village. 

November 7th. — Married, in Collins, October 29th, B. W. Law of 
Havana, Cuba, to Miss Docia E. Willett of Collins. 

November 21st. — DeWitt C. Hoover of Cortland, N. Y., has 
bought the Gowanda Flouring Mills of C. C. Torrance. 

January 2, 1879. — E. A. Edgerton has sold his photograph gallery 
to Mr. Chase. 

February 6th. — Married, in North Collins, January 30th, J. 
Quincey Tucker of Brant and Miss Susie Smith of North Collins. 

Married, in Perrysburgh, February 5th, Miss Lottie C. Cooper, 
daughter of Ezra Cooper, and George B. Taylor of Gowanda. 

May 22d. — Mr. E. A. Edgerton leaves Gowanda this week for 
Michigan, where he takes charge of a photograph gallery. 

August 29th. — J. M. Congdon has been nominated for member of 
Assembly for the 2d Cattaraugus district. 

November 28th. — Contains an account of a prize-speaking contest, 
at which H. W. Allen took first prize and Mary E. Jacobs, secdhd. 

December 12th. — Contains the obituary of Harmon A. Gaensslen, 
who died December 8th, aged 21 years. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, X. Y. 63 



THE POST-OFFICE AT GOWANDA. 



TT SEEMS that at an early date the office was Aldrich's Mills. In 
1829, R. Plumb, postmaster, advertises letters uncalled for at 
Collins Post-office (Lodi). For many years after that, and until Octo- 
ber, 1848, the post-office was Persia, but in October of that year 
was changed to Gowanda, and has since been known by that name. 

During the term of John B. Wilbor the office was probably in his 
building, on the bank of the creek, just above the bridge. 

At the time of the fire, in 1856, D. N. Brown seems to have been 
postmaster, with the office in his building, in the Mansion House 
Block, probably near where Eaton & Son's meat market is now. 

In May, 1862, it was moved to No. 2 Water Street, Welch Block, 
into what is now a part of the Commercial Hotel. In October, 1862, 
as was stated at the time, it was moved to the building on Jamestown 
Street, formerly occupied by J. Stamm's clothing store — probably in 
or near the building now occupied by Joseph Keifer. 

In June, 1864, it was moved to a room in what was called the 
variety store, now occupied by Mentley & Press, next to Roller's 
meat market (now Eaton's), with entrance on Main Street. About 
1868 it was located in the store now occupied by F. E. Redfield. 

During all or a portion of W. H. Stuart's term it was located in 
the Union Block, in the store now occupied by A. T. Johnson's 
grocery. Later for a number of years, and down to about 18$ 2, it 
was back in the building on Jamestown Street, when it was again 
changed to the new brick building, then just built by H. F. Henry, 
on the north side of Main Street, now occupied by DeLong & Kerr 
and R. C. Holmes, where it remained until 1894, when it was loca- 
ted, as at present, in the Hooker Block, on the north side of Main 
Street. 

The office occupies one of the three stores in the Hooker Block, in 
size 20 x 60 feet, is well lighted front and rear, and has recently been 
supplied with a modern set of call and lock boxes. 

It is not claimed that the list of postmasters here given is complete, 
or that their full term of service is given in many cases, but the fol- 



64 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 

lowing were postmasters here during all or some portion of the years 
indicated : 

Benjamin Waterman, 1822. 

Ralph Plumb, 1829. 

Phineas Spencer, 1832-39. 

Amasa L. Chaffee, 1840, '41. 

Ralph Plumb, 1842, '43. 

John B. Wilbor, 1848. 

William Woodbury, 1851, '52, '53. 

D. N. Brown, 1854, '56, '57, '58, '59, '60. 

Charles Henry, 1861, '62, '63, '64. 

Orville Bishop, 1869. 

George W. Hanford, 1871, '72. 

W.H.Stuart, 1873, '74, '75, '76, '77, '78. 

Sarah Rice, 1878, '79, '80, '81. 

Byron G. Hill, 1882-1885. 

Millin T. Hill, 1886-1890. 

Silas H. Arnold, 1891-1894. 

Frank L. Mattocks, 1894-1898. 

William N. Wallace, 1898. 





PoST-OKFICE, if 



"The Old Brick Office." 




Gowanda Union School. 

Built, 1844. Burned, August 9, 1874. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. Y. 65 

THE GOWANDA UNION SCHOOL. 



TDRIOR to 1844 what is now comprised in the Union School Dis- 
trict was in several districts. 

At about that time a school was held in a building near the site of 
the present M. E. Church ; another, in the upper story of what was 
then called the " Eagle Tavern," now the Gowanda House. 

Prof. Sedgwick was, at or about the time of combining the districts, 
a teacher here, and was the first principal in the school house, built 
in 1844 on the present site. 

When the consolidation of the districts took place, $175 was voted 
for the site, which was purchased of E. W. Henry, and $1,200 to 
build the school house. 

It would seem that the plans proposed by Dr. John F. Allen were 
adopted for the new building. 

December 6, 1866, it was determined, by a vote of 106 to 49, that 
the school become a union school, under the name of the " Gowanda 
Union Free School." 

The house built in 1844 was burned on Sunday morning, August 9, 
1874, and the present brick building was built by Silas Vinton, con- 
tractor, in 1876, at a cost of about $18,000, on the lot bought in 
1844. 

The school now has a registered attendance of about 500 pupils, 
with ten teachers. 

It is impossible to give all the teachers who have taught in the 
school, but the following have been principals during all or portions 
of the years given below : 

William L. Haven, 18—; E. E. Williams, A. M., 1842; Prof. 
Sedgwick, 1844 ; Dr. Allen, 1851 ; H. B. Pierce, 1852 ; Samuel G. 
Love, 18—; Judson Sibley, 1857; A. C. Tefft, 1859-60-61 ; Prof. 
Powers, 1862 ; Chas. E. Swett, 1864 ; Prof. Long, 1865 ; Wm. H. 
Rogers, 1866; Dr. Holcomb, 1867 ; T. R. Green, 1868-9; Hubert 
H. Merrill, 1863-64-69-70 ; G. A. Bates, 1870 ; C. A. Young, 1871 ; 
George T. Quimby, 1871 ; F. A. Winnie, 1872 ; George W. Gillette, 
1873 ; J. H. Selden, 1874 ; Prof. Weeks, 1875 ; J. W. Willis, 1875 ; 
M. J. Griffin, 1876; Fred Dick, 1877-8-9; R. R. Rogers, 1880; 
W. D. Ball, 1881 ; Frank S. Thorpe, 1882-3-4-5 ; J. H. Selden, 
1886-7-8-9-90; Charles A. Black, 1891 to 1898. 



66 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 




The present corps of teachers is as follows : Charles A. Black, 
A. M., Principal; Mrs. Charles A. Black, Preceptress; Velma C. 
Brown, Nettie B. Ranson, Sara Ryder, Grace Higbee, Josephine 
A. C. Groat, Cora Halstead, May C. Richards and Veva Higbee. 

Board of Education, 1898 : Asher C. Stafford, President ; Samuel 
G. Keyes, Dr. A. D. Lake, Edward Etsler, Edgar A. Shaw, Henry 
R. Gaensslen ; Charles S. Howland, Clerk. 

By the will of the late C. C. Torrance, the school received a legacy 
of $1,000, the income from which was to be used to procure prizes 
for two pupils of the graduating class in each year, to be known as the 
C. C. Torrance prizes. The Board of Education, by unanimous vote, 
on August 6, 1889, accepted the very generous gift of Mr. Torrance, 
in accordance with the conditions suggested by him. 

The school at the present time is in a very prosperous condition, 
many foreign pupils being in attendance each term. The school 
building, erected in 1<S76, which was then considered more than suffi- 
cient for many years to come, has already become too small for the 
school, and the Board of Education has been compelled to rent addi- 
tional accommodations. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAN DA, N. Y. 67 



PUBLIC OFFICIALS FROM GOWANDA. 



"T^HE citizens of this village who have held official positions, other 
than those of a local character, are as follows. The dates 
given are those when the persons were elected or appointed to the 
office, except as to Members of the Assembly, in which cases the 
year is that in which the person served : 



COUNTY JUDGE. 

Chester Howe, . . . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 185 1. 
William Woodbury, . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 1859. 

DISTRICT ATTORNEY. 

Cyrenius C. Torrance, Erie County, November, 1862. 

Joseph M. Congdon, . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 1895. 

While Mr. Torrance was District Attorney of Erie County his 
assistant was Grover Cleveland, who later became Sheriff of Erie 
County, Mayor of the city of Buffalo, Governor of the State of New 
York, and twice President of the United States. 

SHERIFF. 

Ralph Plumb, . . . Erie County, November, 1843. 

George W. White, . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 1843. 
William W. Henry, . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 1873. 

It will be observed that in 1843 the sheriffs from both counties 
were elected from the village of Gowanda (then Lodi). 

COUNTY CLERK. 

Enos H. Southwick, . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 1852-58-67. 
Samuel C. Springer, . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 1864. 
William W. Welch, . Cattaraugus County, . . . November, 1870. 

SCHOOL COMMISSIONER. 
Henry S. Stebbins, . Third District, Erie County, About November, i860. 



68 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 



Phineas Spencek, . 
Albert G. Burke, . 
Ralph Plumb, . . 
Phineas Spencer, . 
Chester Howe, . . 
Seth Field, . . . 
Michael H. Barker, 
Joseph H. Plumb, . 
Franklin Philbrick, 
Joseph H. Plumb, . 
William H. Stuart, 
Henry F. Allen, . 
Joseph M. Congdon, 



MEMBERS OF ASSEMBLY. 

Cattaraugus County, .... 
Cattaraugus County, .... 
Erie County, 2d District, 
Cattaraugus County, 2d District, 
Cattaraugus County, 2d District, 
Cattaraugus County, 2d District, 
Cattaraugus County, 2d District, 
Erie County, 4th District, 
Cattaraugus County, 2d District, 
Erie County, 5th District, 
Cattaraugus County, 2d District, 
Erie County, 5th District, 
Cattaraugus County, 2d District, 



1824. 
1S35- 

1835- 
1837. 
1841. 

I845- 
1853- 
i860. 
1 861. 
1867. 
1869. 
1878. 
1880-81. 



It will be noticed that in 1835 this village had two representatives 
in the Assembly, one from each county in which the village is located. 



James Kavanaugh, 
George W. Howard, 



CORONERS. 

Cattaraugus County, 
Cattaraugus County, 



November, 1887-90. 
November, i8q2. 




HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 69 

MILITARY HISTORY OF GOWANDA 

PRIOR TO THE REBELLION. 



"T^ROM 1818 to 1822 as a part of the State militia was the 198th 
-*- Regiment, probably composed wholly of Cattaraugus-county 
men. Among its officers, with date of taking the oath of office, 
were the following : 

Colonel, Benjamin Waterman, July 5, 1822 ; Captain, Simon 
Waterman, July 6, 1821 ; Lieutenant, Heman Waterman, June 9, 
1821 ; Ensign, Edwin Farnsworth, July 6, 1821. 

Col. Benjamin Waterman resigned in 1827 and was succeeded by 
James McGlashen. 

There seemed to have been a reorganization in 1830, and Cattar- 
augus County became a part of the militia district comprising the 
54th Brigade, 26th Division, which also included Collins and Con- 
cord in Erie County. The brigade was composed of seven regi- 
ments, and Jehiel Hill was colonel of the Gowanda Regiment. James 
McGlashen was brigadier-general. In 1838, Col. Jehiel Hill became 
brigadier-general on the promotion of Gen. McGlashen to major- 
general. 

Among Gen. Hill's aides were Byron Cochran of Springville and 
Thomas J. Parker of Gowanda ; Dr. Levi Goldsborough, surgeon, 
and John P. Darling of New Albion, and Enos Austin of Otto. 

Thomas J. Parker enlisted September 12, 1833, in a uniformed 
company of riflemen, under Howel W. Parker, captain, attached to 
the 198th Regiment. Col. Hill's successors in command of the 
198th were Col. Sylvenus Cook, Col. Joseph H. Plumb, Col. George 
S. Hickox and Col. Titus Roberts. Among the independent uni- 
formed companies attached to this regiment was a company of rifle- 
men, commanded by Captain Amasa L. Chaffee. 

For many years there were held, usually in the month of October, 
what were officially known as the annual regimental musters, but 
which were commonly known as "general trainings." 

In 1846 was held the last general training or muster under the old 
compulsory law. 



7(1 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, X. )'. 

The first and only militia organization in the county prior to the 
Rebellion was the 64th Regiment, 30th Brigade, 8th Division, com- 
manded by Col. Thomas J. Parker of this village. Col. Parker was 
commissioned December 16, 1852, and recruited and mustered his 
regiment at Gowanda in August, 1853. Daniel G. Bingham was 
commissioned lieutenant-colonel and Enos C. Brooks, major, in July 
preceding. 

From the adjutant -general's report it appears that in 1857 the 64th 
was composed in part as follows : 

Co. A, 38 men, infantry, Capt. Levi W. Strope, succeeded by 
Capt. Corydon C. Rugg, who was commissioned September 12, 1857 ; 
lieutenants, Marvin F. Crandall and Henry W. Johnson. Recruited, 
in Persia. 

Co. C, 43 men, infantry, Capt. Julius B. Maltbie, commissioned 
September 10, 1853, then of Otto, but now of Gowanda. 

Parades were held at Gowanda as follows ; June 4-6, 1855, and 
June 22-24, 1858. 

The 64th was reorganized as a volunteer command in 1861, and 
among the other companies were the following : 

Co. A, Capt. Rufus Washburn, 82 officers and men ; Co. C, Capt. 
Julius B. Maltbie, 84 ; Co. D, Capt. Phipps Lake, and Co. K, Capt. 
William Fancher, 83 each. 

This brings the military history of this locality down to the time 
of the Rebellion, the participants of which more fully appear in the 
article in this volume under that head. 







Residence of W. R. Smallwood, Chapel Street. 




Residence of R. P. Johnson, Center Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 71 



THE PART TAKEN BY GOWANDA 

AND THE IMMEDIATE VICINITY IN THE WAR OF THE 

REBELLION. 

By Newton A. Chaffee. 



T N ATTEMPTING to write a history of the past and the part the 
citizens of this town and village took during the days of the 
Rebellion, to give even an imperfect statement of the sacrifices and 
contributions of its men and money, I fully realize this fact :• that 
proper credit and justice cannot be given to the town and the noble, 
patriotic men that enlisted and saw service during the war, in the 
short space and time that has been allotted for this purpose. 

The truth is, that this town contributed liberally, and always re- 
sponded promptly, and more than filled the demands made upon it 
for men and money by the government. 

The remembrance of the stirring war speeches and strong appeals 
made by patriotic men and orators, and the strains of music from 
those war meetings still linger with us — for this country was then 
stirred as it never was before or since, and all were made to fully 
realize that a blow had been struck at the life and existence of our 
nation ; and those who passed through those years and realize the full 
realities and cost of serving our nation at that time will hope and 
pray that those conditions will never be seen and felt again. 

We may succeed in obtaining a partial list of the men who went to 
the front at that time, and the amount of money raised may perhaps 
be computed, but who shall tell of the sadness, the heart aches and 
the tears that were shed by mothers, sisters and lovers as they were 
called upon to give up those most dear to them on earth. 

The romance of war soon passed away and instead it became a sad 
reality. While men made sacrifices of homes, pleasant friends and all 
the bright pictures of ambitions and life itself for their country, who 
shall estimate the sacrifices, the ministrations of women's hearts and 
means to sick and dying? They placed their all upon the altars of 
our country, that our nation and liberty might live. 



72 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 

How many have watched and listened for the footsteps of those 
who never returned ? 

Many of the men that went from this town deserve more extended 
tribute and record of the brave, heroic services they rendered than 
we are able to give. Who shall describe the misery and privations 
endured and the sad and cheerless death that some of Persia's men 
suffered in Southern prisons ? 

There were some very marked and brilliant records made by some 
ofGowanda's sons, but, as their history has been partly written by 
others, and the causes that led up to the Rebellion, its long years of 
bloody struggle and the final victory that crowned our army, have 
been told over and over again, we shall not attempt in this short space 
to go over that again, but shall content ourselves by giving as far as 
possible a roster of the men who enlisted from this vicinity, the num- 
ber of their regiment, wherever possible the causes and date of their 
muster out, and, if living, their present residence. 

It would be impossible to tell the place of burial of all those who 
are dead ; even their comrades and friends in many cases never knew. 
Go, look at the rows of over 900 graves at Gettysburg, with head- 
stones marked unknown. The fires that swept over the fields of 
Chancellorsville and the Wilderness without doubt consumed many 
too badly wounded to escape ; down upon the Peninsula, in the 
swamps of the Chickahominy, many of them lay ; if we had the power 
to ascertain, we would find beyond a doubt many of them in every 
National cemetery among the graves marked unknown ; from the 
prison pens of Libby, Belle Isle, Salisbury, and Andersonville many 
of them were carted away upon wagons piled, dead upon dead, like 
cordwood and all buried in a common grave. 

Some of the records of Darby Post, G. A. R., containing the per- 
sonal history of many of the soldiers from this vicinity, were destroyed 
by the fire in the Welch Block in 1893, hence, in compiling this 
article we are compelled to depend on the personal recollection of 
individuals, always more or less incorrect ; but as it is, we submit it, 
trusting the reader will consider the many disadvantages under which 
we have labored. 

In writing this military history of Gowanda we should do an 
injustice if we failed to mention the company of Home Guards that 
was organized here, and did duty on many public occasions, and 
especially added so much enthusiasm and patriotic fervor to many of 
the war meetings held here. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 73 

This company, of about ninety, was composed of our oldest men, 
none of whom were probably under the age of 50 or 60 years. It 
was officered as follows : 

Captain, Amasa L. Chaffee, a veteran of the war of 1812 ; 1st 
Lieutenant, Levi W. Strope ; 2d Lieutenant, Samuel C. Springer; 
Chaplain, Rev. Dr. Lord ; and Chief Musician, Charles Green. 

Who that ever heard Mr. Green has forgotten the enthusiasm and 
life that he felt himself and made others appreciate, as he played upon 
his fife. 

This company of men had the respect and confidence of our 
citizens, for they were all known to be true Union men, and no per- 
son would doubt that they would, had occasion required, have de- 
fended our homes and loved ones to the full extent of their power. 
They watched the result of the nation's struggle with the deepest 
interest, and rejoiced with hearts overflowing with joy and gladness 
when victory crowned our armies. Who can estimate the good, and 
the influence for good, and the upholding of loyal sentiments, that 
such organizations accomplished in those trying years ? 

Col. Thomas J. Parker was instrumental in organizing the 64th 
Regiment, probably as good a regiment as went from this State. 
The history of the 64th New York would almost be the history of the 
Army of the Potomac, for they were engaged in all of its campaigns 
and were engaged in nearly all its battles. 

Col. Parker went to Elmira, August 27, 1861, to complete the 
organization of the 64th. September 1st, Co. A, of the 64th, went to 
Elmira from this village and was mustered into the United States 
Army, December 10, 1861. The first battle this regiment was en- 
gaged in was at Fair Oaks, Va. 

About twenty-five young men from this village were members of 
the 72d N. Y. Volunteers, five companies of which were recruited from 
Chautauqua County. The 72d was in all the battles of the Peninsular 
Campaign, under McClellan, in 1862, and was attached to Sickles' 
Brigade, Hooker's Division, 3d Army Corps, and fought at the Battle 
of Gettysburg, July 1, 2 and 3, 1863, under the command of Gen. 
Daniel E. Sickles. In the spring of 1864 the 3d and 2d army corps 
were consolidated, and after that served under Gen. Grant until the 
surrender of Gen. Lee at Appomattox. 

August 12, 1862, the Persia, Gowanda, Perrysburgh and Dayton 
members of the 154th Regiment left Perrysburgh depot for James- 



74 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 

town, to the number of thirty, where they were rendezvoused for 
some time. 

While there the Battle of Antietam was fought, and won, by the 
Union forces under Gen. McClellan. The people of the North were 
correspondingly elated, and it was claimed in some quarters that the 
war would soon close and that the 154th would see no actual service. 

What followed proved this conclusion was erroneous. 

The first battle in which the 154th was engaged was at Chancel- 
lorsville. After the Battle of Gettysburg, the 154th was transferred 
to the western army, the 11th and 12th corps were consolidated, and 
formed the 20th corps, and were under command of " Fighting Joe " 
Hooker. This corps joined the army of Gen. Sherman at Chat- 
tanooga, Tenn., and was engaged in the battles of Lookout Mountain- 
and Mission Ridge, and was with Sherman in his Atlanta campaign, 
and finally went with him in his world-renowned march to the sea. 

Frank Sisson was the first man from this village to be killed in 
battle, and Henry Darby the last one. He was killed in the last, or 
very near the last, engagement of the war, in fact, it is claimed by 
many that he was the last man shot in an engagement with the Con- 
federates. 

To compile anything like a correct roster of the men engaged in 
the late war, just from this locality, requires a large amount of work ; 
information, sometimes incorrect, has to be obtained from sources 
other than official records. 

I believe this roster of the men from this locality is more complete 
than any before furnished, although it is not claimed to be entirely 
correct, The following is the roster : 

Averill, Jerome, Co. A, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August 14, 

1862. Discharged March, 1863. Wounded. 
Austin, Irvin E., 100th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted January 1,-5861. 

3 years. 
Averill, Webster, Co. D, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 

1861. Killed at Malvern Hill, Va. 
Alverson, Anson, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted November, 

1861. 
Albro, Jerome, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted January, 1862. 

Died Camp Convalescent April 4, 1863. 
Brown, Edwin, Corp., 100th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted October 11, 

1861. Died from wounds May 29, 1862. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 75 

Bacon, Esek. P., Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted July, 1862. 
3 years. 

Barr, Geo. W., Surgeon, Co. B, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted 
November 20, 1861. 3 years. Now at Titusville, Pa. 

Beck, Fred, Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 1861. 
3 years. Now at Spring Creek, Pa. 

Baker, Henry, Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 1861. 
3 years. At Leon, N. Y. 

Bailey, Frank, Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 1861. 
3 years. 

Burns, William, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. Killed at Coffee Hill, Va., October, 1863. 

Burk, Ebed M., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. 3 years. Re-enlisted as Veteran Volunteer. 

Burk, Albert D., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. Died in hospital, Virginia. 

Chaffee, Newton A., Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Sep- 
tember 2, 1862. Promoted to Quartermaster Sergeant. 3 years. 

Congdon, Geo. B., Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August 
14, 1862. 1 year. 

Camp, Willoughby, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 3 years. 

Chase, Arnold P., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 3 years. Promoted to Captain. 

Cowdry, Albert, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. Transferred to Invalid Corps November, 1863. 

Darby, Henry A., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber 16, 1861. Promoted to Captain. Killed in battle Potomac 
River, Va., April 8, 1865. 

Darby, Albert, 1st Lieutenant Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. En- 
listed September 16, 1861. 3 years. Discharged as Captain. 

Emery, Frank, Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 1861. 
3 years. Lives at Reading, Mich. 

Foley, Patrick, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 20, 1861. 
Discharged for disability. Re-enlisted as Sergeant 154th N. Y. 
Infantry, September, 1862. Lives at Leon. 

Farnsworth, Marvin F., Co. D, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 
27, 1861. Discharged July, 1862, for disability. 

Fox, John, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 1861. 
3 years. Now at Buffalo. 



76 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, X. V. 

Geiring, Mathias, 97th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August, l<S(v>. 
Served till close of war. 

Gardner, Clayton A., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Sep- 
tember 23, 1862. Killed at Battle of Gettysburg July 3, 1863. 

Grannis, Cassius E., 116th N. Y. Infantry. 3 years. Now lives in 
Chicago. 

Griffith, Thomas, 116th N. Y. Infantry. Killed at siege of Port 
Hudson. 

Henry, William W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Sep- 
tember 16, 1861. Promoted to 1st Lieutenant. Discharged for 
disability May, 1863. 

Hall, Charles, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 
16,1861. Discharged November, 1862. Disability. 

Henry, James E., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 
16, 1861. Died at Yorktown, Va., May 4, 1862. 

Hall, Willis G., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 
16, 1861. Died of wounds at South Mountain, Va., December 
28, 1862. 

Howard, George M., 18th Iowa Infantry. Enlisted April 13, 1862. 
Discharged for wounds August, 1862. Served also 6 months in 
Mexican War in 10th N. Y. Infantry. 

Howe, Ralph P., Co. D, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1862. Leg shot off in front of Petersburgh, Va. Lives at 
Washington, D. C. 

Hurdley, John B., Co. A. 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. Transferred to Invalid Corps November, 1863. 
Lives at Minneapolis, Minn. 

Hurdley, Daniel W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1861. Promoted to Major. 3 years. 

Henry, Lewis W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. Discharged June, 1862, for disability. 

Henry, Hiram F., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted October, 
1861. Discharged as musician, by order War Department, Sep- 
tember, 1862. (Proprietor Hi Henry's Minstrels.) 

Howard, George W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1861. Discharged as musician, by order War Depart- 
ment, September, 1862. 

Kavanaugh, James, Co. D, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted under 
name of James K. Palmer, May 27, 1861. Discharged June 21, 
1864. Taken prisoner at Gettysburg, July 2, 1863. Con- 




Residence of Hon. J. M. Congdon, Chestnut Street. 




Residence of J. A. Bestrup, Erie Avenue. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 11 

fined at Libby and Belle Isle, Richmond, Va. Released on 

parole, December 23, 1863. Wounded at Richmond, August 

24, 1863. 
Kerr, Albert D., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 

1861. Promoted to Lieutenant. Wounded at Bristol Station, 

Va. Discharged order War Department. 
Kramer, Christ, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 

1861. Discharged February 26, 1863, for disability. 

Locke, Emerson, Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 

1862. 3 years. On editorial staff of Buffalo Courier. 
Lindsley, Richard, Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 

1861. 3 years. 

Lord, Albert A., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 

Matthews, Henry, 90th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 13, 
1864. 1 year. 

Matthewson, James M., Sergt. Co. K, 154th N. Y. Infantry. En- 
listed August 31, 1862. 3 years. 

Matthews, John, Co. L, 10th N. Y. Cavalry. Enlisted August 9, 

1862. Served 2 years, 3 months. 

Matthews, Joseph F., Co. L, 10th N. Y. Cavalry. Enlisted August 
9, 1862. Discharged July 31, 1865, order War Department. 

Matthews, Frank, Co. D, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 
1861. Died in lower Maryland winter of 1861. 

Morgan, Benj. F., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 

Manhart, George, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 

Manhart, Lyman, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 

Morgan, John W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. Transferred to Invalid Corps. 

McCutcheon, Edward T., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted 
September, 1861. Served 3 years and 6 months. Promoted to 
Captain. Prisoner 9 months in Charleston and Columbia, S. C, 
and Macon and Savannah, Ga. 

Miller, , Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 1861. 

Myers, Chas., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 1861. 

Oglivie, Alex., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. 



78 HISTORICAL SKETCH <>/•' GOWANDA, H. Y. 

Place, Thos. S., 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 1861. 
3 years. 

Parker, Thos. J., Colonel 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber 16, 1861. Resigned October, 1862. 

Persons, Kimble, Co. L, 10th N. Y. Cavalry. Enlisted August 9, 
1862. Killed in Battle of Wilderness. 

Prosser, Emmet, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 

1861. 3 years. 

Palmer, Geo. A., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 3 years. 

Parker, James W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 

Palmer, Frank G., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem,- 
ber, 1861. 

Russell, Wm. W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. 3 years. Promoted to Lieutenant. 

Rich, Joshua, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 6, l<s<>2. 
3 years. 

Roller, Wm. W., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 
16, 1861. Promoted to Lieutenant and Captain. Resigned 
January, 1865, on account of wounds. Resides at Salicla, Col. 

Rico, Corydon C, Assistant Surgeon, 154th N. Y. Infantry. En- 
listed November 3, 1862. 3 years. (No braver man and no more 
tender hearted and obliging officer than he was in the army. 
Loved by all who knew him.) Died at Jamestown, N. Y. 

Rector, Franklin, Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August 
15, 1862. 3 years. 

Russell, Ransom, Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted x\ugust 
12, 1862. 

Rudd, George, Co. L, 10th N. Y. Cavalry. Enlisted August 9, 

1862. Discharged for injuries received just after battle of Fred- 
ericksburg. 

Roffey, Wm. T., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. 3 years. 

Roffey, Wm. Henry, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Janu- 
ary, 1862. 

Statts, Wm. H., Corporal, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 

1861. Discharged June, 1864. 

Shklmadine, B. B., 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September l(i, 

1862. Killed at Battle of Chancellorsville. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. V. 79 

Statts, Thos. J., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 

18, 1861. Died in prison at Salisbury, N. C, January 18, 1864. 
Stone, John S., Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted July 21, 

"l862. 3 years. 
Stone, Peter, Co. K, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August 20, 

1862. 3 years. 
Springer, Horatio, Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 

1861. 3 years. Promoted to Lieutenant. 
Smith, Geo. F., Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 27, 

1861, as fifer. Discharged 1863 ; disability. 
Sisson, Frank S., Co. D, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May, 1861. 

Killed at Battle of Williamsburg, Va., May, 1862. 
Smith, Benj. F., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 

1861. 
Sherman, Job, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 

1861. 
Stevens, Lyman F., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted October, 

1861. Discharged November, 1862; disability. 
Shippy, Alfred H., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted October, 

1861. Died, Fairfax Seminary, April 10, 1862. 
Savage, Joseph L., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861. Lost arm at Chancellorsville, Va. Promoted to 

Sergeant-Major. 
Torrance, Stiles C, 103d Ohio Infantry. Enlisted August, 1862. 

3 years. 
Torrance, George S., 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May, 1861. 

Discharged July, 1863 ; disability. 
Tyrer, George, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 

18, 1861. Killed in Virginia. 
Tyrer, Theo., Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September 18, 

1861. 3 years. 

Twoguns, Noah, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted October, 

1862. 1 year. 

Vincent, Hiram, Sergeant Co. K, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted 
August 31, 1862. Died in prison at Richmond, Va., February 
9, 1864. Taken prisoner at Chancellorsville. 

Wilbor, Charles H., Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 
26, 1861. Discharged June, 1864. 



so HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 

Wilkinson, Benjamin, Sergeant Co. K, 154th N. Y. Infantry. En- 
listed August 30, 1862. Transferred to Veteran Reserve Corps. 

Waller, Daniel, 1st N. Y. D. G. Enlisted February 24, 1864. 
Died of disease March 17, 1865. 

White, Orlando, Co. K, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August 
11, 1862. 3 years. Now at Cattaraugus, N. Y. 

Wilkins, Franklin, Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August 
14, 1862. 3 years. 

Wright, Abraham, Co. B, 154th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted August 
14, 1862. 

Walker, Jesse L., Co. E, 72d N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted May 22, 
1862. Discharged June 21, 1864. 

Washburn, Rufus, Captain Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted 
September, 1861. Wounded at Battle of Antietam. Fives at 
Irving, N. Y. 

Whipple, Oscar F, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1861. Discharged for disability. Now lives at Buffalo, 
N. Y. 

Wilcox, James, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. 3 years and 6 months. 

Waller, Myron, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. Discharged at Ft. McHenry for disability. 

Youngs, Henry, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. Died in hospital, Virginia. 

Youngs, John, Co. A, 64th N. Y. Infantry. Enlisted September, 
1861. Died in hospital, Virginia. 

Record of veterans now or after the war residents of this village, 
but who lived, and enlisted, elsewhere : 

White, Frank, from Perrysburgh, Co. H, 90th N. Y. Infantry. 
Enlisted September, 1863. 

Arnold, Silas H., from Aurora, N. Y., Co. B, 116th N. Y. Infantry. 

Youngs, William H., from Hamburgh, N. Y., Co. A, 116th N. Y. 
Infantry. 

Phelps, Dudley, from Allegany, N. Y., Co. C, 154th N. Y. Infan- 
try. Enlisted August 6, 1862. 3 years. 

Dorsey, Henry W., from Canandaigua, N. Y., Co. F, 20th N. Y. 
Infantry. Enlisted June 22, 1864. 

Taylor, Frank. W., from Collins, 10th N. Y. Cavalry. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 81 

Gauger, Charles W., from Buffalo, 15th N. Y. H. A., Co. I. En- 
listed August 14, 1863. 2 years, 2 months. 

Brown, George P., from Coldspring, Co. A, 154th N. Y. Infantry. 
Enlisted July 24, 1862. 

Maltbie, Julius B., Capt. Co. C, 64th N. Y. Infantry, from Otto, 
N. Y. 

Arlin, Wm. H., from Fremont, O. Enlisted spring of 1862, Co. A, 
11th Ohio Infantry. 14 months. Re-enlisted in 3d Ohio Cav- 
alry. Mustered out at Columbus, O., June, 1865. 

King, Ransom G., from Collins, N. Y. Enlisted 1861, 10th N. Y. 
Cavalry. 3 years. 

Babcock, Horace, from Weyauwega, Wis., as Surgeon 2d Wisconsin 
Infantry. Enlisted December, 1862. Resigned October, 1863, 
for disability. 

Cross, Silas B., from Otto, N. Y., 9th N. Y. Cavalry. 

The following were born and lived for some time in this village, 
but lived at time of war, and enlisted, elsewhere : 

Henry and Leonard Pierce, brothers, both served in a Pennsylvania 
regiment, and without doubt died in the service. 

Alfred Davis, enlisted from Reading, Mich.; died in the service. 

Lawrence Toepp, enlisted 1864 ; wounded, discharged at close of 
the war. Died at Gowanda April 29, 1877, aged 40 years. 

John Donly, Co. K, 154th N. Y. Infantry, served 3 years. Taken 
prisoner at Gettysburg, July 1, 1863. Wounded at Rocky 
Face Ridge, Tenn. Lives at Jamestown, N. Y. 

John M. Henry, Lieut. 154th N. Y. Infantry. Served 3 years. 
Taken prisoner at Gettysburg, July 1, 1863. Confined in 
Southern prisons 22 months. Died at Fond du Lac, Wis. 

During the War of the Rebellion so much of public interest was 
occurring, that to receive more than passing notice an incident must 
be of more than usual interest. 

Co. A, of the 64th Regiment N. Y. Vols., was recruited largely 
from this locality, and naturally the departure of this company for 
the seat of war was a matter of deep interest to the people of this 
vicinity, so much so that the ladies of the village prepared a flag, 
which was presented to the company. 



82 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

The following account of what took place on that occasion is taken 
from the Gowanda Reporter, under date of September 20, 1861 : 

Presentation of a Banner to Co. A by the Ladies of Gowanda 
— Departure of the Company for Elmira — Grand Demon- 
stration by the People ! 

The ceremony of presenting a flag to Co. A by the ladies was 
interesting in the extreme. The members of the company began to 
assemble early in the day (Saturday) to arrange for an election of 
officers, which was appointed to take place at one o'clock. Long 
before that hour the relatives and friends of the recruits, together 
with a large number of other persons, came in to assist in the ovation. 
After the election was held, Lieut. Woodward formed the company 
in line in front of the armory, where each man was furnished with a 
musket, and thus equipped, for the first time assumed something of 
" the pomp and circumstance of glorious war." The Gowanda brass 
band was in attendance, and to the stirring notes of Hail, Columbia ! 
the company marched to the encampment on Jamestown Street, and, 
after remaining there a short time, the company, headed by the band, 
marched to the square in front of the Barker House, where the flag 
was presented, and the company addressed by Miss Hattie Davis, on 
the part of the ladies, as follows : 

" The ladies of Gowanda and vicinity take much pleasure at this 
time in presenting to you the Flag of our Country — the emblem of 
the Union as our fathers gave it into our hands, and we commit it to 
you to bear on the field of battle, where Treason has raised her fratri- 
cidal arm to strike a death blow to the foundations of the sacred 
Temple of Liberty, and it is with much satisfaction and heartfelt 
gratitude that we see you standing bravely forth in its defense. 

" Take, then, this flag, which we entrust to your hands, feeling cer- 
tain, as we do, that it will return with you from victory ; and when 
on the battlefield may it remind you of home and friends who are 
anxiously and prayerfully awaiting your honorable return, when our 
country shall be rescued from the hands of traitors who seek to 
despoil us of our fair inheritance. 

"Hoping to meet all of you again, in our country's name, we 
thank you for the love which you show for it in thus going forth to 
its rescue. We commend you to God, and may He watch over you 
and crown your efforts with success, so that future generations may 



THE BARKER HOUSE, 




M. H. BARKER Proprietor, 

CORNER OF MAIN AND WATER STREETS, 

GOWANDA NEW YORK. 

Mr. Barker having again assumed the proprietorship 
of this large and commodious House, is prepared to en- 
tertain the travelling community, and all who may favor 
him with their patronage, in good style. 

^g~ An Express leaves this House twice a day for 
Dayton Depot, N. Y. & E. R. R. 
Passengers conveyed to any place desired by Livery. 
Gowanda, March 11. 1859. n33tf 



Reproduced from Gowanda Krpoktbk of March 18, 1859. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 83 

honor you even as we do our forefathers; and may our flag again 
wave in triumph and peace over every portion of our beloved country. ' ' 

This address was received by the company with tremendous 
cheering. 

A patriotic song was sung by the glee club, under the supervision 
of H. Johnson, when Mr. Daniel Hurdley responded on the part of 
the company, in the following address : 

"Ladies and Gentlemen: 

" In behalf of the company, which has been doubly honored in the 
presentation of this beautiful banner by the ladies of Gowanda, I 
arise as their representative in the performance of a task, the sub- 
limity and delicacy of which has never been equalled within the 
shades of our native valley. Situated as we have been heretofore, in 
the enjoyment of domestic tranquility, and surrounded by true- 
hearted friends whose kindness has been most nobly manifested this 
evening, we must acknowledge, in severing these bonds of friendship 
and ties of kindred, that the fount of our emotions has many a sigh 
to heave, and many a tear to shed. But, friends, while we regret to 
part with so many of you for an uncertain period, we go with the 
assurance that your hopes and prayers are ever to be with us and our 
cause ; and while upon the tented field, far removed from the cher- 
ished scenes of other days, we gaze with pride upon that noble 
emblem of our country — also of your love and affection. Memory 
will recall the long-to-be-remembered scenes — these friends and this 
feeling — and nerve us with a courage unsurpassed by the defenders 
of Thermopylae. 

" Be assured, friends, that your generosity and kindness to this 
company clustered here to witness it, will never, no, never, be for- 
gotten by the humblest of its members, but will continue to live and 
ripen long after the sods have become green over the grave of 
Secession. 

" In the name of my companions, I tender to you our united 
thanks, from hearts overflowing with gratitude, for this noble gift. 
Truly, now, do we begin to realize the meaning the poet so beau- 
tifully expressed : 

' Flag of the free hearts, hope and home, 

By angel hands to valor given ; 
Thy stars have lit the welkin dome, 

And all thv hues were born in heaven.' 



84 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

" And now, friends, this is the last occasion we may ever have of 
seeing your familiar faces, or of meeting you again ; we leave you with 
our best wishes for your success, your prosperity, and your felicity. 

"And now, ladies, once more receive the heartfelt thanks of the 
company for your beautiful gift. With these words we bid you a 
reluctant yet affectionate farewell." 

Further speeches were made by Rev. C. B. Lord, Dr. Wilson, 
Messrs. Torrance, Woodbury and Hickox, when the proceedings 
were closed and the crowd dispersed. 

Monday was the time appointed for Co. A to leave, and at noon 
the members were invited by the patriotic proprietor of the Barker 
House to dine at his hotel, an invitation which was gladly accepted. 

At one o'clock the command was formed in line, and, escorted by 
the Home Guard, numbering 40 muskets, started for the railroad 
station. 

Our citizens and people from the adjoining towns, to the number 
of 800, followed in procession, making a long line of carriages, and 
thus attended, the gallant Co. A left the associations and blessings of 
home and peace for the startling adventures incident to the stirring 
times of war. 

At the battle of Fair Oaks Gen. O. O. Howard, then in command 
of a brigade, was severely wounded. At this time Maj.-Gen. Nelson 
A. Miles, then a lieutenant, was one of his staff officers. Col. T. J. 
Parker of this village was in command of the 64th Regiment, and 
after Gen. Howard was wounded Col. Parker was placed in command 
of Gen. Howard's brigade for a time, and for about a month Gen. 
Miles was one of the staff officers of Col. Parker. 






t»- 



Lodi Mansion House — Seely Blackney, Propriei 

Burned April 30, 1850. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 85 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF GOWANDA. 

By Rev. J. Emory Fisher. 



^HE writer is informed that Ralph Plumb, who came here in 
1823, was the first Presbyterian to locate in " Lodi " ; others 
of this denomination, in the persons of Joseph Plumb, the Grannises 
and Curtisses, and others, soon followed. It is not known who 
preached the first sermon, but the service was held in the room over 
Mr. Plumb's store, or in the school house on the site now occupied 
by Peter Rink's store. 

Joseph Plumb organized the first Sabbath School in the summer of 
1826, which has continued down to the present time. 

The first society of this church was organized July 1, 1827, with 
the following members : 

Joseph Plumb, Caroline Plumb, David Grannis, Lola Grannis, 
Ralph Plumb, Perthenia Plumb, Ira Curtiss, Ruth Curtiss, William 
Farnsworth, Ruth Smith, Electa Pierce, and David Grannis, Senior. 

The society adopted the name, "The Presbyterian Society of 
Lodi," and at the same time elected William R. Pierson, Phineas 
Spencer, Lewis Edwards, Albert Burke and Joseph Plumb, trustees, 
and Joseph Plumb, Elder. 

The church, as a part of the Presbytery of Buffalo, at once assumed 
its ecclesiastical duties, and was represented for the first time by 
Joseph Plumb, in its meeting of January 28, 1828. 

Rev. Erastus J. Gillett was the first regular minister, and the 
services were held in the school house. 

The growth was slow, only one uniting in 1828, four in 1829 and 
six in 1830 ; but 1831 was a year of good things — eight united by 
letter and fourteen by profession, and the twelve original stars had 
now become forty -five. 

On January 31, 1832, the church and village were honored by a 
meeting of the Presbytery of Buffalo, as the record reads, "At the 
school house in the village of Lodi." 

Under the pastorate of Rev. T. S. Harris, the church experienced 
a great revival, receiving during the year sixty-six new members, of 
whom fifty-four were converts. 



80 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 

Among the names are those of Mr. and Mrs. James Locke, Mr. 
and Mrs. A. L. Chaffee, Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Henry. 

John B. Preston was the first installed pastor. The church gave the 
call January 28, 1835, and he was installed June 28th, with prayer 
by Rev. William Bradley, sermon by Rev. Erastus J. Gillett, and the 
installation prayer by Rev. Timothy Stillman. 

The first church building was erected and dedicated in 1835, the 
first year of Mr. Preston's pastorate, and was burned February 13, 

1842, the last year of his pastorate. The church was totally de- 
stroyed, together with the minutes of the session up to that time. 
The pastor was teaching in the basement when the fire broke out. 
The erection of a new building was commenced soon after and when 
nearly completed, and about five o'clock on the evening of March 3," 

1843, it was discovered to be on fire, but was extinguished before 
serious damage was done. 

Rev. Sylvester Cowles became pastor the same year, and held ser- 
vice in the hall of the hotel at the corner of Perry and Buffalo streets 
while the church was being completed. 

In 1886, the building erected in 1843 was entirely rebuilt and ex- 
tended, through the generosity of Mr. Franklin F. Spencer of 
Chicago, a former resident and merchant of this village, at an expense 
of about $12,000, who also established in connection with it a free 
library, called the Mary Spencer Library, in memory of his daughter. 

The building was dedicated February 24, 1887 ; the ceremonies, 
among other things, consisted of the dedicatory sermon by Rev. 
Albert H. Plumb, D. D., of Boston, Mass., a former member of the 
Sunday School of this church, and the presentation of the church and 
the delivery of the keys to the trustees, by Mr. Spencer, on behalf of 
the children of Phineas Spencer and Zebedee A. Macomber. 

The following is a list of the ministers who have served this church, 
with the terms of their pastorate : 

Erastus J. Gillett, 1828-1832. 

T. S. Harris, 1832-1834. 

John B. Preston, 1835-1842. 

Sylvester Cowles, 1842-1844. 

L. A. Skinner, 1*44-1840. 

R. S. Goodman, 1847-184*. 

J. H. Rice, 184!). 

J. C. Knapp, 1850. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO IV AND A, N. V. 



87 



L. S. Morgan, 1851-1854. 

S. G. Orton, 1854-1857. 

A. Cooper, 1857-1859. 

C. B. Lord, 1860-1865. 

S. Warren, 1866. 

Sylvester Cowles, 1867-1874. 

J. V. C. Nellis, 1875-1878. 

W. W. Nason, 1878-1879. 

John A. Wells, 1879-1881. 

M. F. Tripp, 1882. 

O. L. White, 1882-1883. 

Albert B. Robinson, 1884-1892. 

Frank H. Cofran, 1893-1895. 

J. Emory Fisher, 1895 to the present time. 




HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V, 



THE GOWANDA METHODIST EPISCOPAL 

CHURCH. 



*"p() COVER a period of seventy years of church history in a short 
article is something hardly to be thought of. 

Records are not always carefully kept, and the recollections of per- 
sons are sometimes at fault, hence a correct record covering so long a 
period is a practicable impossibility. 

What here appears is as nearly correct as can be obtained, the data 
for the same being taken from an article published in the Gowanda 
Herald April 12, 1881), written by the Rev. J. W. Wright, then the 
pastor, and from information received from the Rev. J. B. Country- 
man, the present pastor. 

Although the corner stone in the present church bears the date of 
1832, yet the official records do not go farther back than 1835. 

At that time the charge was known as Lodi Circuit. The first 
place of worship was a school house, that stood on the north end of 
the same lot on which the church now stands. 

The first quarterly meeting was held in a barn, near where the 
Union Hotel now stands. 

The following are some of those who composed the church at that 
time : Nathan Cass and wife, Josiah Cass and wife, Leonard Johnson 
and wife, Dr. Merritt, the mother and sister of the late Francis H. 
Root of Buffalo, Mrs. Moffit, Mrs. Lee, Miss Anderson and Miss 
Ruba Chaffee. 

The first quarterly conference of the Lodi Circuit was held January 
24, 1835. Wm. Babcock was the preacher in charge, and Rev. Mr. 
Yeager, Presiding Elder. 

There were evidently other Methodist preachers that preached 
through this section before that, but the record does not give their 
names. 

Luring 1836 Wm. Babcock and J. H. Whalan were still the circuit 
preachers, as they were called. 

At the conference held in that year, Hugh Ealy was sent on as the 
preacher in charge. 




Residence of J. E. Van Deusen, Chapel Street. 




Residence of George H. Swift, Jamestown Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 89 

About this time Amasa L. Chaffee, James Locke and Titus Roberts 
appear as new names on the official list. 

In 1837, Gustavus Hines became the preacher in charge, and in 
1839 H. N. Seaver, and it would appear as though Alpha Wright was 
also on the circuit at that time. 

It was during this year that Titus Roberts was first licensed as a 
local preacher. The next minister in charge was F. Atchinson, and 
he, in turn, was followed by J. P. Kent, about 1842. 

The conference of 1843 brought Porter McKinstry on the field. 

The regular church records from 1844 to 1852 were burned in the 
fire of 1856, but it appears that James Whited was the preacher in 
charge in 1845, W. S. Tuttle in 1852, who was followed the same 
year by James Kinard, and following him came James McClelland. 

In 1853, D. Fields was put in charge here. He was a Vermonter, 
and was familiarly known as Father Fields. In 1854 came Alonzo 
Newton. 

The conference of 1856 brought Rev. Mr. Moran, or Morgan, as 
pastor. He was, in turn, followed by Rev. Isaac Foster ; he, by Charles 
Strong, and he, by C. D. Brooks. During 1859 the name of E. E. 
Chambers appears, but what his relation to the charge was is not 
clearly stated. He is reported as pastor, and in March of the same 
year Walter Gorden is referred to as being in charge. It may be 
there was a change made during the year, as that sometimes occurs. 
In October, 1860, came the Rev. W. D. Buck, who recently died in 
Buffalo. 

It will be remembered that at about this time occurred the great 
schism in the church, which resulted in the formation of the Free 
Methodist Church. 

In the fall of 1863 A. P. Ripley was appointed Presiding Elder of 
the district, and M. H. Rice, preacher in charge. In 1864 came J. 
J. Roberts, and in 1868, C. D. Burlingham, at which time W. S. 
Tuttle, a former pastor, was made Presiding Elder, but retired soon 
after, on account of poor health, and made his home in Akron, where 
he died February 11, 1889. 

In the regular exchanges, Rev. Harris Peck was at this time sent 
on the charge and E. A. Rice on the district. 

In 1873, W. D. Buck was returned a second time as pastor ; fol- 
lowing him came E. A. Rice as preacher in charge, and R. L. Waite 
as Presiding Elder. 

Next came J. W. Sanborn, who did good work, especially among 



90 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 

the Indians. He was initiated into the .Seneca tribe, being given a 
name which means " Light from the sky." 

In 1879, Dr. D. W. C. Huntington was appointed to the district, 
and W. B. Cliff as pastor here. 

In October, 1882, A. N. Fisher came on to the district and T. T. 
Rowe was appointed to Gowanda, remaining two years. He was fol- 
lowed in the fall of 1884 by G. M. Harris. It was during the third 
year of Mr. Harris' pastorate that the present church was begun, and 
which was finished the following year. 

In the fall of 1887 came J. W. Wright, who was succeeded in 1890 
by A. A. Craw, who remained one year, being followed in 1891 by 
Charles H. Norris, and he, in turn, was succeeded by J. B. Country- 
man, the present pastor, in 1896. 

The present membership of the church is 164. 

The present church building was erected in 1887 and '88, by Silas 
Vinton, contractor, at an expense of about $12,000. It was built 
largely through the generosity of Francis H. Root, late of Buffalo, a 
former resident of this village. The church is a commodious struc- 
ture, covering a ground space of 3,823 square feet, and has a tower 
105 feet in height. 

The church was formally dedicated February 29, 1888, by Bishop 
Hurst. An extended account of this interesting event appears in 
Our Public Interests, the paper published here at that time, in its 
issue of March 1st, which also contains a fine cut of the building. 

Among the old-time ministers, in addition to the above, the dates 

of whose pastorates cannot be given, were Seager, Bunson, 

Soleman Judd, Amos Wooster, John Bowman and Chaucy Baker. 

The Board of Trustees of the church at present is as follows : 

O. B. VanDeusen, President ; Truman D. Keyes, Secretary ; W. 
H. Britton, Jr., Treasurer; Philander Hurd, A. T. Johnson, F. D. 
Hall, B. R. Johnson, W. D. Nagle and Charles W. Gauger. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO IV AN DA, X. V. 91 



THE FREE METHODIST CHURCH OF 
GOWANDA. 

By Rev. William Jones. 



*T^HE Free Methodist Church, as a denomination, was organized 
by a convention of laymen and ministers, which met at Pekin, 
N. Y., on the 23d day of August, 1860. 

The Free Methodist Society of Gowanda was organized in 1861, 
and their first meetings were held at the residence of Ashbel R. 
Sellew. The society was composed of from twenty-five to thirty 
members, prominent among which were Titus Roberts, Samuel C. 
Springer, William T. Smallwood and John B. Knowls. 

The present church building was erected soon after, and on the 
13th day of March, 1862, was dedicated by its founder, the Rev. 
Benjamin T. Roberts, who was elected general superintendent 
at the first general conference, which position he held to the 
time of his death, which occurred a few years ago, at Cattaraugus, 
N. Y. 

Rev. B. T. Roberts received his academic education at Lima, 
N. Y. , and his collegiate course at the Wesleyan University, Middle- 
town, Conn. 

The first minister in charge of this church at Gowanda was Charles 
Hudson, in 1861, and his successors were as follows : 

D. M. Sinclair, 1862. 

William Jones, 1863. 

J. B. Freeland, 1864. 

William Jackson, 1865. 

William Manning, 1866, '67. 

C. D. Brooks, 1868, '69. 

A. N. Moore, 1870, '71. 

J. W. McAlpine, 1872, '73. 

J. C. White, 1874. 

M. H. Monroe, 1875. 

R. W. Hawkins, 1876. 



92 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 

A. B. Matthewson 1877, '78. 

A. A. Burgess 1879, '80. 

William Jackson, 1881, '82. 

W. W. Brown, 1883. 

A. C. Leonard, 1884. 

A. H. Bennett, 1885, '86. 

M. (). Merriott, 1887, '88. 

C. C. Egleston, 1889, '90. 

E. C. Best, 1891, '92, '!):!. 

James Bradbrook, 1894. 

Thomas Slocum, 189-1, '96. 

The charge has since been supplied by William [ones. 










HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, N. Y. 93 



THE LUTHERAN CHURCH OF GOWANDA. 

By Rev. L. Ulmer. 



"P FFORTS were made some twenty-eight or thirty years ago to 
"^ start a society of this church here, but without much success. 

The present society was organized in 1877 by the Rev. J. Heiniger 
of Dunkirk, N. Y., then president of the Lutheran Immanuel Synod. 

The organization was completed Sunday, June 12, 1887 ; eleven 
Lutherans were present and took part in the organization. 

The society chose as a name ' ' Evangelical Lutheran Trinity Con- 
gregation of Gowanda, N. Y." At this meeting a constitution, 
written by the Rev. J. Heiniger, was adopted, and an executive 
board, consisting of J. P. Brueck, Fr. Ley and G. Thene, were ap- 
pointed to extend an invitation to all German Lutherans to join the 
congregation. 

July 10, 1887, the congregation decided to extend a call to Rev. 
Fred Possin to be its pastor. 

The next Sunday a board of nine officers were elected, including 
three elders, three deacons and three trustees. J. P. Brueck was 
made president of the congregation, and the board ; G. Flogous, 
vice-president ; Fred. Wiegand, treasurer, and C. Andrus, secretary. 

In September, 1887, it was voted to purchase a site for a church, 
and the present site on the north-east corner of Erie Avenue and Park 
Street was bought and the present church building built thereon, 
which was dedicated November 25, 1888. 

The entire expense of buying the lot and building the church was 
about §2,300, of which a debt of SI, 300 was incurred. This entire 
sum had been paid by December, 18H6, leaving the church property 
free from debt. 

The corner stone of the new church was laid June 3, 1888, by the 
Rev. J. Heiniger, who delivered the sermon ; remarks were also 
made by the Rev. Albert B. Robinson, pastor of the Presbyterian 
Church, extending the congratulations of the oldest church in 
Gowanda to the youngest. 



94 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 



The dimensions of the church are thirty by fifty feet. The dedica- 
tion of the new church took place Sunday, November 25, 1888, and 
was conducted by the Rev. L. Ulmer, assisted by Rev. A. B. Robin- 
son of the Presbyterian Church. 

The membership at present is twenty-two. The Young Ladies' 
Society, connected with the church, was organized in 1891, and now 
has a membership of seventeen. 

During the past ten years fifty-nine young men and women have 
been confirmed here. 

The church has a prosperous Sunday School, consisting of about 
sixty children and nine teachers. 

Since 1888 thirty-eight funerals have taken place in this congrega- 
tion ; the Lord's Supper has been administered forty times, to about 
1,000 communicants. 

January 29, 1888, the writer became the pastor of the church. 
Was installed, April l<Sth, in the Free Methodist Church, by the 
President of the Lutheran Immanuel Synod, Rev. J. Heiniger, 
assisted by Rev. W. E. Rommel of Salamanca, and has continued 
such pastor down to the present time. 




fORUGS a MEDICINES., 




Allen Brothers' Drug Store, Jamestown Street. 











1 










I 


• 
















"""■ '^^B^ 


B^.JM 


■P 


Ff~ 




























' 



Gowanda Canning Company, Commercial Street. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N Y. 



95 



ST. JOSEPH'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH. 



THE PRESENT church building, on the west side of Erie 



1 



Avenue, was built in 1887 



For about twenty years prior to that time services were held in 
Peter Rink's Hall, over his store, on the west side of Buffalo Street ; 
during the latter part of the time by Father J. H. Leddy. For about 
one and a half years, just before the church was built, services were 
held at the house of William Kennedy. 

The building committee of the new church were : Peter Rink, 
Joseph Nabor, Jr., William Kennedy, William Smith, Cornelius 
Collins, Peter Freeman and Henry Salzler. 

Since the church was built, the following priests have been in 
charge here : 

O. Hogenforst, J. Wilber, John Nash, Adolph,* Daly, 

Thomas Harrack, John Tracey. Father Tracey being now in charge. 



The Holy Cross Cemetery, in connection with the church, con- 
sists of one acre of land on the hill east of the village, and was deeded 
for that purpose October 10, 1884. 

Peter Rink, who is a liberal supporter of the church, assisted 
materially in building the church, and advanced all the money, some 
), with which to purchase the land for the cemetery. 




96 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 



THE LEGAL FRATERNITY IN GOWANDA. 



AT ONE time and another there have lived and practiced their 
profession in this village thirty-eight lawyers. Many of them 
have died, others have moved away, and are now living at other 
places, and six are here yet, to wit: J. M. Congdon, Fred J. 
Blackmon, I. R. Leonard, Ward J. YVilber, G. M. Congdon and 
Theodore F. Welch. 

The list of those who have been here at some time is as follows : 
Albert G. Burke, Chester Howe, L. H. Hewett, Ashbel H. Hurd, 
I). C. bailey, John W. Turner, Ira E. Irish, Chas. S. Macomber, J. 
M. Parker, A. M. Brown, William Woodbury, C. C. Torrance, M. 
T. Jenkins, J. W. Deuel, A. A. Bruce, Mark W. Fletcher, George B. 
Wood, Julian C. Converse, Henry F. Allen, Frank S. Smith, Frank 
A. Newell, Hudson Ansley, Charles W. Blackney, J. M. Congdon, 
George M. Rider, Hudson H. Parke, E. M. Sanger, I. R. Leonard, 
E. Cook, Fred J. Blackmon, H. W. Allen, 0. I). Sprague, G. M. 
Congdon, Ward J. Wilber, F. S. Thorpe, J. K. Brown, David F. 
Urmy and Theodore F. Welch. 




HISTORICAL SKETCH OF COWAN DA, N. Y. 97 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION IN GOWANDA. 



T N POINT of numbers the lawyers seem to have the better of the 
doctors, but on the theory that possibly one doctor can do as 
much good as two lawyers, perhaps the proportion is all right. 

Twenty-seven doctors have practiced their profession in Gowanda, 
of which the following are now living and practicing here : Horace 
Babcock, Corydon C. Johnson, J. G. Rugg, Albert D. Lake, John D. 
Zwetsch, Burnell R. Johnson and Walter Vosburgh. 

The list complete so far as known is as follows : Sands Niles 

Crumb, Phipps Lake, T. P. Whipple, Benjamin, Merrick, 

Seth Field, Merritt, Fritts, Stephen B. Green, Dav- 
ison, Samuel G. Ellis, John S. Shugert, Horace Babcock, Corydon 
C. Rugg, Corydon C. Johnson, John F. Allen, George W. Barr, 
George C. DeLamater, Harley L. Atwood, J. G. Rugg, R. E. Moss, 
Ernest Von Schulenburg, F. D. Pierce, John D. Zwetsch, Albert D. 
Lake, Burnell R. Johnson and Walter Vosburgh. 



Since the above was written, and on June 6, 1898, Dr. Corydon 
C. Johnson has died, and it seems appropriate some mention should be 
made of that fact here. 

Dr. Johnson has practiced his profession continuously in Gowanda 
since 1864, and had a deservedly large practice. For many years he 
was president of the Board of Education, and in many other ways was 
identified with the welfare and prosperity of this village. 

Three sons and a daughter mourn the loss of a kind father, and the 
village one of its best citizens. 




98 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, N. V. 

THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

By J. P. Brueck. 



"P^IRE causes more or less damage in all thickly settled communi- 
ties, and this village is no exception to that rule. 

Probably, our most destructive fire was the one that has since been 
referred to as "The Great Fire of 1856," in which from $100,000 to 
$125,000 worth of property was destroyed. 

The Chronicle, published here at the time, was completely burned 
out, and so far as appears was never published afterwards. 

However, a detailed statement of the fire was printed in the New 
Yorker of Gowanda, under date of November 24, 1857, from data 
furnished by James M. Joy. From that article, and from an article 
by William H. Stuart, published in the Gowanda Herald, May 8, 
1891, this statement of the fire is made up. 

The origin of the fire is a matter of doubt. It may have been the 
work of an incendiary, but it is generally believed that it originated 
from sparks from the chimney of A. R. Sellew's furnace on the east 
side, falling into combustible materials in the tub factory of Gideon 
Webster. This was about 1 o'clock P. M., April 30, 1856. 

The fire spread rapidly and soon communicated to the foundry ; 
thence, the sparks were carried by a northeast wind across the creek 
and communicated with the barn of Dr. S. G. Ellis, on property 
afterwards owned by L. S. Jenks, and now by H. R. Gaensslen. 

Soon the bridge, a wooden-covered structure, was on fire, and the 
draft was so great that the flame shot through and struck the Mansion 
House, then kept by Seley Blackney, on the corner of Main and 
Jamestown streets. This was a magnificent building, with three 
stories and a basement, and was totally destroyed. Almost at the 
same time the Lodi House, kept by M. H. Barker, on the corner of 
Main and Water streets (the present site of the store of Arnold & 
Wallace), was on fire and was also burned. 

At the time of the fire there were buildings on the creek side of 
Water Street, all of which were burned. Beginning at the bridge, 
and going up stream, there were the tailor shop of John Wilbor, in 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOIVANDA, N. Y. 99 

which from 1845 to 1849 was kept the post-office; H. Palmer's har- 
ness shop, Z. Hanford's tailor shop, T. J. Parker's tailor shop. Below 
the bridge the grocery of L. N. Gardner and J. P. Roller's meat 
market. 

The following buildings were burned : 

H. N. Hooker's store, dwelling house and barn ; the Lodi House 
and barn, M. H. Barker, proprietor; William Woodbury's law office, 
also occupied by J. M. Joy as a dwelling ; the Mansion House and 
barn ; two stores, including the post-office, dwelling house and barn, 
property of D. N. Brown, postmaster ; John Pierce's house and barn; 
E. Dake's shoe shop; house owned by Porter Welch, and T. How- 
ard's bakery, all lying between Main and Jamestown streets ; E. S. & 
J. S. Griswold's grocery; Hiram Palmer's harness shop; John P. 
Roller's meat market; N. Blackney's grocery ; T. J. Parker's cloth- 
ing store ; Porter Welch's dry goods store, storehouse and barn ; 
Odd Fellows' Hall; Zimri Warner's clothing store; Gideon Webster's 
building, occupied by A. Needham as a shoe shop ; A. L. Chaffee's 
dry goods store ; Sellew's Block, including his hardware store, milli- 
nery store of Miss Eliza G. Agard, and the Chronicle office ; Charles 
Rollinson's furniture store and a large quantity of lumber; M. F. 
Crandall's gun shop ; grocery, dwelling and barn of L. Orr ; H. K. 
Dawson's wagon shop, and a lot of lumber ; William Dauber's black- 
smith shop ; dwelling of H. M. Morgan. On the east side, A. R. 
Sellew's furnace; Gideon Webster's pail factory; Asahel Camp's 
woolen factory, dry house and boarding house ; the Webster Block, 
occupied by Gideon Webster as a dry goods store, and E. N. Warner 
as a grocery; E. W. Henry's store, house and barn; the old grist 
mill and saw mill of Ralph Plumb ; the veneering shop of McMillen 
& Bugbee, and the wooden bridge. 

The fire raged from one till four ; by that time every business place 
on the Erie side was destroyed except the Plumb Block, the old wool 
carding mill and saw and flour mill ; on the Cattaraugus side, on Main 
Street, all buildings on the north side to the old brick office, now the 
site of Phelps' drug store, and on the south side to Adelia Water- 
man's house, now owned by J. F. Matthews ; all buildings on James- 
town Street, to B. Davis' shop, now Frank Davis' shop, on that side, 
and to the present residence of S. L. Stebbins, near the livery stable 
on that side ; on Water Street, up stream, to Hiram Palmer's house, 



Kin HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANJDA, N. V. 

nearly opposite the Enterprise Building, and down stream to the 
house above the Fields House. 

Probably the next largest fire was that of October 1.!, 1875, which 
burned the Barker House and barn, the Hanford Building and the 
store and dwelling of H. N. Hooker, and other property. 

From time to time the propriety of procuring fire protection had 
been discussed, but without results. 

Torrance's grist mill and Dean's saw mill were burned February 3, 
1884. As a result, a special village election was called for March oth, 
at which, by a vote of 14(5 to 11, the board of trustees were authorized 
to expend $5,000 for fire protection. 

On March 6th the board closed a contract with the Silsby Manu- 
facturing Co. of Seneca Falls for one steam fire engine, two hose 
tarts and 1,000 feet of Eureka hose, at a cost of $3,200. 

On March 19, 1884, the fire department was organized with the 
following companies : 

Erie Hose Co. No. 1, M. T. Hill Hose Company No. 2, Gaenss- 
len Hose Co. No. 3, Gowanda Steamer Co. No. 1, Vinton H. & L. 
Co. No. 1, Dankert Engine Co. No. 2. 

To the above have been added the following companies : 

T. D. Keyes Hose Co. No. 4, June 11, 1894; W. R. Smallwood 
Hose Co. No. 5, March 19, 1898. 

April 19, 1898, the Dankert Engine Company disbanded, leaving 
at present seven active companies in the department. 

The following persons have been chiefs of the department : 

Frank C. Vinton, 1884; W. H. Bard, 1885 to 1888; L. W. 
Beach, 1889 ; J. Peter Brueck, 1800 to . 

The following have served as assistant chiefs of the department : 

George B. Taylor, H. R. Gaensslen, William Smith, W. G. Van 
Ostrand, R. E. Moss, W. R. Smallwood, O. D. Sprague, Samuel 
Inskip, Truman Withered, S. G. Keyes, R. C. Noblett and G. M. 
Congdon. 

April 15, 1885, the fire board was organized, with John J. Horton 
as secretary and treasurer, who continued as such to 1890, since 
which time F. L. Mattocks has been secretary and treasurer, till the 
fire board was abolished. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 101 

By the Laws of 1<S!)7, the fire council took the place of the fire 
board, and the same is now officered as follows : 

J. P. Brueck, chief, president ; H. R. Gaensslen, 1st assistant 
chief, 1st vice-president ; G. M. Congdon, 2d assistant chief, 2d vice- 
president ; John Collins, secretary ; F. M. Davis, treasurer ; Joseph 
Kehrer, collector. 

The council also includes the following members from each com- 
pany, who are designated as Fire Wardens : 

Erie Hose No. 1, Fred Ley, foreman, and Charles Straub. 
M. T. Hill Hose No. 2, F. M. Davis, foreman, and R. A. Noblett. 
Gaensslen Hose No. 3, Jos. Kehrer, foreman, and Geo. Kramer. 
T. D. Keyes Hose No. 4, E. Bardwell, foreman, and John Collins. 
W. R. Smallwood Hose No. 5, L. Holcomb, foreman, and W. 
Van Deusen. 

Steamer Co. No. 1, R. M. Hussey, foreman, and J. Ward. 
H. & L. Co. No. 1, John Falk, foreman, and M. McGuire. 

The department now has 102 active members, thirty-four active 
exempts, and forty honorary exempts. Total, 176. 

The property of the department inventories at $6,403.45, in 
addition to the property of separate companies and individual mem- 
bers. 

The electric fire alarm system embraces eight miles of wire, eleven 
alarm stations and twenty-nine call bells. 

There are also seventeen hydrants scattered through the village, 
connected with the gravity system of the Gowanda Waterworks Co., 
which have a continual pressure averaging about seventy-four pounds 
to the inch. 

The efficiency of the fire department has been demonstrated many 
times, and while at first by some it was considered an experiment, it 
is now conceded by all to be an assured fact. 

The department is supplied with one Silsby steamer, one hand 
engine, two hook and ladder trucks, four hose carts, one supply 
wagon, 2,500 feet of hose, thirteen play pipes, and sundry other 
articles which go to make the equipment of a good fire department. 



102 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 



HOMEOPATHIC STATE HOSPITAL. 



PHE Homeopathic State Hospital grounds are situated within 
about one half mile from the village limits, and Gowanda is 
designated by law as the place of communication with the hospital. 

The hospital was created by an Act of the Legislature in 1894 to 
afford to the homeopathic medical profession and its adherents a hospi- 
tal, and the securing to them the care and treatment of their insane 
upon homeopathic principles of medicine. To this end, and by virtue 
of the Act referred to, a tract of 500 acres in the town of Collins, 
and known as the "Taylor tract," was purchased in 1894 from the 
county of Erie, which had acquired possession of it for a hospital for 
its insane before the present system of State care had been inaugurated 
in this State. The history of the movement which resulted in the 
purchase of this tract of land by the County of Erie is briefly as 
follows : 

In 1888 the Legislature authorized the County of Erie to select a 
suitable site, and to erect the required buildings for the care and 
maintenance of the chronic and indigent insane in Erie County, and 
acting under this law the Board of Supervisors appointed a committee 
to select a suitable site for the proposed County hospital. Our towns- 
man, Mr. Fred J. Blackmon, was then Supervisor of the town of 
Collins, and he presented to such committee the "Taylor" tract. 
The committee visited and inspected more than twenty farms in Erie 
County, and after such inspection unanimously recommended the pur- 
chase of the "Taylor" tract. The report of this committee to the 
Board of Supervisors embodied many statements setting forth the 
superior quality of this tract of land for the purposes proposed, the 
following, condensed therefrom, being the most prominent : 

" The premises consist of 500 acres situated in the town of Collins, 
near Gowanda, the Erie Railroad crossing the farm, thereby furnish- 
ing ample railroad accommodations. The farm, being sheltered on all 
sides by higher lands, is, to a certain extent, protected from strong 
and bleak winds, thereby lengthening at least a month the time for 




The Lodi House, North Corner Main and Water Streets. 

Burned April 30, 1856. 




** C% 1 1 1 



KiiiST::, 



♦ t 



State Homeopathic Hospital, Gowanda, N. Y. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. V. 103 

the outdoor life of patients, and also lengthening the season for the 
planting, maturing, and gathering of crops. The farm consists of no 
waste or unproductive land. The soil is of a warm, fertile loam, that, 
under proper cultivation, will return abundant crops ; free from mias- 
matic contamination, and quickly becomes dry after rain. It contains 
within its own limits facilities for complete and thorough drainage, 
and an abundant supply of portable water. 

Hon. Wm. P. Letchworth, President of the State Board of Chari- 
ties, presented a report to the Board of Supervisors regarding this 
tract of land, in which he says : 

"After a careful, patient and unbiased examination of the several 
tracts referred to, I arrive at the conclusion that what is designated 
by your committee as the "Taylor tract " is well adapted to meet 
the needs of the chronic insane of Erie County as regards their health, 
care and comfort, and that it is capable of satisfying all reasonable 
expectation as to economical maintenance. I do not hesitate, there- 
fore, to recommend it for your consideration. 

"I may say further, however, that having in view all the require- 
ments for an insane hospital of the kind proposed, I think this tract 
possesses these requirements in a greater degree than any hospital 
farm I have ever seen, not excepting the fine estate of 800 acres 
surrounding the Alt-Scherbitz asylum, situate in a charming and 
sheltered valley on the banks of the little river Elster, in Saxon 
Prussia. 

" Should careful judgment be exercised in the development of the 
property on the simple cottage plan, and its affairs be well ad- 
ministered, I see nothing in the way of making the proposed hospital 
a credit to Erie County, the pride even of the whole State and a 
model for other countries." 

Soon following the purchase of this tract of land by the County of 
Erie, and before it had inaugurated a hospital for itself, the "State 
Care ' ' Act went into effect, and all the insane were transferred to 
State hospitals. By subsequent legislation this tract of land was taken 
from the County of Erie by the State, and when the present hospital 
was created by the Laws of 1894, as above referred to, the State 
turned over this tract of land to the hospital. 



lui HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 

No appropriation was made in 1K!)4, but the Legislature in 1895 
appropriated $25,000 for building a sewer from the hospital to the 
( Cattaraugus Creek, and developing its water supply, and for the gen- 
eral management and preparation of the farm for a hospital. But little 
work was accomplished in 1<S!IT), but in l<Si)6 a sewer was constructed 
at a cost of $14,000, the water supply developed, and the commence- 
ment of the building of a hospital inaugurated, and since then appro- 
priations have been made from time to time, and buildings have 
progressed, with as much rapidity as is consistent in the building of 
buildings of this character. 

There was erected in lS!)(i-!)7 an administration building, one-story 
annex and a hospital wing, at a cost of $143,000, and there is now 
under course of erection a water tower and water plant costing 
$13,000, a power house costing $36,000, an additional wing costing 
$65,000, and a laundry, kitchen, dining room and bakery, at a cost of 
about 8100,000. 

The first Board of Managers consisted of 

Dr. William Tod Helmuth of New York City. 

Dr. H. M. Paine of Albany, N. Y. 

Mr. S. Lewis Soule of Collins, N. Y. 

This Board of Managers was succeeded in 1895 by 

Dr. William Tod Helmuth of New York City. 

Dr. Asa Stone Couch of Fredonia, N. Y. 

Mr. Fred J. Blackmon of Gowanda, N. Y. 

By the Insanity law, which was passed by the Legislature in 1896, 
the Board of Managers was increased to seven, and the present Board 
consists of 

Dr. William Tod Helmuth of New York City. 
Dr. Asa Stone Couch of Fredonia, N. Y. 
Dr. Edwin H. Wolcott of Rochester, N. Y. 
Dr. Frank B. Ormes of Jamestown, N. Y. 
Dr. George W. Seymour of Westfield, N. Y. 
Mr. Fred J. Blackmon of Gowanda, N. Y. 
Mr. O. P. Letchworth of Buffalo, N. Y. 
The officers of the Board are 
Dr. William Tod Helmuth. President. 
Mr. Fred J. Blackmon, Secretary and Treasurer. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V, 



105 



In March, 1897, Dr. George Allen, then of the Middletown State 
Hospital, was appointed Medical Superintendent of the hospital, and 
continued until his death in November, 1897. 

In March, 1898, he was succeeded by Dr. Daniel H. Arthur, of 
Middletown, as Medical Superintendent, who is now in charge of the 
hospital. 

It is expected by the Board of Managers that the hospital buildings 
will be completed and equipped, and the hospital become operative, 
about the 1st of September of this year, and will accommodate at the 
outset about 400 patients. The Board of Managers anticipate con- 
tinued building and development until the hospital will sustain at 
least 1,500 patients. 




10(5 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. Y. 



GOWANDA CHAPTER, No. 136, ROYAL ARCH 

MASONS. 

By Dr. A. D. Lake. 



This Chapter was organized on the third day of October, 1851, 
under the name of Forestville Chapter, No. 136, at Forestville, N. Y. 
The following named companions were the first officers : 

Albert H. Camp, High Priest. 

Marshall Cass, King. 

William Colville, Scribe. 

James Locke, Captain of the Host. 

Elias Hall, Principal Sojourner. 

David D. Parker, Royal Arch Captain. 

Reuben Ward, Master of 3d Vail. 

Daniel B. Parsons, Master of 2d Vail. 

Samuel Aikin, Master of 1st Vail. 

George Hopkins, Secretary. 

Charles Brown, Treasurer. 

From the beginning a large portion of the membership was from 
this village and its neighboring villages, Perrysburgh and Versailles, 
in fact, the second Master Mason to become a member of the new 
Chapter was Myron M. Parker, then, and now, a resident of Versailles. 

From the fact that so many Masons living in or near Gowanda 
were earnestly interested in the organization it was thought its best 
interests would be promoted by its removal here, which was accord- 
ingly done on the first day of March, 1859. 

On the 22d day of March, 1864, it again changed its location, 
going to Perrysburgh. Still another change was in store, and on July 
21, LS85, it was moved back to Gowanda, and soon after the name 
was changed to Gowanda Chapter. 

The following named Companions have filled the position of High 
Priest since the organization of the Chapter: 

Albert H. Camp, William Colville, Albert W. Hull, David F. 
Moody, Frank Campbell, Adolphus M. DeLong, Byron L. Kimble, 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. V. 107 

Truman D. Keyes and Glenn M. Congdon, the last named being the 
present High Priest. 

The other officers of the Chapter at present are as follows : 

Byron L. Kimble, King. 

Norman B. Allen, Scribe. 

J. E. Van Deusen, Captain of the Host. 

William N. Wallace, Principal Sojourner. 

Asher C. Stafford, Royal Arch Captain. 

Richard P. Johnson, Master of 3d Vail. 

John Ward, Master of 2d Vail. 

J. W. Dauber, Master of 1st Vail. 

A. M. DeLong, Secretary. 

J. W. Dauber, Treasurer. 

Charles W. Gauger, Tiler. 

The Chapter is in a flourishing condition with a large membership. 




L08 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V. 



PHOENIX LODGE, No. 262, F. & A. M. 



This lodge was organized and has since continued in this village. 
The first meeting was under a dispensation from the Grand Lodge 
and was held December 8, 1851, the following acting as officers : 

Elias Hall, W. M.: William S. Herrick, S. W. ; David D. Parker. 
J. W. ; James Locke, treasurer; A. L. Chaffee, secretary: James 
Locke, S. D.; Samuel Aikin, J. D. ; and George H. Hall, Tiler. 

The initiation fee was fixed at 815, but has since been raised to §25. 

The lodge was granted a charter under date of June 16, 1852, and 
on August 3, 1<S52, the first set of officers were installed as follows : 

Elias Hall, W. M.; William S. Herrick, S. W. ; David I). Parker, 
J. W.; James Locke, treasurer; A. L. Chaffee, secretary; Samuel 
Aikin, S. D. ; Josiah Cass, J. D. ; George H. Hall, Tiler. 

For many years up to 1884 the lodge held its meetings in the third 
story of the building owned by B. L. Kimble, adjoining the present 
site of the Commercial Hotel. The last meeting was held in that 
room November 12, 1884, when the lodge leased its present hall in 
the new brick store of Enoch Taylor on the north side of Main Street, 
then just completed. The first meeting in the new rooms was held 
November 19, 1884. 

On December 4, 1884, the new rooms were dedicated by^M. W. 
William A. Brodie, then Grand Master of Masons of the State of New 
York. This occasion probably witnessed one of the largest Masonic 
gatherings ever assembled in this village. 

4'he lodge calendar for 1897 shows a membership of 125. 

Since receiving its (barter the lodge has had the following Masters : 

Elias Hail, 1852, '53. 

William S. Herrick, 1854, '55. 

David I). Parker 1856. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 



109 



V. A. Lord, . . . 












1857, 


'58. 


Harmon Kelly, . 








1859. 




H. S. Stebbins, . 












1860. 




J. Savage, . 












1861. 




H. S. Stebbins, . 












1862. 




Harmon Kelly, . 












1868, 


'64. 


James J. Kerr, . 












1865. 




Harmon Kelly, . 












1866, 


'67. 


John S. Starr, 












1868. 




Harmon Kelly, . 












1869. 




William A. Fish, 












1870, 


'71, '72, 


William Peacock, 












1874. 




William A. Fish, 












1875, 


'76. 


J. W. Dauber, 












1877, 


'78. 


A. J. Peck, . . 












1879. 




Byron L. Kimble, 












1880, 


'81, '82. 


Edward Etsler, 












1883. 




I. R. Leonard, 












1884. 




H. F. Clark, . 












. 1885. 




William N. Wallaci 












. 1886, 


'87. 


Dr. R. E. Moss, . 












1888. 




A. C. Romer, . 












. 1889. 




A. C. Stafford, . 












. 1890, 


'91. 


Edward Etsler, 












. 1892. 




Frank C. Vinton, 












. 1893. 




I. R. Leonard, 












. 1894. 




J. P. Brueck, . 












. 1895, 


'96, '97 


P. H. Horton, 












. 1898. 





Other officers for the present year are as follows: Glenn M. 
Congdon, S. W.; B. W. Hathaway, J. W.; J. W. Dauber, treasurer; 
A. M. DeLong, secretary; W. N. Wallace, S. D.; John M. Schrott, 
J. D.; N. B. Allen, S. M. C; J. H. Wilson, J. M. C; Chas. W. 
Gauger, Tiler. 



110 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. Y. 



RELIEF LODGE, No. 328, I. 0. O. F. 

By M. N. Allen. 



This lodge was instituted by D. D. G. M. Timothy Parsons of 
Wyoming, October 13, 1847, with the following charter members : 

M. H. Barker, John B. Wilbor, A. H. Barker, Darwin R. Barker, 
Ashbel H. Hurd, Frederick E. DeWolf, Stephen W. Gould, David 
N. Brown, Myron Parker, Stephen O. Mead, Phineas S. Fish 
and George N. Mead. 

Thirty-seven new members were added, among which was A. W. 
W. Chaffee, now living here. On April 1, 1849, the lodge was 
changed to No. 61. 

During the war, from 1861 to 1865, the members became scattered 
and the lodge suspended. 

On January 8, 1884, Relief Lodge No. 511 was reorganized by 
D. D. G. M. C. D. Tuttle of East Randolph, with the following 
charter members : 

William Peacock, N. C. Cass, Joshua Allen, Edwin P. Dailey, 
Ransom W. Moss, L. S. Jenks, and the following card members, viz : 
J. P. Romer, J. A. Bestrup, Nicholas Romer, P. J. Dudney, and the 
following new members, viz : M. N. Allen, J. D. Zwetsch, Charles 
Romer, C. D. Bigelow, H. F. Clark and Peter Larsen. 

At present the officers are: George I. Lincoln, N. G.; John D. 
Studley, V. G.; M. N. Allen, secretary; and J. A. Falk, treasurer. 

David N. Brown, now of Otto, N. Y., and Myron H. Parker of 
Versailles, N. Y., are the only first charter members now living, 
while Joshua Allen is the only second charter member still a member 
of the lodge, and M. N. Allen the only one of the new made mem- 
bers of the second charter now a member here. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WAND A, N. Y. Ill 

BANNER TENT, No. 8, K. 0. T. M. 

By M. N. Allen. 



This tent was instituted June 5, 1885, with the following officers : 

Dr. R. E. Moss, Commander. 

F. W. Kammerer, Lieut. -Commander. 

M. N. Allen, Record Keeper. 

J. V. Cole, Prelate. 

A. C. Romer, Sergeant. 

E. H. Woodward, Master at Arms. 

A. T. Hanson, 1st Master of Guard. 

J. A. Bestrup, 2d Master of Guard. 

Chas. A. Palm, Sentinel. 

Joseph Lucas, Picket. 

J. H. Schaack, Past Commander. 

Subsequent Commanders have been the following : 

J. H. Schaack, 1886. 

W. C. Proctor, 1887. 

A. C. Romer, 1888. 

W. J. Grimm, 1889. 

A. H. Romans, 1890. 

W. J. Grimm, 1891. 

C. J. Straub, 1892. 

J. P. Brueck, 1893. 

C. J. Straub, 1894. 

Wm. DeRucia, 1895. 

S. E. Tiffany, 1896. 

D. W. Schultz, 1897. 

The present officers are as follows : 

Com., T. N. Witherell; L.-Com., J. P. Dean; R. K., A. T. 
Skinner; F. K., M. N. Allen. 

The above tent now has a membership of 107. Dr. R. E. Moss, 
the first Commander, is now Supreme Medical Examiner of the Order, 
with headquarters at Port Huron, Mich. 



112 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 



Among the other fraternal and other societies of the village are the 
following : 

Gowanda Lodge No. 46, A. O. U. W. — L. C. Feigel, M. W\; 

Ceo. W. Howard, Secretary. 

Darby Post No. 359, G. A. R. — J. A. Gleazen, Commander; 
G. W. Howard, Adjutant. 

W. C. T. U. — Mrs. J. E. Pratt, President ; Mrs. M. S. Torrance, 
Secretary. 

Moss Hive No. 5, L. O. T. M. — Mrs. Georgia Foster, Lady 
Com.; Mrs. Geo. Thoen, Lady R. K. 

The Gowanda Cub. — Wm. N. Wallace, President; Franklin E. 
Bard, Secretary. 

Ladies' Monday Evening Club. — Mrs. Mary L. Babcock, Presi- 
dent; Mrs. Fred Allen, Secretary. 

Go-wan-go Mohawk Tribe No. 383, I. ( ). R. M. — Instituted 
March 5, 1898. Frank L. Mattocks, Sachem ; George W. Kramer, 
Senior Sagamore ; L. J. Stafford, Keeper of Records ; J. P. Dean, 
Keeper of Wampum. Meets every Wednesday evening at Odd Fel- 
lows' Hall. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 113 



THE THOMAS ASYLUM, 



By Dr. A. D. Lake. 



PHE Thomas Asylum for Orphan and Destitute Indian Children, 
although not located within the corporate limits of the village, 
has been closely identified with Gowanda since its existence. 

A majority of its board of managers have generally been citizens of 
this place, and the same is true of the several superintendents, matrons, 
physicians and teachers who, at various times, have filled these posi- 
tions in the institution. 

This noble charity, as its name implies, is devoted to the mainte- 
nance and education of Indian children, natives of the various reserva- 
tions of the State. It is located on the Cattaraugus Reservation, and 
owns one hundred acres of the most productive land in the country. 
Fifty acres of this land was the gift of the Seneca Nation of Indians. 

Its inception is due to Rev. Asher Wright and his wife, missiona- 
ries who spent their long and active lives in unselfish and devoted 
work, teaching these Indians Christianity and civilization. 

Mr. Wright found among the Indians under his care numerous 
instances of destitution and degradation. His sympathies were espe- 
cially awakened by the condition of many of the children, who, 
deprived of opportunities of education and moral training, began early 
the acquirement of vicious habits. 

The necessity of some means which should overcome this condition 
and prevent its inevitable results, so appealed to him and his estima- 
ble wife, that they assumed the care and maintenance of ten of these 
Indian children, taking them to their home and there providing for 
them as though they were their own. 

Influenced by the zeal and kindness to their children exhibited by 
Mr. Wright, the Indian council, about the year 1854, set aside a tract 
of fifty acres on which should be located an asylum and school for the 
benefit of the orphan and destitute Indian children of all the reserva- 
tions of the State. 



114 HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, N. V. 

Following this gift of land, the institution was incorporated by act 
of the Legislature passed in 1855. This act appointed the following 
named gentlemen as the first board of managers, viz : 

Kber M. Pettit, Chauncey F. Carrier, S. G. Ellis, Elisha Brown and 
Asher Wright, white men, and Sylvester Lay, Wallace King, Zacha- 
riah L. Jimmerson, Lewis Seneca and Joshua Pierce, Indians. 

The Legislature also, by this act, appropriated the sum of $2,000 
toward the erection of a building and $500 annually for two years to 
assist in the maintenance of the inmates. 

With this small sum Mr. Wright and his fellow members of the 
board of managers began the work. By aid from various sources, 
largely through the generosity of Philip Thomas of Baltimore, from 
whom the institution derives its name, sufficient money was obtained 
to erect a portion of the present building. The cornerstone was laid 
Friday, October 14, 1855. A large concourse of people were present 
at the ceremonies, and eloquent addresses were made by both Indians 
and white men. 

The building was first occupied in June, 1856, and fifty children 
were received therein. 

Aside from the yearly appropriation of $500, which by urgent 
solicitation was continued by the Legislature beyond the two years 
originally provided for, the asylum was entirely dependent upon indi- 
vidual aid. For twenty years each member of the board became of 
necessity a soliciting agent, seeking to obtain from any source any 
gift, either money, food or clothing, which would enable them to con- 
tinue the noble charity in which they had engaged. 

In 1875, however, brighter days opened upon the institution. By 
an act of the Legislature of this year it became a State institution, 
receiving an annual appropriation of $8,500, which sum has been 
increased at various times until at present the yearly maintenance 
fund is $20,000. 

By an additional appropriation made by the last two Legislatures, 
provision is made for the erection of new buildings to cost $50,000. 
These structures are now in process of erection and will be ready for 
occupancy January 1, 1899. 

The Asylum has been most fortunate in both its managers and offi- 
cers. They have always been intelligent men and women, deeply 
interested in the work assigned them. 

The following named gentlemen have filled the position of superin- 
tendent, viz : 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GO WANDA, lY. Y. 115 

B. F. Hall, J. H. VanValkenburg, H. W. Hooker, A. F. Bennett 
and George I. Lincoln. 

The present Board of Managers consists of : 

Mrs. Lily Lord Tifft, Henry R. Howland, Heman M. Blasdell, N. 
A. Chaffee, S. G. Keyes, John Schoepflin, John C. Wilber, Harrison 
Halftown, Walker Jimmerson and King Tallchief. 

The institution is at present under the efficient management of 
George I. Lincoln, Superintendent, and Mrs. Emily P. Lincoln, 
Matron. 

It has come to be recognized as one of the most deserving charities 
of the State. It now maintains and educates 100 Indian children, 
who are retained in the institution until the age of sixteen, and are 
then furnished homes, preferably among white people, by the man- 
agement. It has been, since its existence, one of the most import- 
ant factors in raising the Indians to a higher plane of civilization, 
leading them toward the inevitable goal of citizenship, where they 
shall be merged into the body politic of the commonwealth. 

It has the encouragement and good will of all the people who have 
investigated its noble work, and who realize the important bearing its 
successful efforts have had upon the people for whose good it has an 
existence. 




lir, HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. V, 



OUR ADVERTISERS. 



poW.WIi.l can refer with pardonable pride to her mercantile 
^^^ houses, manufactories and other industries, some of which are 
represented in this book. This village has the various branches of 
business usually found in villages of its si/e. it is not claimed that 
Gowanda leads all other villages, but we do claim that it is a thriving, 
health) locality of pleasant homes and prosperous people, which will 
not suffer by comparison with its sister villages. It is a pleasing fact 
that, almost without exception, those who formerly lived here still 
have a deep interest in this village and its people. This has been 
especially noticeable in the preparations for the celebration of this 
50th anniversary. Many who have gone from among us to other 
localities have become prominent in professional and business circles, 
and some ot those business interests are here represented. 

In the Buffalo Bolt Co. we have its president, Mr. Ralph H. Plumb, 
a native of Gowanda, who lived here till early manhood, and who 
has been for many years a prominent manufacturer of the city of 
Buffalo. The Buffalo Bolt Co. is among the largest manufacturers 
of nuts and bolts in the United States. 

Charles B. E>arker was also born in dowanda, and lived nearly 
half his life here. The Barker House, a cut of which appears in 
another part of this book, was for many years prior to 1875 a familiar 
landmark in this village ; and Charley Barker, as he was familiarly 
«alled, was a friend of every one in this vicinity, and was as well 
known as the hotel of which he and his father, the Hon. Michael H. 
Barker, were the proprietors for so many years. Mr. Barker has for 
some time been the head of the C. B. Barker Manufacturing Co. of 
New York and Brooklyn, makers of silver-plated ware. 

Fayette R. Plumb, a brother of Ralph EI. Plumb, is another repre- 
sentative of the former citizens of Gowanda. Both are sons of the 
Hon. ]. H. Plumb, and grandsons of Ralph Plumb, one of the 
pioneers of this vicinity. Fayette R. Plumb was born in Gowanda, 
and for many years past has been one of the largest manufacturers in 
the city of Philadelphia, being at the head of the corporation which 
bears his name. 

Gowanda, on her fiftieth birthday, sends greetings to her former 
residents, with her best wishes for their future happiness and prosperity. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOIVANDA, N. Y. 



SUPPLEMENTAL. 



The following interesting communication has been received from 
one of our former residents, the Rev. Albert H. Plumb, D. D., of 
Boston, Mass. 

It is here inserted, as it was received after the preceding portion 
of this book had been printed. 

Prior to 1849 what is now comprised in the Union School District was in two 
districts. One school house was near the site of the present M. E. Church, the 
other, " The old red school house," was on Buffalo Street, on " the site now occu- 
pied by Peter Rink's store." (See page 85.) In this school house the Presbyterian 
Church worshiped for a time. Here the first temperance society was formed, and, 
later, during the Washingtonian temperance reformation, stirring meetings were 
held here, one reformed man (Barney McGrady) sometimes electrifying the audi- 
ence, by describing "the mind-engraving business" he used to carry on in the 
gutters. 

In the campaign between Harrison and Van Buren, in 1840, rousing whig meet- 
ings made the old school house echo for "Tippecanoe and Tyler too, and with 
them we'll beat little Van, Van, Van, Van is a used-up man," as they sang. 

Various select schools were early taught, mainly by ladies — one in a school build- 
ing in the rear of the Presbyterian church, one over R. Plumb's store near the 
bridge, another in a large upper room in Mr. Pierce's house on Main Street, above 
the Mansion House. 

A ladies' seminary was for some years maintained in the old store on the green, 
near the Eagle Tavern, by Mrs. Fisk, a sister of Joseph and Ralph Plumb, the 
widow of a clergyman. Pupils came to this school from Eden and Fredonia and 
other places. A school was taught for a time, I think, over Porter Welch's store, 
by Joseph G. Cochrane, who afterwards married Deborah, daughter of Joseph 
Plumb. 

They went to Persia as missionaries, where they died after many years of labor. 
Their son, a graduate of Buffalo Medical College, established the first hospital ever 
opened in Persia. 

During the pastorate of Rev. J. B. Preston he taught a nourishing school in the 
basement of the Presbyterian Church. 

After the church was burned, worship was continued in the ball room of the Eagle 
Tavern, and there also the school was held. 

In 1842 and 1843, Mr. Edwin E. Williams, from Hamilton College, was the prin- 
cipal. He became a minister in 1856, and after long and useful pastorates in 
Warsaw, N. Y., and Elyria, O., died in 1896. 

Samuel Sedgwick was the first principal of the ITnion School, in 1844. He was 
succeeded by F. P. Kennedy, who gave way, in the spring of 1847, to Rev. B. T. 
Roberts, who afterwards founded the Free Methodist Church here, the son of Titus 
Roberts, merchant and minister. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF GOWANDA, X. Y. 

In 1X48, Samuel Gurley Love, afterwards at the head of Randolph Academy, 

became the principal ; and this position was held during the winter term of 1S49 
and '50, by Albert II. l'luml), Dr. John F. Allen having charge of the classical 
department. 

One of the pupils under Rev. 11. T. Roberts was Edwin A. Johnson, son of 
Alfred Johnson, who was a cabinet maker and gunsmith, and a renowned hunter. 
lie was an active member of the Methodist Church, and his son Edwin became a 
Methodist minister of prominence, dying some years since in connection, I think, 
with the Pittsburgh Conference. 

Among other pupils of Gowanda Union School were two sons of Alvin Bugbee — 
Lucius II. Bugbee, D. D., eminent as a preacher and educator in the Methodist 
denomination, and Ceorge Bugbee, D. D., an Episcopal clergyman of Los Angeles, 
Cal. 

^The widow of Lucius II. Bugbee is now Mrs. Elisha L. Johnson of Cattaraugus, 
N. Y.) 

I do not think there was ever a district school at Hidi. There was a school 
house at Point Peter, where I used to go for a mission Sunday School in 1849 ; also, 
one at Bagdad, or Lapham's Mills, two and one half miles northeast from Gowanda, 
where we also had a mission Sunday School. A school house east from Gowanda, one 
mile above George and Enos Southwick's places, at the four corners, was the near- 
est school house. Anti-slavery meetings used to be held there, as also in other out- 
lying school houses, and in the basement of the Presbyterian Church, where they 
were sometimes broken up. 

The Gowanda brass band was to give a concert in the Presbyterian Church the 
night it burned down. A fire was made to warm the church, and the stove pipe, 
where it entered the chimney in the attic, had became rusted out so that the soot 
took fire and set the building afire. 

Mr. Charles E. Swett, principal of the school from 1864 to July, 1865, now of 
Boston, Mass., says William Wallace Roller (page 78), after his return from the 
war, entered school to prepare for college — a full grown man in size, he took his 
place with boys and girls in the classes and made rapid progress. He after- 
wards followed Mr. Swett to his school at < )neida, N. V. (where fifteen Gowanda 
students went, nine being there at one time), and when fitted entered Dartmouth 
College, where he spent two years. Mr. Roller was the son of John P. Roller, 
whose father, who was a long time the sexton of the Presbyterian Church, fought 
in the wars against Napoleon. 

Brazilla Coon (page 16) climbed the shagbark hickory pole in front of the post- 
office when the Hag cord came down. The rough bark took the skin off from his 
hands. 

I think Mr. Amasa L. Chaffee threw a stone with a cord over the catch on the 
top of the pole when the cord fell again. 

Mr. Chaffee had his hat taken off his head by a "Snake's head," as it was called 
(a bent rail, one of the old strap rails on the early railroads, which would work 
loose at the ends and bend up till they would be caught by a wheel, and come up 
through the floor of the car), as he was returning from buying goods in New York. 




m»p- 



ITISinEMT: 



• Xt Wfj&$&* f -- 



<m. 




7WL0R & KIMBLE, 



DEALERS IN 



DRY GOODS 

C^3 BOOTS, SHOES, ETC. 



7 MAIN STREET, GOWANDA, N. Y. 



CARPETS and WALL PAPER a specialty. 



C OLE AGENTS Tor LAHBERTVILLE SNAG-PGOOE PUB- 
^ BLR BOOTS, W7WERLY SCHOOL SHOE AMD JOHN 
KELLEY'S LADIES' EINE SHOES. 



118 



P. J. HOWARD, 



■MERCHANT MILLER, 



. MANUFACTURER OF 



patent Roller process 



flour 



GOWANDA ROLLER FLOUR MILLS, * 



CAPACITY, ioo BARRELS PER DAY. * 

• • OF ALL KINDS. • 



Grain and feed 



~ BUCKWHEAT FLOUR. 



GOWANDA, N. Y. 



D. B. FORBUSH, 



MANUFACTURER OF 



(g ash, IDo ors, Blin&s, 

Xumber, Shingles, Xatb, 

Deranfta TOork, Etc. 

. . . SCREEN DOORS AND WINDOWS 

■ GOWANDA, N. Y. 



Scott's* 



CU COR. MAIN AND BUFFALO STS. 



GO WAN DA, N. Y. 



* * * DEA.LER IN 



...General ]\/Terd7ai}dise ( 

V^) — - 



GEO. VV. SCOTT. 



r&ED Eaton & Son 



DEALERS IN 



FRESH AND SAL 



HEAT, 



SAUSAGE, Etc. 

« <* ** « « GOWANDA, N. Y. 




-/^//^/^/^//A.,~ 



1885. 1898. 



VICTOR C. ARMES, 



HE MAIN-ST. DRUGGIST 



. . . DEALER IN . . . 

Paints, Oils, Glass, Stationery, School Supplies, 

Wines and Liquors of all kinds, Musical 

Instruments, Perfumery of the 

Best Make. 



CASH FOR GINSENG 



<* 



VICTOR C. ARMES, 



The Leading and One=Priced Druggist, 



9 Main Street, GOWANDA, N. Y. 



121 





F. J. BLACKMON, President. 

E. A. SHAW, Vice=President. 

W. H. BARD, . Cashier. 

F. E. BARD, Ass't Cashier. 

S<?* 5^* C(?* 



Bank of Gowanda, 

QOWANDA, N. Y. 

(^* (^* ^?* 

Capital, - - - - $30,000 
Surplus, $20,000 

IXTfiRfiST ALLOWED ON TIME DEPOSITS. 
FROM FT REMITTANCE MADE ON COLLEC- 
TION. DRAFTS SOLD ON NEW YORK AND 



FOREIGN COUNTRIES. 



t2& t£* 5*?* 



=3 DIRECTORS: > 




H. R. GAENSSLEN, F. J. BLACKMON, 

W. H. BARD, F. E. BARD, 

S. H. ARNOLD, E. A. SHAW, 

A. C. STAFFORD, W. P. SHERMAN, 

M. H. WOODIN. 



122 




ATTORNEYS, f 



THRASHER & LEONARD, 

gu torne^ s ano C ounse lo rs at t&aw, 

w. s. thrasher, Dayton. r^ r\\ir a kt r\ a jst v 

JOSEPH M. CONGDON. GLENN M. CONGDON. 

J. M. & G. M. CONGDON, 
Attorneys and Counselors-at-Law, 

GOWANDA, N. Y. 



J' red j, t/J/ac/cmon. 



WARD J, WILBER, 



fl ttornep ana Counselor at Caw, 

No. 5 MAIN STREET, 

GOWANDA, N. Y. 



123 




AlxK & DEAN, 



N/IANUFACTURERS OF 

. . AND DEALERS IN 



Dough and 
Dressed 




OF A. LI* I\.lSI>i 



SHINGLES, LATH, Etc. 

X 

A COMPLETE STOCK OE (j* PROMPT ATTENTION 

Sash and Doors f given to 

ALWAYS ON HAND MAIL ORDERS. 

GOWANDA, N. Y. 



R. G. HOLMES, 

Ulatcbmaker 
3eu)der 



and 



d?* !*?* t<5* 



Dealer in— c 



Watches, Clocks, Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, Solid Silver 

Staple Goods and Plated Ware, Sterling 

Silver Novelties. 

Repairing in all branches of my trade done and warranted 
to be first class. 

R. C. Holmes, 



Next Door to Bank. 



GO WAND A, N. Y. 



124 




TZR^IDIE 



S XM 



hvh^irik: 




ocket Knives. 



THE BEST IN THE WORLD. 



WHITE FOIt CATALOGUE. 



New York Cutlery Co. 



QOWANDA, NY. 



125 



MICHAEL MOLL S SON, 



DEALERS IN 



FRESH AND SALT 



M EAT S 

/ \ 

Lard and Sausage. 

— GOWANDA, N. Y. 

^ ou/ai^da J-louse, 

. . . Choice Wines and Liquors. 



BEST OF ACCOMMODATIONS. 

HOT AND COLD WATER. 

BATH ROOMS. 



JOHN BADER, Prop'r, Qou/apda, \i. Y. 

186 



1867. 1898- 



John Kammbrsr, 



Hardware and Builders' Supplies 



SANITARY PLUMBING. 



Long Distance and Local COWANDA N Y 

Telephone. uuwahua, n. i_. 



ft ft ft 

Shelf and Heavy Hardware. 

Tinware and Cutlery, 

Hot-air, Water and Steam Heating, 
Paints, Oils, Stoves and Ranges, 

Varnishes and Brushes, 

Steel and Tin Roofing, 

agricultural Implements, Etc. 



127 



Jo A° Bestruf 



DEALER IN 



Sffoots and Shoes 



ft ft ft 



ft ft ft furniture, Carpets, 



Rugs, Oil Cloths, Wall Paper, Draperies, Matting, Lin- 
oleums, Window Shades, Pictures, Mouldings, 
Upholsteries, Baby Carriages, Brass 
and Iron Beds, Etc. 

GO WAN DA, N. Y. <^- 



). H. SCHAACK, 

•r-f-f Merchant Tailor 



Merchant \ 



And Dealer in - <>\' 

Ready-Made Clothing, Gentlemen's Furnishing 

Goods, Hats, Caps, Etc. 

& & & & & 

"T ALWAYS keep the besl and most complete stuck of cloths, for Suits, Over- 
coals and Pants, in the county, and guarantee my work to give perfect 
satisfaction in cut and manufacture. Call and sec inc. 

,* j* ,< GOWANDA, N. Y. ■* * * 

128 



N. S. Stelley, 



DEALER IN s- 



Harnesses, Wh\ips, 

Blankets, Robes, Trucks ar\d Valises, ar^d 
Horse Furr)isr\irig Goods. 

* + + ** Repairing Dor\e to Order. _ ' 



RLU B^o^° CK ' Gowanda, N. Y 



J 37 ' F. M. DAVIS, "* 
M ...Practical -iorse-Shoer... Si 



ALL WORK GUARANTEED. 

33 Jamestown St., Gowanda, N. Y. 

r. G. SHEPARD,--- 

Veterinary ^iirgeoi]. 



prriCE in s. L. 5TEBBINS' LIVERY. 

130 



1880. 



1898. 



TH 



I — aT 




v i 





9 



F. BRENNENSTUHL, Prop'r. 




Bottles the Celebrated 

PHOENIX LAGER «® 



SUPPLIES RESERVOIR ICE. 



131 



ESTABLISHED 1877. 








UL/. FJ. Smallu/ood, 

Jewcler,= 



7-tf iptfleuu? urt Electric 



Watches, Clocks, Spectacles, 
Diamonds, Jewelry, French China, 

®® 
fine Watch Repairing. 

d© 

Proprietor of Gowanda Telephone Co. 

No. 3 MAIN STREET, 

GOWANDA, N. Y. 



Ritz & Stoddard, 
lfVainters anb * * 



Dealers in Paints, 
Oils and Varnishes, 



Wall Paper, Etc. 



f 



,* ,* Decorators, 



Gowanda, N. V. 



The Hall Pump Works, 



jt j* j* FRANK D. HALL, Proprietor, 



Hanufacturer of Wood Pumps, Chain Pump Curbs, 
Wood Pump Tubing, Chain Pump Tubing, 
Water Pipe and Wheelbarrows. 



183 



GOWANDA, N. Y. 




!iiilfii?ll 

lifpi 
liliii 




- 




7, 



?/? 




>^r^ 




^ r try. ^y^.j 






^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^C^^^^ 



Jfrot and Coid ll/ater. 



Spates per 'Day, $2. OO. 



. , One . . , 



union jffc 



ouse. 




Sowanda, 7J. 2/. 



Sftath ttooms. 



Jree Sa/np/e ttoom. 



H. W. HOOKER, 

(jOWANDA - 5TEAM - LAUNDRY 

AND CA PPET CLEANING WORKS , 

^ ^ * CiOWANDA, N. Y. 



J. E. VAN DEUSEN. 



COAL, LIME, CEMENT, BRICK, 
SEWER PIPE, DRAIN TILE, 
FERTILIZERS, LAND PLASTER, 
ETC 



Fertilizers from pure animal matter 
(Bone, Blood and Meat) a specialty. 



F. L. MATTOCKS, 



D I. \ LER IN 



M 



arble a nd Granite CemRtertj Work, 



GOWANDA, N. Y. 

131 



J. E. Van Deusen, President. 
E. C. Fisher, Vice-President. 



R. P. Johnson, Sec'y and Treas'r. 
Thos. A. Shea, Superintendent. 



LeaUBnef 



©mpaimyo 



ft ft ft 



Manufacturers of 

Inner Soles, 
Counters, 
Taps, 
Two-Piece Soles, 
Heels, 



Dealers in all Kinds of 

Trimmings, 
Shoulders, 
Skiffings, 

Machine Skivings, 
Roundings, 



Helling and Leather Board. 



Etc. 



ft ft ft 



GO WAN DA, N. Y. 



135 



PETER RINK, 



DEALER IN 



LADIES', 

MISSES' AND 
CHILDREN'S 



fine Shoes 



ALSO, A FULL LINE OF = 



Boots, Shoes and Rubber Goods. 



I GUARANTEE YOU GOOD I AM THE OLDEST SHOE- 
VALUE FOR EVERY DOL- J DEALER IN GOWANDA — 
LAR YOU SPEND AT MY A 24 YEARS' EXPERIENCE. 
STORE , . , ■ 



GOWANDA, N. Y. 



fashionable JVIUlinery a* /* /* 

The ladies of Gowanda will always find my Millinery 
Parlors stocked with a well assorted line of Millinery Goods of 
the latest designs, which for originality and style are unsur- 
passed. 

Newest novelties in French Flowers, Fancy Feather effects, 
Edgings and Embroideries constantly on sale. 

My display of Imported Pattern Hats and Bonnets will com- 
pare with city importers. 

In up-to-date style in Millinery Goods and satisfactory 
prices 1 have no competitor. New goods received daily. 

A cordial invitation to visit my establishment and inspect 
my goods is extended. 

MISS M. E. KELLEY, 

No. 16 Main Street, GOWANDA, N. Y. 

136 



WOODIN & EATON, 



DEALERS IN 



GROCERIES 



PROVISIONS 



No. 5 AAIN STREET 



m 



IVERY, FEED A ^ D SALE STABLE, 



'BUS AND BAGGAGE TRANSFER. 

S. L. STEBBINS, Proprietor. 

28 JatnCStOtDn St., Ql l Order s icill receioe 

GOVUanda, N. Y. ' prompt attenti on. 

CHARLES W. GAUGER, 

MANUFACTURER OF 

(©ai^iages, Wagons, €tg. 

Repairing Neatly and Promptly Done. 

— ^ GOWANDA, N. Y. 

137 



©perajbouse 2)r ug S tore ! 

^ " vj 

We carrp a larger assortment of . . 

PURE DRUGS, PATENT MEDICINES, CHEMICALS, BOOKS, 
® STATIONERY, BLANK BOOKS, SCHOOL BOOKS, than any 
other House in Western New York (cities excepted). 

ryr , English and Domestic Tooth Brushes, varying in price from 5 

we also carry ' ' 6 v 

I 7. r to 50 cents; Hair and Infant Brushes; Combs in great variety; 

all the leading Odors of Handkerchief Extracts, in bulk and in 
Fancy Bottles; Cologne and Toilet Waters, Toilet Powders, Sachet Powders, 
Imported Bay Rum, Face Powders, Tooth Powders, Tooth Washes, Tooth Soaps, 
Tooth Cream, Hair Oil, Camphor Ice, Cold Cream, "Fragrant Cream," "Clover 
Blossom," Sponges, Sponge Bags, Bath Towels, Bath Brushes, Cosmetics, Toilet 
Paper, Feather and Wood Dusters, Fancy Goods of every description, Games, 
Mechanical Engines, Dolls in great variety, Japanese Napkins, Japanese Boxes, 
Baskets, etc., Meerschaum Pipes, Cigar and Cigarette Holders, Cigar Cases and 
Smoking Sets. 

^Sigars t (^ars ! ! Cigars ! ! ! 

* * * * * Qonjestic apd Imported. 

* * * 

Choice Imported Wines and Liquors, 

<s$- ■ ;«-■ 

Also the Finest Domestic Brands. 

# « # 

Manufacturing Department. 



Phelps' Pile Ointment, Boro-Hydrastis Ointment, Neutralizing Cordial, Stomach 
Bitters, Comp. Syr. Hypophosphites, Anodyne Cordial, Syr. of Tar and Wild Cherry, 
Magic Corn Remover, Magic Erasive Fluid, Condition Powders, Phelps' Sarsaparilla 
Blood Purifier, Liver Wort Kidney Cure, Rat Exterminator. All of which ate 
warranted. Money to be refunded if not satisfactory. 

C. S. PHELPS, Mfg. and Prescription Pharmacist, 

• GOWANDA, N. Y. 

138 



D. H. POSTER, 



EASH ION ABLE 




rin 



^'^S^^&LS: 



^,^®ffe-A |5C )o 




BARBER, 



■CET 









5 JAMESTOWN STREET. 



Dew york Cife Insurance Companp, 



JOHN A. McCALL, President. 



« „ . ,„.,., Assets, $200,694,440. 
jflll forms of Policies Issued. ^j*** * * 
Surplus, $34,000,000. 

GEO. H. SWIFT, Gen'l Agent, Gowanda, N. Y. 



EVERYBODY BUYS THEIR 



BUGG I ES, CA RRIAGES, 
WAGONS 

AND 

SLEIGHS- 



*yj 



_P 



HERDEG, 



Because he keeps the latest styles, has the largest selection and his 
prices are always the lowest. A trial will convince you. 

K. J. HERDEG, Gowanda, N. Y. 
139 



The place to save or borrow money is at the 



Gowanda Co-operative 

Saving and Loan 

Hssociation, 



An institution that has been running over eight years without a 
loss, and has netted investors 10$ interest on their money invested. 

It is an institution gotten up by business men of 6owanda 
for the benefit of the citizens of the village. 

Never having a loss and only one foreclosure speaks most 
highly of its management. Remember that the directors give 
their time and attention without receiving any pay. and they 
want everyone to join the Association and to work for its future 
success, loin at once. 



Officers. 

A. C. STAFFORD, ------- President. 

H. R GAENSSLEN, ------ Vice-President. 

W. H. BARD, -------- Treasurer. 

F. J. HERDEG, ------- Secretary. 

F. J. RLACKMON. ------- Attorney' 



Dr. A. D. LAKE, 
F. I*. HEPFINGER, 
D. B. FOR BUSH, 
H. R. GAENSSLEN, 



Directors. 

Dr. B. R. JOHNSON, 
W. E. FARNSWORTH, 
SAMUEL INSKIP, 
A. C. STAFFORD, 

140 



E. A. SHAW, 

F. E. BARD, 
S. G. KEYES, 
F. J. HERDEG. 



^- 



ESTABLISHED IN 187 7. 



John Schwartz, 

Q lothier, Hatter^ ., 

Gents 9 Fine Furnishings, 

BOOTS, SHOES AND RUBBER GOODS. 

Hooker Block, Gowanda, N. Y. 

Pealer in HobHCCO, Gl^atS, 

Confectionery 

High Grade Incandescent Lights and Shades 
of all kinds. 

Telephone 14 A. . . . EAST MAIN STREET. 

C hoice Wines, Liquors Remodeled and . . . 

and Cigars, Newly Furnished Throughout. 

• "{he Wayside Inn * 

LOUIS C. FEIGEL, Proprietor. 

M "»Sif?E Day o r WeeW. Nos. 91 and 93 Buffalo St., 

Telephone 69. j* .jt GOWANDA, N. Y. 

141 



N. B. ALLEN. 1873. "898. M. N. ALLEN. 




DRUGGISTS and STATIONERS. 



H full Line of ... . 

DRUGS, CHEMICALS, PYESTU FFS and PATENT 
MEDICINES, PURE WHITE LEAD, LINSEED OIL, 
TURPENTINE and PU TTY, WINDO W GLAS S, PLATE 
GLASS and BUILDING P APERS, READY MI XED 
HOUSE PAINTS and HOUSE COLORS, CARRIAGE 
PAINTS IN JAPAN, VARNISHES, READY MIXED 
CARRIAGE COLORS, ARTISTS' COLORS, and BRUSHES 
OF ALL KINDS, PAINT, VARNISH, KALSOMINE, 
WHITEWASH, Etc., Etc., Etc 

H full Line of ... . 

SCHOOL TEXT BOOKS and S CHOOL SUPPLIES, 
FOLDED and FLAT PAPERS and BOX PAPERS, 
BLANK BOOKS, A FULL LINE I N STOCK AND MADE 
TO ORDER, HOLIDAY GOODS, MISCELLANEOUS 
BOOKS, Etc., Etc., LAW BLANKS and LEGAL SUP=' 
PLIES, all of which we offer at the lowest prices to 
correspond with the times. We solicit your trade and 
guarantee satisfaction 

ALLEN BROS., 

1 1 JAMESTOWN STREET, 

GO WANDA, N.,Y. 

143 



STELLEY & SMITH, 



E. A. STELLEY 
L. P. SMITH. 



puncture, 



Dealers \q 

U/all paper, 



Bras? and ]ron B edgtead$, Carpets and 
Window Shade$. 

8jamestou;Q 5txeet, (}ou/ai)da, \l. Y. 

M. M. McGUIRE, 

. . . DEALER IN . . . 



Groceries, Precisions, Etc. 

No. 5 BUFFALO STREET, 

- GOWANDA, N. Y. 



A. M. DELONG. JOHN W. KERR. 

DeLONG & KERR, 
6owanda Insurance Hgency, 



~" L A^ D 3T Lo , A^s. GOWANDA, NEW YORK, 



143 



Gaaisslen, 



Fisbcr 



«* <* riMHi « .< 



& Co.'s 




GLUE WORKS. 



RICHARD WILHELM, Manager. 





Manufacturers of Pure Hide . . 



** GLUES « 



. . . GOWANDA, N. Y. 



144 



A. T. JOHNSON, 



. DEALER IN 



Grarni FraMoiti 



SHIPPER OF 



mm ritoDucE, butter, m, etc. 

14 Mm STR66T, 

GOWANPA, N. Y, 



ALBERT S. CARPENTER, 

»™ HARDWARE, 

UOUSC niRNISHING GOODS, s r^iNTS AMD oils, 

STOVES AND rUPNRCES, ' — AMD PLUMBING. 

GOWANDA, NEW YORK. 



J. F. GURNEY, 



Dealer in . . 



m- Groceries and provisions, 




Crockery, Glassware, 6tc, 

GOWANDA, NEW YORK. 



G. J. MENTLEY. 
B. A. PRESS. 

BUTT ER, BERRIES, 

EGGS, i FRUIT, ETC. 



tUb 



]Y[er}tley & ]press, 



GOWANDA, N. Y. 



DEALERS IN /B\ SHIPPERS OF 

Gro ^Sr ns j Farm Produce. 



Long Distance and Local 'Phone. 



ESTABLISHED 1857, BY J. hi. McMILLAN. 



r. p. McMillan, 



DEALER i ■ 



Groceries and Provisions 




AT 



No. 1 MAIN STREET, GOWANDA, N. Y., 

on the former site of the Barker House, you will find 
the largest and best selected stock of 

Dry Go ods, Carpets and 3JaU paper 

outside of the city, in Western New York. 
& & ft 

ARNOLD & WALLACE, 

Zhe ©l&est 2>rg <3oo&s Tbousc in <3cwanDa. 



1-17 




6i 



LIBRARY OF CONGRESS 



014 223 716 7